Eventually, All Dynasties Fall

I wasn’t going to blog about this, but I couldn’t just express myself in a few social media comments.

When the interview that “Duck Dynasty’ patriarch Phil Robertson made to “GQ” magazine surfaced, I thought two things, “he does have a right to his opinions” and “seriously”?

He said, “Start with homosexual behavior and just morph out from there. Bestiality, sleeping around with this woman and that woman and that woman and those men. Don’t be deceived. Neither the adulterers, the idolaters, the male prostitutes, the homosexual offenders, the greedy, the drunkards, the slanderers, the swindlers—they won’t inherit the kingdom of God. Don’t deceive yourself. It’s not right.”

Robertson

I didn’t think too much more about it after posting it on Facebook.  And, then Thursday, when “HuffPost Gay Voices” posted some of the vile Tweets that were surfacing supporting Robertson, I was saddened by the responses.

Here’s a sample and it does contain some adult themes and words:

Robertson Supporters

I posted this link on my Facebook page Thursday and it opened up a dialogue in support and against Robertson and “Duck Dynasty”.  It’s always good when people talk, whether they agree or disagree on a topic.

Here are my thoughts.  Robertson definitely has a right to say what he thinks.  On the other hand, once a person says what they think, they have to deal with the consequences.  Look at what happened to the Dixie Chicks when Natalie Maines spoke out against President Bush and the Iraqi War in 2003.

I had people comment to me via Facebook Thursday that the LGBT community gets mad every time that someone doesn’t agree with them.  To them, I said that it might seem that way because, for once, the LGBT community doesn’t have to live in the closet and we finally have the visibility to voice our disapproval of the way we’re being treated.  And, that’s a good thing.

And, then people want to talk about religion and what the Bible and what God says.  I won’t even go there except to say that the Bible says a lot of things and it was written a long time ago.

I pray to God every night, but that doesn’t mean I believe everything that organized religion wants me to believe.

My God doesn’t hate. My God has blessed me with many wonderful things (my health, a career, and a loving family). If he was appalled with me being gay, he would not have blessed me with so much.

Robertson has a right to say whatever he wants and to believe in the Bible as he wants.  With all of the vile comments popping up on social media supporting him and condemning “Q*eers” “F*gs”, etc., that is hate and my God doesn’t want any part of that.

Then, people bring up his clarification of the comments and the Robertson family’s official statement to the backlash:  “Phil is a Godly man who follows what the Bible says are the greatest commandments: “Love the Lord your God with all your heart” and “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Phil would never incite or encourage hate.”

I find that hard to believe when I see this video from a 2010 sermon in Pennsylvania.

If you can’t stomach to watch it, at about 1:27 in the sermon, Robertson says of gays, “Women with women, men with men, they committed indecent acts with one another, and they received in themselves the due penalty for their perversions.  They’re full of murder, envy, strife, hatred. They are insolent, arrogant, God-haters. They are heartless, they are faithless, they are senseless, they are ruthless. They invent ways of doing evil. That’s what you have 235 years, roughly, after your forefathers founded the country. So what are you gonna do Pennsylvania? Just run with them? You’re doing to die. Don’t forget that.”

Just for the record, I’ve never murdered anyone, I try not be too envious of others, I don’t live a life of strife and I’m not full of hate.

I respect people even when they don’t show me the same respect. I don’t feel that I’m arrogant and I definitely don’t hate God.  I love my God.

Furthermore, I have a heart and I try to make people’s lives around me better by doing charity work and making donations.  I have faith, a good sense, and I don’t feel that I am ruthless.  However, I’m not going to just sit and take this vile talk that this “Christian” man and some of his followers are spewing.  On second thought, he probably would assume that I’d just sit back and take it!

This isn’t about free speech.  It’s about tolerance.  It’s not so much about God, but more about how one person sees God.

I’m going to live my life the best way possible and provide a loving environment for my family and my daughter.  I will wait for the day when I meet my maker and I’ll let him judge me.

At that time, if he’s disappointed in me and if he condemns me to hell, I’ll ask him, “Why did you provide me with so much love and happiness in life if I was living against everything you stood for?”

However, I don’t think that’s how that scenario will go down.  I think he’s going to welcome me into his kingdom.

My friends, whatever category or label you have attached to you, I hope you’re there with me.

Peace!  ☮

Anthony

22 responses to this post.

  1. “…that is hate and my God doesn’t want any part of that.”
    And with this one simple statement you have come right down to the honest heart of the matter. The sort of “belief” espoused by people like that is indefensible for this very reason. There simply is no argument or excuse.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy McCoy on December 20, 2013 at 9:13 am

    Phil Robertson was a drunk who kicked his wife & family out of their home before he became Mr. Born Again. He readily admits this, & credits his wife’s love & welcoming him back as the beginning of him turning his life around. You would think someone who was shown the love of God & wasn’t condemned for things the Bible states are wrong (drunkeness, adultery, etc.) would show love to others & not judge or condemn. While I too support his right to speak his mind (no matter how hate filled it may be), I cringe at the thought of his followers thinking this is the “Gospel Truth”. Jesus taught and commanded LOVE for one another.

    And just for the record, there have been numerous interviews lately with Phil Robertson where he says he would like out of the show’s contract, that he is tired of doing it & just wanted his life back without the cameras. When asked, he said he didn’t know how much longer he would continue, but wouldn’t want to do it much longer. So he actually is probably happy he has been “suspended” & no longer has to be around for filming.

    Until Phil Robertson or those like him achieve the perfection of God, they are in no position to judge or condemn. Phil needs to stick with being a “Duck Commander”, he has no right to command his fellow man.

    Matthew 7:3-5
    New International Version (NIV)
    “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” In other words, let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mary Smith on December 20, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Phil did not handle himself well, or speak well did he? For such an educated man, he sure sounds simple doesn’t he? He misspoke for all of those who believe in God & take the bible at it’s word. You can’t take part of the bible OUT OF CONTEXT & impose it on people. No 1 command from God is to love one another, Even if you believe that homosexuality is a sin, the bible says to hate the sin & love the sinner, so I don’t understand what all the hate & labels are about? I struggle enough with my own sins every day that I sure can’t cast stones in another direction. Si may have a deep knowledge of the “word” of God, but he doesn’t seem to have a clue about the context of this word. Above all else, if you want to make statements like these in a public forum, you can’t be surprised when people have a hankering to voice their views and opinions, The hatred and slurs that have resorted from both sides is disgusting, I am ashamed for all of it.
    I am so sorry Anthony for any hurt this may have caused you.

    Reply

    • Mary,

      Thank you very much for taking the time to read my blog and share your thoughts. I appreciate it.

      Personally, I’m not hurt by his comments. I’m a grown man that has encountered this from childhood, first from an alcoholic father and then from some in society.

      It just saddens me that youngsters that may not have a tough skin have to endure it.

      Again, thank you & Merry Christmas!

      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by Mary Smith on December 20, 2013 at 10:19 am

    P.S.
    i have not, nor will I ever, watch Duck Dynasty. I don’t do “reality” tv. Of any kind

    Reply

  5. My dear anthony, I read your blog and I only have 1 correction if I may. This man is not a christian he himself is a god fearing man. A christian dosen’t judge other people for the clothes they wear, the home they have or the color of their skin. They do not judge others on who they love and are loved by. The bible says judge not lest ye be judged. I live by this daily. Love has no discrimination on who you choose to love. If this was such a bad thing then god would have put a plan in operation to prevent the love of 2 people of the same sex. Gods plan is this for all to be united as 1, because this is the United States of America. Eventually people will come to know that Love is Love and that is the way that god wanted it. He will welcome you into the mighty kingdom with open arms and when you arrive there you will also see some of the people that have condemed the love that is shown through out this world and they will realize that LOVE IS LOVE no matter what form it comes in. God will take care of the god fearing people in his own way and that will be to show them that loving is not wrong no matter what. God has blessed you and ray and gretal because he gave you the right to love who you love. GOD DOES NOT JUDGE. Thank you for reading this. Love Marci and God

    Reply

  6. Mandy,

    Thank you for checking out my blog and commenting.

    I appreciate your well thought-out comments!

    For the record, I put “Christian” in quotation marks for a reason. I can’t say he is or that he isn’t. I don’t know him. 🙂

    AP

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lisa S. on December 20, 2013 at 11:00 am

    Everybody forgets one of the BIG commandments; Judge not, lest ye be judged.

    Pretty simple.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Connie Huizenga on December 20, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Anthony, you are so eloquent. Thank you for your thoughts. I have a few thoughts of my own. 1. Freedom of Speech does allow people to say what they want when they want. Remember Paula Deen? She said what she wanted and her whole empire crumbled. As you said, there are consequences. 2. As with Paula Deen, why is something said years in the past coming to light now? Isn’t that also a statement against society? Is someone trying to get a few bucks at someone else’s expense? Gotta wonder. 3. Again, as you said, the Bible says a lot about a lot of topics. If you are going to live by the Bible, you have to live by the whole Bible, not pick and chose the parts you want to believe in. The Bible says: “Matthew 7:1-3

    7 Judge not, that ye be not judged.

    2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.

    3 And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?” King James Version (KJV). I guess Phil Robertson can now be judged.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      You’re too kind. Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I agree that, while I care what people think, I’m really only concerned about being judged by the big man upstairs when that time comes.

      AP

      Reply

  9. I think people are so quick to jump on a bandwagon because everyone else is doing it. People need to think for themselves. I am so surprised what people get up in arms about when there are real problems that matter in this world. I am not gay but I very much support the LGBT community (ask any of my friends…it drives them nuts) I think if you are lucky enough to find love…that’s a really amazing thing. Who am I or anyone else to tell people they are wrong. I come from the south and some of my closed minded bible thumping friends no longer have anything to do with me because of my support. I was brought up to judge a person on who they are and how they treat me..I truly feel sorry for the folks that condemn people just on their sexuality or race or any other reason….Hate is learned. Hell Anthony…I’m not really sure what I’m saying (except maybe I need more coffee) I just love you and enjoy your posts and thoughts and all your awesome pics of your family. You are an amazing person!!

    Reply

    • Amber, my friend,

      Thank you for checking out my blog and for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate your support and I know my fellow LGBT brothers and sisters do, as well.

      I agree with you about finding love. Look at the divorce rate in this country. Many marriages are set up to fail and if you find real love, why do so-called “Christians” want to stand in the way? And, they know who they are!

      I wish you and your family the very best. I always enjoy hearing from you. Take care and have a great 2014!

      AP

      P.S. I fully understand what you’re saying, but have more coffee for fun.

      Reply

  10. Posted by Dixie Darnell on December 27, 2013 at 8:30 am

    Ok, so here is my response, grab something to hold on to, it may be a bumpy ride!!!!! I, myself have always believed that you have the right to do whatever you want to, as long as it is not illegal and not physically hurting anyone. Comments are just comments. We all need thick skin this day and age. (No I do not agree with bullying at all).
    But then again….. I am a small woman but I used to bully the bullies. I have, what people say ” a very sharp tongue.”. So in my world it was just “payback” when I bullied. Anyway….. yes everyone has the right to their own opinion. Everyone has the right to say whatever they want to say. Everyone has the right to believe in whatever they want. It is very true that we are not to judge people, We will ALL have to answer for that one when the day arrives. In God’s eyes, “a sin is a sin no matter how big or small.”. He who without sin may cast the first stone. Anyone?…anyone?…Bueller?..Bueller? Exactly what I thought No one can cast that first stone.
    I believe that “being Gay” isn’t a life style. I do not call my heterosexual (ness) a life style. I usually don’t bring it up!!!! I try to be fair and decent to all people, except those who choose to lower themselves and are mean and rotten people. This world would be a lot better off if people would try to spend as much time loving and caring for one another as opposed to hating and cursing. Stop the H8.
    Anthony, I love it that you speak out on things that intrigue you. You, my friend are a very thought provoking individual. Which is a very good thing. People need to exercise their brain in a lot of different ways. You keep doing what you are doing and I for one LOVE your “LIFESTYLE”, you have a wonderful family, a great career and a lot of love in your heart. We are blessed. Homosexuality and Heterosexuality are NOT “LIFESTYLES”, they “JUST ARE.” “People need to quit hunting that old dog!!!!” (Just a little REDNECK humor for ya!!!!! Love ya Anthony!!!!! Keep on keeping on!!!!

    Reply

    • Dixie,

      Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts on the matter and for sharing your thoughts.

      Dialogue is always good, even if people disagree. It’s probably better when they disagree. 🙂

      I love your comments and your open-mindedness to people living their life and letting God judge.

      And, the redneck humor was funny. I’m still smiling.

      I appreciate your friendship and I know my LGBT friends do, too!

      Keep being you and Happy 2014!

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

