They Said What??? Cyndi Lauper, Anderson Cooper, & Gloria Loring

CNN JOURNALIST ANDERSON COOPER

(responding to televangelist Pat Robertson’s claims that gay people in San Francisco are intentionally spreading AIDS by wearing a ring that when you shake hands, it breaks the skin and spreads HIV):   “Really?  A ring that gives you AIDS. I’ve never seen that particular section of Zales. Have you?”

U.S. FIGURE SKATER JEREMY ABBOTT

(who’s going to the Sochi Winter Olympics in 2014 in Russia on why he won’t protest the country’s new anti-gay laws):  “Russia is hosting us.  I’m not going to go into somebody’s house and be like, ‘Um, the way you decorate is hideous, and you need to completely redo this or I’m never coming back.’ It’s a little rude, so I don’t want to say bad things about a country that’s hosting the world, essentially.”

MORE ABBOTT

“Maybe I don’t agree with their policies, and maybe I don’t agree with some things, but that’s for them to sort out. My speaking out just makes me look like an ass.”

SINGER/ACTRESS GLORIA LORING

(mother of pop star Robin Thicke on his risque MTV VMA performance with Miley Cyrus):  “I just keep thinking of her mother and father watching this. Oh, Lord, have mercy. … I was not expecting her to be putting her butt that close to my son. The problem is now I can never ‘unsee’ it.  Him? Loved it. I love that suit, the black and white suit.  I don’t understand what Miley Cyrus is trying to do.  I just don’t understand. I think she’s misbegotten in this attempt of hers. And I think it was not beneficial.”

POP ICON CYNDI LAUPER

(on Miley Cyrus’ VMA performance):  “Now that was Girl Gone Wild. So sad, so sad. That was like Girls Gone Wild. She’s in a song that literally says that the blurred lines allowed you to—when a woman says no, that she means yes—and that is frightful because that’s date rape. It’s like, that’s okay, it’s cool. And there she is, a young twentysomething trying to prove she can hang with the big boys and girls, you know, basically simulating a Girl Gone Wild video onstage.”

MORE LAUPER

“And I just felt like it was so beneath her and really raunchy, really raunchy. It wasn’t even art. It was raunch. It’s so sad. I felt really sad for her. I know Gaga mooned everybody and I was laughing to my son, ‘This is like the naked video awards,’ but at least it was in art. It was like art. The other one was like raunch.”

DAN ISLETT, DIRECTOR OF THE PARENT TELEVISION COUNCIL

(on Cyrus’ VMA performance):  “MTV continues to sexually exploit young women by promoting acts that incorporate ‘twerking’ in a nude-colored bikini. How is this image of former child star Miley Cyrus appropriate for 14-year-olds?”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

