They Said What??? Vladimir Putin, Dan Savage, & Pharrell Williams

“SWEET CAKES BY MELISSA” CO-OWNER MELISSA KLEIN

(This Portland, Oregon bakery closed its store after refusing to make a cake for a lesbian couple because it violated their religion):  “It’s “definitely not discrimination at all.”

MORE FROM KLEIN

“We don’t have anything against lesbians or homosexuals.  It has to do with our morals and beliefs. It’s so frustrating because we went through all of this in January, when it all came out.”

“BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR” DIRECTOR ABDELLATIF KECHICHE

(to star Lea Seydoux at a Los Angeles press conference after she described making the movie as “horrible” days earlier):  “How indecent to talk about pain when doing one of the best jobs in the world.  The orderlies suffer, the unemployed suffer, construction workers could talk about suffering. How, when you are adored, when you go up on red carpet, when we receive awards, how we can speak of suffering?”

ACTRESS LEA SEYDOUX

(breaking down in tears and responding to Kechiche):  “I have given a year of my life to this film. I had no life during this shoot. I gave everything. I have not criticized the director.  I … I’m just complaining about [his] technique. It was my dream to work with him because, in France, he is one of the best directors. My family has never helped me. Let’s stop talking about privileges.”

SINGER PHARRELL WILLIAMS

(who sang on two of this summer’s biggest hits, “Blurred Lines” and “Get Lucky” on being compared to Michael Jackson):  “That’s, like, incredibly generous and kind and overreaching. That’s hard for me to process.  I could never dance like him. He had everything… He kind of lived with no time… I’ve not met many people like that, who don’t perceive parameters.”

MORE WILLIAMS

(on Jackson):  “Sometimes they go too far and off the deep end but Michael was teetering on that line of genius and insanity and you’ve never seen anyone walking that tightrope for so long and he did. That man was a special one.”

SEX COLUMNIST & ACTIVIST DAN SAVAGE

“There are more kids out there who need parents than there are parents to take care of those kids.  Kids are a whole helluva lot safer with their same-sex parents than they are with a Catholic priest.”

RUSSIAN PRESIDENT VLADIMIR PUTIN

(responding to his country’s new anti-gay laws):  “I assure you that I work with these people, I sometimes award them with state prizes or decorations for their achievements in various fields.  We have absolutely normal relations, and I don’t see anything out of the ordinary here.”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

