They Said What??? Margaret Cho, Pat Robertson, & LeAnn Rimes

RELIGIOUS ZEALOT PAT ROBERTSON

“You’ve got a couple of same-sex guys kissing, do you like that? Well that makes me want to throw up. To me I would punch ‘Vomit’ not ‘Like’ but they don’t give you that option on Facebook.”

ZIMBABWE PRESIDENT ROBERT MUGABE

(speaking about gay people):  “I should like to shut them-up in some room and see if they get pregnant; if they don’t then its jail because they have claimed they can have children. So, to that kind of rot, we say no, no, no, no!”

MORE MUGABE

“Women are also engaged in this vile activity.  We have some claiming to be men but what is it that makes you a man? Show us your manhood. You want to make other women your wives and you the husband? Well, that is madness; we refuse to accept that.”

SINGER LEANN RIMES

“I was bullied when I was a kid — when I was in junior high. A lot of girls can get real mean during the sixth grade year.  i used to perform around Dallas and Texas where I lived, a lot. My principal would put something on the bulletin board if I was in the newspaper or something, and there was this clique of girls that did not like it.  So, I had my locker egged, I had a girl bring a knife to school the last day of sixth grade and tried to kill me! Awesome. So, I’d say I was bullied a little.”

MORE RIMES

“I’ve been such a target I guess for misjudgment lately, and a lot of anger from some people, especially through social media. Obviously we’re [celebrities] underneath a microscope and in the spotlight all the time, but it’s no reason to be able to pick apart someone the way that a lot of people do. We’re human … this is my job, and then I have my life. But I’m a human being in both of them — and I think people forget that a lot of times.”

NEW YORK TIMES WRITER MARK BITTMAN

(criticizing Beyonce Knowles for her Pepsi endorsement and working with Michelle Obama’s fitness campaign in his article, “Why Do Stars Think It’s O.K. to Sell Soda?):  “Knowles is renting her image to a product that may one day be ranked with cigarettes as a killer we were too slow to rein in.  From saying, as she once did in referring to Let’s Move, that she was ‘excited to be part of this effort that addresses a public health crisis,’ she’s become part of an effort that promotes a public health crisis.”

POP SUPERSTAR SINGER BEYONCE

(responding to the criticism):  “Pepsi is a brand I’ve grown up seeing my heroes collaborate with.  The company respects musicians and artistry. I wouldn’t encourage any person, especially a child, to live life without balance.”

PENNSYLVANIA ATTORNEY GENERAL KATHLEEN KANE

(announcing that she will not defend the state’s same-sex marriage ban being challenged by 10 same-sex couples and one widow):  “We are the land of the free and the home of the brave, and I want to start acting like that.  It is our duty, each and every one of us, to protect the constitutionality, to protect the rights and dignity of others, and to protect the equality of all men and women in this Commonwealth.”

COMEDIAN MARGARET CHO

(about saying John Travolta is “so gay” and “like Oscar Wilde gay” in Australia earlier this year):  “You know, I would hope that he would be able to be himself. It’s not even like I’m outing him, because it’s so obvious.  That’s like outing Liberace.  All I’m doing is taking public speculation and joining it with what I know to be true.”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

