They Said What??? President Obama, Pink, & Billie Jean King

PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA

(talking about the anti-gay laws Russia recently adopted):  “I have no patience for countries that try to treat gays, or lesbians, or transgender persons in ways that intimidate them or are harmful to them.”

AMERICAN FAMILY ASSOCIATION’S BRYAN FISHER

(about Russia’s anti-gay laws):  “Isn’t this wonderful what Russia is doing? Let’s celebrate diversity and let’s support this tradition in the nation of Russia.”

SINGER PINK

(tweeting after negative Twitter comments attacking her for performing with a rainbow flag in Melbourne, Australia):  “Fun fact: when you twitter me and say ‘you’re a lesbian’ it really doesn’t bother me at all,” P!nk tweeted. “It’s a compliment. Most of my fav ppl are, so…I’m sure all of you hate filled humans can come up with something a little worse than that?!? Come on – be creative. You have 140 characters!”

ACTOR & FORMER POP STAR MARK WAHLBERG

(to troubled pop star Justin Bieber):  “Justin, are you listening? Don’t be so naughty.  Be a nice boy, pull your trousers up, make your mom proud and stop smoking weed, you little bastard.”

TENNIS LEGEND & CHAMP BILLIE JEAN KING

“It’s very, very difficult to come out when you’re still actively participating in a sport. It’s starting to get better, and it depends on the sport, too. In tennis we’ve been pretty lucky, but we still don’t have a gay guy coming out.”

MORE KING

(who was outed in 1981 when the media found out about the “galimony” suit filed by her former girlfriend Marilyn Barnett):  “They seem to think that [for] women, it’s been easier.  It was a long, arduous, very difficult process for me.”

FORMER TALK SHOW HOST SALLY JESSY RAPHAEL

“I wasn’t smart like Oprah. I didn’t at the very beginning tell them I wanted to own [the talk show]. That’s my stupidity and it’s stupid because I had to do what they called me in and told me to do.”

“DEXTER” STAR MICHAEL C. HALL

(about the series finale coming up in September, after eight seasons):  “I think the ‘Dexter’ finale will probably land somewhere in between. There will definitely be some grey areas — the show has always operated in that way. I don’t think it will be neat and tidy and wrapped up in a bow, but at the same time, there are some pretty decisive and bold storytelling choices that have been made, and hopefully, [they] will give people a dynamic experience. Whether all questions will be answered, I don’t know if this is a show that ever intended to do that.”

Dexter

Anthony

Leave a Reply

