Random Friday Thoughts — November 1, 2013

I survived my first week back at work after visiting Europe for the first time.  I met some really great people on the cruise and Ray and I got to spend some quality time together.  As much fun as it was, I’m happy to be in my own house this weekend and spend time with the family.

I hope you all survived trick-or-treating and that you weren’t too scared of the costumes this year or that you don’t have too much of a tummy ache from eating all that candy!

Here are my random thoughts this week.

GRETEL’S LAST HALLOWEEN?

Boo!

Gretel Halloween

That’s Gretel dressed as a zombie rock star last night.

Now that she’s 12-years-old, she was thinking about skipping out on trick-or-treating this year.  I convinced her to go begging in the neighborhood with her “hoodies” one more time to have fun and, for a selfish reason, to bring me back some good candy that I really didn’t need.  (I took one mini-Payday bar, so far!)

We ended up having about two dozen or so candy beggers, which means we still have some of our big bag of Tootsie Roll mix left to eat this month!

EUROPE IS NOW JUST MEMORIES

By following my blog, you know that we spent eight days recently in Europe visiting parts of Switzerland, Hungary (a technicality), Slovakia, Austria, and Germany to celebrate Ray’s 50th birthday, which was back in late August.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My favorite city was definitely Zurich, Switzerland, and my second favorite was Bratislava, Slovakia, and luckily we spent almost 24 hours in each of those cities.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was interesting going on the local tour of villages and hearing the history and seeing all the castles and brightly colored buildings.

The food was amazing on the “MS Sound of Music” cruise and the staff was incredible.

My final thoughts are that we need to brightly paint all of our houses in the U.S. to add some color and fun and that, for the most part, the people in Zurich are very fit and healthy.  We rarely saw anyone out of shape and if we did, it was mostly likely a tourist.  And, boy, there were some beautiful Europeans.  Okay, to be fair, we did see some really ugly ones, too. 🙂

CALORIE COUNTING UNTIL THANKSGIVING

With breakfast and lunch buffets daily, cake and coffee each afternoon, free-flowing wine at the amazing four and five-course dinners, along with a cheese spread buffet after dessert each night, I’m happy to report that Ray and I only gained about three pounds each on the cruise!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nevertheless, I want to eat right and exercise over the next four weeks to shed some weight to prepare myself for all of the tasteful downfalls of Thanksgiving and the holiday season.

“ENDER’S GAME” BOYCOTT

I first blogged about “Ender’s Game” back in mid-July when anti-marriage and anti-gay comments surfaced that the author of the book that the movie is based on made in the past.  There was even talk of boycotting the movie.

enders-game-boycott

The science fiction/action movie hits theaters today.  It stars Asa Butterfield (“Hugo”), Academy Award nominees Harrison Ford (“Witness”), Viola Davis (“Doubt” and “The Help”), Hailee Steinfeld (“True Grit”), and Abigail Breslin (“Little Miss Sunshine”), along with Oscar winner Ben Kingsley (“Gandhi”).

Earlier this week, I watched the trailer for the first time and it actually looks pretty good.  However, I’m really torn about telling people to go see it or avoid it because of what the author, Orson Scott Card, said in the past.

If you don’t recall, he said that “marriage has only one definition, and any government that attempts to change it is my mortal enemy. I will act to destroy that government and bring it down.”

Orson Scott Card

And, he’s called same-sex attraction, “reproductive dysfunction” and that “normalizing a dysfunction will only make ours into a society that corrodes any loyalty to it, as parents see that our laws and institutions now work against the reproductive success (not to mention happiness) of the next generation.”

Lionsgate, the company behind the movie, has distanced themselves from Card saying, “As proud longtime supporters of the LGBT community […] we obviously do not agree with the personal views of Orson Scott Card and those of the National Organization for Marriage”.

My problem is that if the movie is a success, people who haven’t read the book might buy it and that means more money for the hater.

HumanRightsCampaign

I have a solution if you choose to see “Ender’s Game” and you have friends or family that are LGBT and have been affected by Card and people like him, think about making a small monetary donation to the Human Right Campaign, which is the “largest civil rights organization working to achieve equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Americans.”

Here’s the link:  http://www.hrc.org/

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Gay marriageBehind MeMyFavoriteDecoratingCartoon

“THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN”

While on vacation last week, I read my third book recently and I can’t believe how much I’ve been missing out on by just reading magazines!

The Art of Racing in the Rain

“The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein is a must read if you’re a pet owner.

Yes, I was tearing up at the end of the first chapter and I cried during the last two chapters of the book.  However, over the course of the rest of the book, I laughed many times and smiled many others.

It’s a very reflective book narrated by Enzo, the family dog, as he awaits his own death and welcomes it.  There’s a reason he’s ready to die after living a happy, fulfilling life with Denny, a race car driver that excelled in driving on wet tracks, his wife, Eve, and their daughter, Zoe.

Enzo’s stories of Zoe’s mean stuffed animal zebra, Eve’s parents (who he nicknames “the evil twins”), and dogs in Mongolia will you make laugh and cry.

04012011 ABBA Anthony

Miss ABBA, if Enzo is right, I can’t wait to see you again and say hello.  No, this doesn’t mean I’m ready to die and join ABBA.  You’ll have to read the book to figure it out! 🙂

Vickie, thank you for sharing it with me.

Now, I’m on to my fourth book of the fall!

“DALLAS BUYERS CLUB”

While it may be some time before “12 Years A Slave” and “Kill Your Darlings” make it to the Quad Cities, another movie opens this today in New York and California that is at the top of my list of movies I want to see this fall.  And, I just found out that it starts in Davenport, Iowa, on November 22nd.

Dallas Buyers Club

As I blogged in early October, “[Matthew] McConaughey plays Ron Woodroof, a drug using, womanizing, homophobic man who was diagnosed with HIV/AIDS in 1986 and given only thirty days to live.  It tells the story of how he began smuggling non-toxic, alternative medicines from all over the world, thus forming the “Dallas Buyers Club”.

For his part, McConaughey lost around 40-50 pounds and his co-star, [Jared] Leto lost 30-40 pounds to play Rayon, an HIV-positive transgendered woman, who became business partners with Woodroof.

Awards buzz is already building for both actors.

PICK HIT OF THE WEEK

Sometimes, I choose songs that I think will be big radio hits and sometimes, I just like the song and I want to share.  Today’s song fits in the latter category.

French house music DJ Cedric Gervais now lives in Miami, Florida.  He recently made his acting debut in the Mark Wahlberg movie, “Pain & Gain” (which I have no desire to see) and he remixed Lana Del Ray’s big summer hit, “Summertime Sadness”, which reached #6 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Gervais also remixed Howard Jones’ 1980s hit, “Things Can Only Get Better”, and it’s incredible.

PEEPS’ FRIDAY ’80s FLASHBACK

And, since you’re already thinking about Howard Jones, I’m featuring the original song for you to compare.

During his U.S. Hot 100 chart run that started in 1983 when he reached #27 with “New Song”, Jones scored nine Top 40 hits.  His last hit, “Lift Me Up” reached #32 in 1992.

Of those nine Top 40 hits, two reached the Top Ten, “No One Is To Blame” (#4, 1986) and “Things Can Only Get Better” (#5, 1985).

HAPPY NOVEMBER!

That’s it for this week.  Can you believe that November is here already?

Anthony

3 responses to this post.

  1. Have to tell you Anthony that I was able to go to Europe in 1973. I was going to Blackhawk College and had just graduated and was ready to go on to Illinois State. I worked at a Waitress at that time and all my tips paid for a 3 week tour that will be with me forever. We went to 9 different countries and I have to say Lucerne Switzerland was my town. A small city and I want to say it was just outside of Vienna. I feel in love with Lucerne. Learned out to chug beer in Germany and drink Sangria until I puked all night. Loved everything about being in a new country but I also learned that I appreciate where I came from. Loved all of your pictures especially the old buildings and the churches. So neat. Going to look for that book you recommended. I do read a lot and my favorite author is John Grishman and over my vacation I read 2 of his. The Last Juror, that I don’t recommend but The Racketeer was EXCELLENT. But The Art of Racing in the Rain really sounds good and I do need to mix it up every so often. Thanks.

    Reply

    • Deb,

      That trip sounds amazing and to think that you did it all on your own. Thank you for sharing the story with me.

      Yes, that book is great.

      Check it out, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

