They Said What??? Madonna, Cher, Miley Cyrus, & Sinead O’Connor

POP ICON MADONNA

“New York wasn’t everything I thought it would be.  It did not welcome me with open arms. The first year, I was held up at gunpoint. Raped on the roof of a building I was dragged up to with a knife in my back.”

KERRY KASEM

(daughter of “American Top 40” radio host Casey Kasem, who is suffering from advanced Parkinson’s Disease.  His wife, Jean, is reportedly not allowing his children to see him.):  “My dad is very sick, and we have been completely shut off from him for the last three months. There is no money issue here, we just want to see our dad. We love him, and everyone knows his kids and grandkids are a source of joy for him.”

REVEREND FRANK SCHAEFER

(on trial in front of the Eastern Pennsylvania Conference of the United Methodist Church for officiating his son’s same-sex wedding six years ago):  “The love for my son took over the fear of losing my job with the United Methodist Church.  It was a tough decision in some sense, but I just knew I had to make it. I had to follow my heart.”

POP PRINCESS BRITNEY SPEARS

(on the role sex plays in her video and how she’d make a video if she didn’t have an “image”):  “But sometimes I would like to bring it back to the old days when there was like one outfit through the whole video, and you’re just dancing the whole video, and there’s like not that much sex stuff going on. It’s about the dance and it’s about being old school, it’s like keeping it real and just making it about the dance. I’d love to do a video like that.”

SINGER MILEY CYRUS

(responding to a two-page open letter from singer Sinead O’Connor about Cyrus being “pimped out” in the music business):  “Before there was Amanda Bynes.”  (Cyrus then posted a picture of O’Connor ripping up a picture of the Pope on “Saturday Night Live” many years ago and posted strange tweets from O’Connor from a couple of years ago.)

SINGER SINEAD O’CONNOR

(firing back at Cyrus’ tweet):  “I mean really really… who advises you?  Have you any idea how stupid and dangerous it is to mock people for suffering illness? You will yourself one day suffer such illness, that is without doubt. The course you have set yourself upon can only end in that, trust me.”

MORE O’CONNOR

(calling Cyrus dangerous and irresponsible):  “Have you no sense of danger at all? Or responsibility? Remove your tweets immediately or you will hear from my lawyers.  Mockery causes deaths. Period. It is an unacceptable form of bullying, no matter who it is doing the bullying.”

SINGER NICK JONAS OF THE JONAS BROTHERS

(about Miley Cyrus’ performance on the MTV VMAs):  “Miley’s smart. She’s very smart. We’ve always known that about her. She’ll always be successful. [The VMA performance] was funny — I was laughing.”

POP ICON CHER

(talking about Madonna):  “I never hated her, I just thought she was a bitch. Actually I quite respect her.”

MORE CHER

(more Madonna):  “Actually I think Madge might be one of the most amazing artists I’ve known. I don’t like everything she does, for sure, but she is always riding the crest of the wave. She always saw trends WAY before anyone else, and had great videos.  So, besides saying “WTF [is] MDNA”, I’m fine with it.”

Anthony

Leave a Reply

