I Got to “Celebrate Youth” With Rick Springfield

Once I hit 30-years-old living in the big city of Chicago after growing up in small town Kentucky, I came to the realization that age is just a number.  As long as I’m healthy, I feel good, and my appearance holds up, I wasn’t going to let my age hinder me or stand in my way.

And, after living it up and partying Friday night with the great folks of the Quad Cities and Rick Springfield, I’m looking forward to aging gracefully.  With 1980s pop star and sex symbol Springfield as my inspiration, I’m ready to “Celebrate Youth” even as I close in on the big 5-0 in the fall of 2014!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two months ago, I bought tickets to Rick’s concert at the Waterfront Convention Center in Bettendorf, Iowa.  I remember back in the mid-1980s, my sister, who was a teenager then, saw Rick in concert.  If the 1980s were your decade, you know that Rick was a huge sex symbol and dominated the music charts with such pop classics like “Jessie’s Girl”, “I’ve Done Everything For You”, “Don’t Talk To Strangers”, “Affair Of The Heart”, and “Love Somebody”.

When I blogged about buying tickets the next day, I found out that my former co-anchor, Julie (VanGoethem) Lund, from my first television job in Rhinelander, Wisconsin, in 1996, was driving down from Madison, Wisconsin, to see the concert with another one of our former colleagues from Rhinelander, Elizabeth Goodsitt, who now works in the Quad Cities’ television market.  (Pictured:  Elizabeth, Julie, Anthony & Ray.)

Rick Springfield Group

Julie has seen Rick in concert more than 50 times!!!  I’m sure there’s an active restraining order somewhere in the system.  🙂  I’m kidding!  Who am I to talk since I’ve seen Reba in concert 12 times?

Now, while I say that age is a number if you feel good and take care of yourself, I have to point out that Rick Springfield is just a few months away from turning 64-years-old!  And, while he may have aged 30 years since he hit #1 in 1981 with “Jessie’s Girl”, you wouldn’t know it from his two-hour energy-filled rock concert!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Several times during the show, he’d go into a few riffs of “Jessie’s Girl”, his Grammy winning and only #1 hit, and the crowd went wild and then he’d quickly segue into the next song in his set. What a tease and he knows from experience that it would energize the crowd.

And, finally he performed his signature song!

During “Human Touch”, his Top 20 hit in 1983 from the “Living in Oz” album, Rick came out into the crowed and walked around on top of chairs (and a few people).  I love this picture I snapped as he neared us!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

By the way, I only mentioned the “Living In Oz” album so I could show the album cover since I think this is one of the sexiest pictures of Rick I’ve seen over the past 30 years!

Living In Oz 1983 Rick Springfield

Okay, flash forward back 30 years to Friday night’s concert.  While Rick performed many of his 17 Top 40 American hits (some in a medley), he also showcased several songs from his 2012 album, “Songs For The End of The World”.

And, that got me to thinking.  That album is fantastic and it peaked on the Billboard Top 200 album chart at #44.  It’s really inspiring to see performers out on the road promoting new music long after they reached their radio peak.  Rick’s last hit on mainstream radio was in 1988 (“Rock of Life” reached #22 on the Billboard Hot 100).

It’s sad that radio today (pop and country) miss out on some fantastic music because they focus solely on young, hot acts and ignore older musicians.  There’s a world outside of Taylor Swift, One Direction, etc.

Songs For the End of the World

From his latest album, Rick performed some of my new favorites like, “Wide Awake”, “Our Ship’s Sinking”, “Love Screws Me Up”, and the beautiful “You & Me”.  Check out these awesome new songs from “Songs  For The End of the World”.

And, while it was comfortable inside the concert and only in the 50s outside the concert, it must have been warm for Rick to be jamming on stage for two hours because he lost his shirt for the encore.  That revealed two things to me:  a nice back shoulder tattoo and that with the right diet and exercise regiment, we can all have a hot body in our 60s!!!  Oh, who am I kidding?  While what I said is true, it’s just an excuse to show the pictures!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What a perfect way to spend a Friday night and re-live my teenage and early 20s years with one of the pop stars I loved back in the decade of the best music ever — the 1980s.  If you ever get a chance, you have to see Rick Springfield in concert.  He’s amazing and he shows no signs of slowing down.

And, the concert gave me a chance to party with old friends and new!  First picture:  Anthony & Julie Lund — Second picture:  Elizabeth Goodsitt & Anthony — Third picture:  Britta Dixon, Anthony, & Julie Dixon Balmer.

AP Julie Rick Springfield OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rick Springfield, thank you for the awesome show and the memories.

Anthony

13 responses to this post.

  1. I LOVE this Anthony! I found your blog via my usual morning perusal of my news feed and I always LOVE stumbling across stories like these. 🙂 There is a HUGE Rick community out there who love to see the photos people share and the experiences they have. Join us at http://www.weloverickspringfield.com or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/weloverickspringfield. As a matter of fact, I am gonna share your link on the FB page now. You just might meet some new friends! 😉

    Kris

    Reply

    • Kris,

      Isn’t it funny what we find just by clicking on links and other links? Thank you very much for checking it out and say hello.

      It was an amazing concert.

      I’ve blogged a couple of times about Rick this year once he announced he was coming to my area.

      Take care and have a great weekend!

      AP

      Reply

  2. I just saw him here in London (where he hadn’t performed, except for the Sound City gig earlier this year) in almost 30 years. He always puts on such a great show. It was an amazing night and he’s lost none of the power he had when I first saw him in Milwaukee, WI in 1982. Brilliant performer and severely underrated guitarist/songwriter.

    Reply

    • This was my first concert and he was incredible. I hope I have that much energy when I’m his age.

      He definitely knows how to “celebrate youth”.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Loved it, wish he’d come back to Australia and see the letter he wrote to me in the late 60’s !

    Reply

  4. Posted by rod clanton on June 7, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Nice story and I too echo the sentiment you have to see Rick in covert he kills it, just ask Dave Groul

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sandra Fultz on June 8, 2013 at 3:13 am

    Thanks for sharing.. I have been a huge Rick fan forever and have seen several shows. Both my daughters are growing up to be RS fans. They know all his songs. The last time I saw him September 2009, he came off stage and got my four yr old and took her back on stage and they sung Dont Talk to Strangers together. Jordan being 4 didn’t understand how awesome that was but ever since then she says she wants to be a singer when she grows up. One of the picture I took I sent to RS and he signed it and sent it back to her. That framed picture is still hanging in her room. Both my girls and myself are really looking forward to his June 22 show. The days are being marked off in this household.

    Reply

    • Sandra,

      Thank you for checking out my blog and for sharing that awesome story. That picture will be cherished forever by all of you!

      Take care!

      Enjoy the June 22nd show!

      AP

      Reply

  6. Posted by Shelly Rochelle Bealls on July 22, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Fantastic read. I had to share on my fb page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

