Our Back Yard Massacre

It’s Thanksgiving, a day for giving thanks and I find myself very saddened, mad, and agitated.  Tragedy has struck at the “Forthepeople” estate.  And, it’s nothing like “The Moldavian Massacre”, the “Dynasty” cliffhanger from May 1985.

Dynasty-Royal-Wedding_l

When that shooting was over, it was revealed that only two minor characters were among the casualties at Amanda and Prince Michael’s royal wedding.

Our body count is much higher.  There is only one survivor!

Ray and I dug into the ground and made this beautiful fish pond in the spring of 2012.

Happier Day Fish Pond

We stocked it with several colors of “goldfish” and six made it through last winter and this year.  They were getting bigger.

From June 2013

That is a picture from June 2013.

While we live in a ravine, we’ve never had a problem with raccoons bothering our little fish community.

Last month, on my birthday, we were given five large goldfish — two white ones with what looked like diamonds on their side that we named “Razzle” and “Dazzle” and three large orange ones, including “Floater”.

If you recall, he or she is the one that had the swim bladder problem.  Rather than swimming around like the others, it just lied around on the bottom on its side.

Floater

This is me feeding “Floater” peas to try to correct the problem.

A couple of days ago, Ray and I were out at the pond.  He was cleaning the filter and I was clearing out leaves.  I made the comment that it was odd that I didn’t see the fish and he was convinced that they were deep in the pond under the oak leaves and I bought it.

Today, there was no denying reality when I found this.

Fish Carcass

Yes, that’s a graphic picture.  But, really, most of us are eating a turkey carcass today!  The only difference is that the turkey is cooked.

Upon closer inspection, I confirmed that all of our fish are gone, except one.  Here is the survivor in a picture from June 2013.

Lone Survivor From June 2013

As I mentioned before, we’ve never had a raccoon problem and our fish were never threatened.  Now, I know that with “Floater” being a very big, bright, handicapped beacon of vulnerability, it attracted unwanted attention.

There’s a part of me that wishes that someone came into our yard and stole our fish.  Or, what if they were abducted by aliens for experiments?

flying_saucer

It happened on “The X-Files” and “American Horror Story: Asylum”!

Joking aside, I’m very ticked off and sad.  Raccoons are now at the top of my enemy list!

Rest in Peace, my fish, all 12 of you!

Anthony

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Ridpath on November 28, 2013 at 11:50 am

    So sorry Anthony. 😦

    Reply

  2. Posted by Linda Shelton on November 28, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    sorry to hear this .. i so understand having something to enjoy and love they may of been just fish to someone else but to you they have a special place in your life . we had a gold fish my grandaughter got it at a fair and i told her it wouldnt last and guess what she lasted 5 years we called her Goldie … we was all sad when we woke and she was gone i have lots of stories to tell about our girl maybe some other day for them … hope the rest of your day goes better big hugss

    Reply

    • Linda,

      Thank you for the your comment.

      That’s awesome that Goldie lived 5 years.

      My day is going to be just fine and we’ll restock our pond with small fish. No more big ones to attract attention. 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  3. Oh, I am really sorry to hear of your loss. It is very hard when we lose animal friends we’ve worked so to care for and have enjoyed for so long. With all the livestock we raise (and have in the past) we’ve lost a few over the years to predators. It hurts and is very upsetting, especially when they are those who have become especially close to our hearts. But I try to keep in mind & make sure my kids remember that those animals are doing what comes naturally & they really are just trying to survive.

    I know it doesn’t make the pain of the loss go away, but it might help to let go of a bit of the frustration when we remember they aren’t out to do something mean to us out of spite.

    Reply

    • Joyce,

      Thank you for your words of encouragement.

      I know the little fish had a great time here until the massacre. We’ll just restock with small fish again and they won’t attact as much attention. And, we’ll applied the netting this time and forgo the summer tall plants.

      Happy Thanksgiving!

      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by nick page on November 28, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    The same thing happend to me Anthony , so sorry you had to experiance this .one thing that helped me come to terms with What had happed was to realzed that I couldnt blame the racoons for doing What comes natrally to them, looks like they helped themselvs to a thanksgiveing diner of there own.I decided not to try again to have fish in a pond. But I recamend if you do in makeing as big and deep a pond as posible feel water is there only protection.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

