Random Friday Thoughts — May 17

It’s Friday and it finally feels like spring and summer!  Can you believe this crazy weather?  It was 90° here Tuesday, but the story gets even crazier in Sioux City, Iowa.  Sunday morning, it was a frosty 29°.  Two days later, they hit an all-time May record high of 106°!  These other cities hit record highs for the date.

Tuesday Record HIghs

Tomorrow morning, I’ll be emceeing the kick-off to the Heart Walk in Rock Island, Illinois, and then I’m lying low this weekend to catch up on movies, television shows, and spending some time with Ray, Gretel, and Tammy.  We still have to take her out to brunch Sunday for a belated Mother’s Day gift since she worked last Sunday.  I hope you have a great weekend.  Here are the random thoughts on my mind today.

QUIET WEEKEND UNTIL SUNDAY NIGHT

Just a quick heads up that the weather could become a little scary Sunday night into Monday.  Severe thunderstorms with large hail, damaging winds, and isolated tornadoes are possible.  Here’s the latest Storm Prediction Center map of the threatened area.  I’ll touch on this topic again Saturday or Sunday.

7am Sunday - 7am Monday

WHY INVEST TIME IN NETWORK SHOWS?

Either I pick crummy shows to watch or networks don’t allow a show to breathe these days and find an audience.  I was fortunate that “The Following”, “Elementary”, “Nashville”, and “American Horror Story” were both renewed.  However, in the past week, “The New Normal” and “Malibu Country” with Reba were cancelled!

The-New-Normalmalibu-country

A few years ago, I invested in “Invasion” and “Commander In Chief” and both of them only lasted one season on ABC.  “Eli Stone”, another favorite of mine, made it to two seasons before being cancelled.  Luckily, I can get my Jonny Lee Miller fix these days on “Elementary”!  It seems that only reality TV can find an audience!

On a final television note, I’m thinking that “Hannibal”, another one of my favorites, may be cancelled, too.

REBA’S FUTURE

Now that “Malibu Country” has been cancelled, I hope Reba gets to work on picking out fantastic songs for a new album.  While I’m hopeful, I don’t even care if country radio embraces new Reba music.  I know I would enjoy it and so would her fans.

Also, although I’ve seen Reba in concert twelve times, I want her to do something she hasn’t done since the late 1990’s.  I want her to do a large concert production with multiple sets and costume changes.  I know it’s a lot of work, but if Madonna, who’s in her 50s, and Cher, in her 60s ,can do it, I know “Red” can do it.

Since I’m placing my order, Reba, how about a resurrection of  “The Singer’s Diary”, which I never got to see when it was presented about 15 years ago.

SPEAKING OF REALITY TV

I never watched “Jersey Shore” in its six seasons on MTV, the network that was fun when was actually “music television”!  However, even having never watched it, you couldn’t escape the train wreck of a cast.  But, I have a confession — while skanky, Snooki is adorable!

Snooki

I was reading an old “Rolling Stone” (August 5, 2010) and I have to share this Snooki quote:  “To be honest with you, I Google myself every single day.  The negative stuff?  I get off on it.  Because the only reason why people talk negative is because they’re jealous.  Every time they call me a midget, Oompa-Loompa, orange, they’re just jealous.  It makes me want to be more ridiculous and more stupid”.

Let your freak flag fly, mama!

One last thought about “Jersey Shore”, you have to admit that Mike “The Situation” Sorrentino is a hottie.  And, didn’t Snooki make him mad by insinuating that he was gay? 🙂

mike_0644 the-situation

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Ann Coulter

Absolut-ely  Got Milk Secrets

WAY TO GO, MINNESOTA!

Have a Gay Day

Minnesota becomes the 12th state (along with the District of Columbia) to vote in favor of marriage equality.  After the 37-30 state Senate vote Monday, Governor Mark Dayton signed it into law Tuesday afternoon.  Same-sex couple will be able to marry later this summer.  In just the past two weeks, three states (Rhode Island, Delaware, and Minnesota) have made it possible for everyone in the state to marry!

While watching and listening to the state senators talk before the vote, here’s what I posted on my Facebook page Monday:  “I’m listening to Minnesota senators talk about why they’re for/against marriage equality before taking a historic vote. I’ve smiled several times, but I also realize that in the “Land of 10,000 Lakes”, there must be a lot of big rocks near those lakes that some of these politicians have been living under!”

patricia-torres-ray

A couple of the senators really touched me like Patricia Torres Ray.

Speaking in English and Spanish (her native language for the first time on the Senate floor), Torres Ray said her faith would lead her to vote for marriage equality, “Many people may ask why a Catholic, immigrant woman feels so strong about this and why it is I have been so vocal about this campaign and why I stand in strong support.  My commitment to work on their behalf here and on behalf of all issues that i consider to be fair and just. I hope I get invited to their wedding now. I hope I’m able to celebrate their relationship, see their children having children, and continue on this journey of loving our kids, loving our partners together.”

In Spanish, she added for her family that didn’t necessarily support her beliefs for marriage equality, “Son las mismas cosas … Es sobre egualidad,”, which basically confirmed her commitment to all issues that would promote equality for everyone.

MEANWHILE IN MINNESOTA, A NOT SO HAPPY ENDING

Just one month after linebacker Brendon Ayanbadejo was released from the Baltimore Ravens, punter Chris Kluwe was cut from the Minnesota Vikings.

Now, professional players get cut from teams all the time or leave teams to become free agents.  However, I find it a little odd that both players, both straight men with wives and children, and very strong advocates for marriage equality, were cut so close together.

Brendon Ayanbadejo

Ayanbadejo and Kluwe have both been longtime and a very loud voices for the LGBT community.  Both vow to keep fighting for equality.

Kluwe

After Kluwe was cut from the Vikings, Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton said he “doesn’t feel good” about the decision and he made this accusatory statement, “public officials should be honest about what’s going on.”

Was the heat too hot in the kitchen for the teams with high visibility athletes supporting marriage equality and the LGBT community?  I think it was a huge factor, but Cyd Zeigler, the co-founder of the gay website, outsports.com, doesn’t think that LGBT advocacy was a factor.  Will we every really know?

Nevertheless, Brendon & Chris, thank you for your support and good luck!

KATY PERRY:  A LITTLE OUT THERE OR AWESOME?

As I was catching up on my old “Rolling Stone” magazines, there was a really good article about Katy Perry’s very religious background and her using a sexy image to sell fun, pop music (August 19, 2010).

In the article, she says, “I still believe that Jesus is the son of God.  But I also believe in extraterrestrials, and that there are people who are sent from God to be messengers, and all sorts of crazy stuff.  I look up into the sky and I’m just mindf**ked — all those stars and planets, the neverendingness of the universe.  I just can’t believe that we’re the only polluting population.  Every time I look up, I know that I’m nothing and there’s something way beyond me.  I don’t think it’s as simple as heaven and hell.”

Whoa!  Beauty, brains, boobs, and fun music that makes you want to dance.  I admit that I was late becoming a Katy Perry convert, but she’s incredible and “Teenage Dream” is definitely a must have album.

By the way, “Teenage Dream” spawned an incredible 8 Top Three hits, with six of them topping the Billboard Hot 100.   Katy also tied Michael Jackson as the only artist to have five consecutive #1 songs on the Billboard Hot 100 from one album.  She did it with “California Gurls”, “Teenage Dream”, “Firework”, “E.T.”, and “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.).  Michael did it with 1987’s “Bad” album and the singles, “I Just Can’t Stop Loving You”, “Bad”, “The Way You Make Me Feel”, “Man In The Mirror”, and “Dirty Diana”.

And, “Teenage Dream” is the only album ever to have 9 songs top the Billboard Hot Dance Club Song charts.  In addition to the eight radio hits, “Peacock” topped the dance charts!

FACEBOOK FLASHBACK PICTURES

These two pictures were taken on May 19, 2011.  In the front yard, Miss ABBA found the perfect place to beat the summer heat by hiding out in the shrubbery.  And, in the back yard, we had a visitor that was just passing through in the ravine.

May 19 2011 ABBA Hiding Out May 19 2011

SHE’S AMAZING AND “SHE’S SO UNUSUAL”

80s pop star Cyndi Lauper is still touring, making music, and writing soundtracks for Broadway!  (“Kinky Boots” is nominated for 13 Tony Awards this year).  She’s a strong ally to the LGBT community and is a strong advocate for HIV/AIDS education and awareness.  Lauper says, “Having never been a person who was afraid to speak up, I knew I had to help make some noise and do whatever I could to make a difference. You fight fear and ignorance through education and awareness.”  (It seems that I have, at least, two things in common with Cyndi —  being unusual and speaking out about things I believe in!)

Cyndi Lauper

Lauper says that while people are not dying from AIDS like the 1980s and the 1990s, we can’t stop the fight now and must continue to educate people.  She says, “the biggest challenge today is that people don’t think HIV is that much of an issue anymore. While the drug therapies have done an incredible job of keeping people with HIV alive, it is an arduous journey for people taking the drugs. The side effects are significant. The public does not see HIV as a death sentence anymore. We need to continue to reinvest in prevention efforts and to put all the resources we can into ending the epidemic.”

PEEPS’ ’80s FRIDAY FLASHBACK

Cyndi Lauper’s debut album, “She’s So Unusual” turns 30 years old this October (it was released just one day after I turned 19-year-old)!  Don’t do the math. 🙂

In the 30 years since, she’s sold 50 million albums, more than one million DVDs, and over 20 million singles.  On the Billboard Hot 100, Cyndi has scored 11 Top 40 singles.  Of those, all but two have hit the Top Ten.  Six of them have reached the Top Three:  “Girls Just Want To Have Fun” (#2, 1983), “Time After Time” (#1, 1984), “She Bop” (#3, 1984), “We Are The World (#1, 1985, as part of USA For Africa), “True Colors” (#1, 1986), and “Change of Heart” (#3, 1987).

She’s had so many amazing songs to choose from, but I picked one of my favorite performances and a song that was never officially released as a single.  Cyndi performed the Prince classic, “When You Were Mine”, at the 1985 American Music Awards.

Thank you for checking out my random thoughts.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.   I love doing this segment.

Have a great weekend!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

