Random Friday Thoughts — November 29

I hope you had a very Happy Thanksgiving and that you ate plenty of food.  I’m ready to make another turkey since I didn’t have enough.  I’ll have to enjoy the other leftovers!  December is almost here and now it’s time to start thinking about Christmas.  Along with that, here are my random thoughts of the week.

HALLMARK DONS UGLY APPAREL

It appears that Hallmark wants to have fun this Christmas, as long as you don’t associate fun with “gay”.

The song, “Deck The Halls” dates back to the 16th century, but the lyrics, “Don we now our gay apparel“, must be too gay for the company to use on a new ornament.  It’s been changed to “Don we now our FUN apparel“.

Hallmark Sweater
While they will probably sell many of them, it’s turned into a comedic punchline.

Joan Rivers Hallmark

And, Ellen had the best solution to changing lyrics and the meaning of words!

Hallmark says, “When the lyrics to ‘Deck the Halls’ were translated from Gaelic and published in English back in the 1800’s, the word ‘gay’ meant festive or merry.  Today it has multiple meanings, which we thought could leave our intent open to misinterpretation.”

Each Christmas, Betty (Mom) buys me a “son” ornament from Hallmark.  However, I advised her to buy me an ornament from anyplace except Hallmark this year!

ILLINOIS MOVES TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF HISTORY

Last week, Illinois became the 16th state (along with the District of Columbia) to make marriage equality law.  This was a happy time for many, including Chicago Mayor Rahm Emmanuel who stopped by Sidetrack, a Chicago gay bar, to congratulation patrons there and he tweeted:

Illinois

Not everyone was happy with this new law.  A Springfield, Illinois, priest performed an exorcism (I’m not kidding!).

Cardinal George

And, Cardinal Francis George said this in a letter that appeared in church bulletins throughout the Chicago Archdiocese, “The law has made some gays and lesbians happy, and that is not a bad thing in itself. The law, however, is [a] bad law because it will contribute over the long run to the further dissolution of marriage and family life, which are the bedrock of any society… We have lived with bad laws before, and we will do our best to adjust to this one for the sake of social harmony.”

Cardinal George plans on staying on the job for another to three years.  As for me, with his close-minded views over the years, sooner would be better than later.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Turkey Facebook Turkey Moooo turkey_thanksgiving

HAPPY THOUGHT FOR THANKSGIVING

Here’s a fun little video for your Thanksgiving weekend from 1993’s “Addams Family Values”.

CHRISTMAS ROAD TRIP

Since I had a few days of vacation left this year, I mentioned to Ray that I’d like to drive back home and eat my favorite restaurant, Patti 1880’s Settlement in Grand Rivers, Kentucky, and then visit the Reba McEntire exhibit at the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville.  This would be a simple three-day trip and we could visit my hometown (Mayfield, Kentucky) and where I went to college (Murray State).

Opryland Hotel

As we started looking for hotels, we came across a package deal with the famous Opryland Hotel.

It included tickets to see the “Radio City Christmas Spectacular starring The Rockettes”, the Opry at the Ryman, a Cumberland River luncheon cruise aboard the General Jackson showboat, a night at the Opry at the Ryman (featuring Vince Gill, Kathy Mattea, and more) and “Lorrie Morgan’s Enchanted Christmas Dinner and Show”, and several other events.

So, late next week, I’ll be Christmasing in Nashville for a few nights.

FIFTY SHADES OF “HEYYYYY”

I haven’t read E.L. James’ erotic novel series, “Fifty Shades of Grey”, and I have no interest in seeing the movie in theaters Valentine’s Day weekend 2015.

However, because of former Calvin Klein model and actor Jamie Dornan, I’ll definitely rent it from Redbox.

In case you don’t know Dornan.  He’s a 31-year-old, married, soon-to-be dad.  He’s starred in six movies and two television series, including the crime thriller, “The Fall”, with Gillian Anderson.

Calvin Klein Jeans Fall 2009 Ad Campaign

BACKSTREET’S BACK & SHIRTLESS

I will not lie.  I was mildly intrigued two summers ago when the Backstreet Boys and New Kids on the Block teamed up for the album, “NKOTBSB”, which included five hits from each group, two new songs and a mash-up.  That was about it.

BSB

While I loved the Backstreet Boys back in the late-1990s and early-2000s (Kevin and Nick were my favorites), I didn’t care this past summer when they released their new album, “In A World Like This”.

However, I decided to give their new video and song, “Show ‘Em (What You’re Made Of)”, a look and a listen since the headlines read “Backstreet Boys Go Shirtless …” and “Backstreet Boys show skin…”.  The gimmick worked and the song is pretty good!

Since the headlines that roped me in were shallow, I’ll say that A.J. needs to seriously maintain that out of control nasty-looking beard, Brian and Nick still look incredible, Kevin is showing his age (he’s the oldest at 42), and Howie is hotter now than he was in the band’s heyday!

DOWN TO EARTH FUTURE KING

I never paid that much attention to 65-year-old Prince Charles, except I did take notice when he and Princess Diana married and divorced.  Back in the 1980s, I crushed on his younger brother, Prince Andrew, Duke of York, who is about four years older than me.

andrew-navy-pilot

Recently, I read an interesting article about Prince Charles that stated that while he’s very wealthy (his total annual income is about $32 million U.S. in the last U.K. financial year), he’s very frugal.

“Time” (November 4, 2013) states that he keeps his “residences frigidly underheated, saves his bathwater for the garden and wears garments so mended, they are more patch than original.”

Prince Charles

While he may be rich and tight with his money, his charities, “The Prince’s Trust”, raises, directly and indirectly, about 161 million U.S. dollars annually!

“CLOUDBURST”

82-year-old Academy Award winner Olympia Dukakis (“Moonstruck”) will always be Clairee Belcher (“Steel Magnolias”) and Anna Madrigal (“Tales of the City”) to me.  However, after seeing “Cloudburst”, alongside Oscar winner Brenda Fricker (“My Left Foot”), I have to add her character, Stella, to my list of favorite Olympia roles.

Cloudburst

Stella is a tough, tequila-swilling lesbian that talks like a sailor and she’s faced with taking care of her blind partner of 31 years, Dotty.

When Dotty’s clueless niece commits her aunt to a retirement home, it’s up to Stella to get Dotty out of the home and out of the situation.  She comes up with a plan to drive Dotty to Canada and get married so she can make the decisions.

Ryan Doucette

Along the way, they comes across Prentice, a very sexy hitchhiker trying to get back to Canada to see his dying mother.  While it seems very “Thelma & Louise”-ish with two ladies on the run with a young stud accompanying them, it’s a very touching and original story.

By the way, to prove the movie isn’t totally ripping off the aforementioned Ridley Scott-directed movie, Ryan has a beautiful hairy chest and Brad Pitt didn’t. 🙂

While the movie does have many heart-tugging scenes, there’s plenty of humor, too.  And, it’s a hoot hearing to the vulgarity coming out of Olympia’s mouth!

GRADE:  B+

FLASHBACK TO THE ’90s, PART 1

“Peeps’ ’80s Friday Flashback” is taking a break this week and will return next week.  This week, I’m showcasing two, not just one, videos from the 1990s since I featured songs earlier from the Backstreet Boys and Lorrie Morgan.

Lorrie Morgan

Since she scored her first country hit in 1988 with “Trainwreck of Emotion”, which reached #20, Lorrie Morgan has amassed 25 hits on the Billboard country charts.  Of those, 14 reached the Top Ten, and three topped the charts:  “Five Minutes” (1990), “What Part of No” (1993), and “I Didn’t Know My Own Strength” (1995).

I have several favorites from Lorrie:  the three number one hits, along with “A Picture of Me (Without You)” (#9, 1991), “Except for Monday” (#4, 1992), “I Guess You Had To Be There (#14, 1993), “Go Away (#3, 1997), and “Do You Still Want To Buy Me That Drink (Frank) (#50, 2003).

FLASHBACK TO THE ’90s, PART 1

The Backstreet Boys have been nominated for eight Grammy Awards, sold 37 million-plus albums in the U.S., and more than 130 million albums world-wide.

“Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)” hit #1 in Switzerland and Austria and #2 in the U.K in 1996.  A year later, it was released in the U.S. and peaked at #2, selling two million copies.

The Backstreet Boys would go on to chart 12 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 with six of them reaching the Top Ten.  “Quit Playing Games” would be the biggest.

FINAL FORECAST

While I worked Thanksgiving morning and this morning, here’s a weather forecast that is suitable for all weekend as we devour the leftovers.

Thanksgiving Forecast

Let me know if you agree or disagree with some of random thoughts this week or just want to share one of your random thoughts.

Until next week, have a great weekend.

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shelly Thompson on November 29, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    Have fun at Patty’s. It’s so pretty at Christmas time! I’ve not made it up yet this year. We usually try to go on our anniversary, but I’ve been I’ll. Love you guys!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Connie Huizenga on November 30, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Hi Anthony, First of all, Happy Thanksgiving a few days late, and safe travels a few days early. I do have some thoughts on your random thoughts. Go figure, right? LOL.
    Hallmark, what are you thinking? Are you trying to be politically correct and it went horribly wrong?, or are you that homophobic?, or are you just that dumb? I will be buying my ornaments elsewhere, because I used to buy ornaments from Hallmark each year. Sad.

    Another thought is Cardinal George, how can you say that passing a law allowing marriage will lead to the dissolution of marriage? A TRUE marriage does not need the legal paper. A TRUE marriage is the commitment between 2 people. The law that was passed allows those 2 people the ability to share the benefits of marriage that were currently shared by others. Social security benefits, insurance benefits, decision allowances. It does not change the commitment that is made between 2 people, with or without the advantage of a piece of paper. That piece of paper has not held people together in the past and will not in the future. The marriage is in the hearts and minds of the people involved.

    I look forward to hearing all about your trip home. It is always fun to see places you had been before and how the town has changed.

    Reply

    • Hi Connie,

      I guess I’m a little behind on responding. I appreciate your comments.

      I wish there was a way we could find out how successful Hallmark was with the sale of the “fun” ornament.

      I’m not surprise by Cardinal George’s comments. He’s always been on the wrong side of right! I agree about the commitment and love and those are true symbols of marriage.

      Take care and Merry Christmas!

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

