They Said What??? Boy George, Chris Christie, & Angelina Jolie

NEW JERSEY GOVERNOR CHRIS CHRISTIE

(on Prince Harry’s visit to New York, referencing Harry’s naked Las Vegas scandal):  “I’m going to be spending the entire day with Prince Harry. And so believe me: Nobody’s going to get naked if I’m spending the entire day with him. OK? I think I can assure the people of New Jersey that.”

ACTRESS ANGELINA JOLIE

(on having undergone a preventive double mastectomy after learning she had an 87% risk of breast cancer):  I choose not to keep my story private because there are many women who do not know that they might be living under the shadow of cancer.  It is my hope that they, too, will be able to get gene tested, and that if they have a high risk they, too, will know that they have strong options.

ACTOR JUSTIN BARTHA

(about the cancellation of his series, “The New Normal”, a show about a gay couple becoming parents with a surrogate): “The NBC executives get a lot of critique from the press, but they should be applauded for putting us on the air in the first place, because we still have a long way to go with equality in this country and around the world. Just read the comment section on your website [The Huffington Post] and you’ll see people spewing hateful language and hateful words about all types of people. So we already know that we have a long way to go for that and I’m not saying that The New Normal was a lightning bolt to the cause, but I do think it was a drop in the bucket and I’m proud to be a part of it.”

POP MUSIC ICON BOY GEORGE

(when asked if gay men are better off than in the 1980s):  “We shouldn’t have to feel lucky. I am shocked we are still having debates like gay marriage. On one hand, I think it’s very conservative to want to get married, that it’s a case of ‘if we’re more like them, they’ll like us more’. But on the other hand, who cares? The idea that it is somehow going to destroy civilization is so retarded.”

POP MUSIC ICON CYNDI LAUPER

(on the biggest change she’s seen as an HIV/AIDS advocate) :  “The biggest challenge today is that people don’t think HIV is that much of an issue anymore. While the drug therapies have done an incredible job of keeping people with HIV alive, it is an arduous journey for people taking the drugs. The side effects are significant. The public does not see HIV as a death sentence anymore. We need to continue to reinvest in prevention efforts and to put all the resources we can into ending the epidemic.”

“STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS” & “AVATAR” ACTRESS ZOE SALDANA

“[I might] end up with a woman raising my children, that’s how androgynous I am.”

SINGER NATALIE MAINES OF THE DIXIE CHICKS

(who’s married to actor Adrian Pasdar and is the mother of their two children):  “I love Rachel Maddow. She would be my lesbian girl crush.  She’s hot! And she’s smart and beautiful … and I like her hair.”

ACTOR DEAN CAIN

“If anybody wants to get married, go ahead.  I have a lot of gay friends … I can’t understand why it’s an issue. For me, it’s a non-issue.”

Anthony

 

Leave a Reply

