Letting The Freak Flag Fly Tonight

“Wake up in the morning feeling like P Diddy/(Hey, what up girl?)/Grab my glasses, I’m out the door, I’m gonna hit this city/(Lets go)/Before I leave, brush my teeth with a bottle of Jack/’Cause when I leave for the night, I ain’t coming back”

Okay, that’s not exactly true.  This afternoon, Ray, Gretel, and I are heading off to Chicago to celebrate Gretel’s birthday a month early.  While we’re going to try to dodge showers and thunderstorms, we’re spending the evening with Pitbull and Ke$ha at First Midwest Bank Amphitheater in Tinley Park.

pitbull-kesha

After the show, we’re driving the 2.5 hours back to the Quad Cities and I’ll shower and head straight into work.  So, I’m getting my Ke$ha on by staying up more than 24 hours!  I know it’ll be worth it.  For the night, I’m going to be one of those “Crazy Kids”!

Say what you will about Ke$ha and I’m sure I’ve heard it all before.  I might have even said some of the same things.  Let’s see, “she can’t sing” (wrong, she has a great voice), “her songs are so auto-tuned” (true), “she’s a freak” (you’re damn right she is!  Let that freak flag sister!), and “Blah Blah Blah”!  Oh, by the way, for the Ke$ha uninformed, that’s the title of one of her Top Ten songs with 3OH3!

This past December, I bought her new album, “Warrior”, and when I blogged about it, I gave it an “A”.  It’s amazing and for the first few months this year, it was the only CD in my player!  Rock on, Ke$ha.

Ever since she released her first solo single, “Tik Tok”, in the summer of 2009, I loved the fun vibe of her songs and the many more Top Ten hits that followed:  “Blah Blah Blah”, “Your Love Is My Drug”, “Take It Off”, “We R Who We R”, “Blow”, and “Die Young”.

I know that Gretel, who turns 12 next month, will hear a few choice words tonight since there is a “parental advisory” label on her album “Warrior” for “explicit content”.  Yes, she says the “f-word” several times, but this isn’t the 1950s and I’m not Ward or Jean Cleaver!

Kesha 2

Although Ke$ha’s show will feature dancers dressed as life-sized stuffed animal mascots and drag queens, the show is full of fun and energy and songs that carry a strong message.

Her #1 hit, “We R Who We R” became a symbol for the LGBT community and especially when there was a rash of gay teen suicides in 2010 and 2011.

Ke$ha says, “I wanted to inspire people … to be themselves. It’s a celebration of any sort of quirks or eccentricities.  I was really affected by the suicides that have been happening, having been subject to very public hatred [myself]. I have absolutely no idea how these kids felt. What I’m going through is nothing compared to what they had to go through. Just know things do get better and you need to celebrate who you are. Every weird thing about you is beautiful and makes life interesting. Hopefully the song really captures that emotion of celebrating who you are … I just felt like people hate because they don’t understand or they’re jealous, It’s all coming from a very negative place and I really feel like people don’t need to pay attention to that.”

Ke$ha, thank you for taking the heat for not conforming!  Be yourself.  If people think you’re a freak, that means that they’re thinking of you!

Kesha

And, then Pitbull will be bringing a taste of Latin flavor and high energy to the stage for more than an hour after Ke$ha.

Pitbull

He’s dominated Top 40 radio for years now as both a solo artist and by making guest appearances with other big name singers.  He’s scored hits with Enrique Iglesias (“I Like It”), Jennifer Lopez (“On The Floor”, “Live It Up”, and “Dance Again”), and Chris Brown (“International Love”).

His most recent hit, the #1 dance and Top Ten Hot 100 smash, “Feel This Moment” featured Christina Aguilera.

We’re looking forward to a fun-filled night with Pitbull and Ke$ha!

This place is about to “Blow”!  (This video is so funny and awesome if you’ve seen it.  Take that James Van Der Beek, aka Dawson Leery!)

So, will I embarrass Gretel when I sing “C’mon” along with Ke$ha?

“Feeling like I’m a high schooler/
Sipping on a warm wine cooler/
Hot ’cause the party don’t stop/
I’m in a crop top/
Like I’m working at hooters/
We been keeping it PG/
But I wanna get a little frisky/
Come gimme some of that yum like a lollipop/
Let me set you free”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

