Anthony’s Favorite Movies of 2013

Christmas week, I blogged my 20 favorite albums of 2013 and not too many people checked it out.  Maybe there are more movie buffs than album buyers.  Based on the sales of albums and movie tickets, I might be on to something there.

Here are the first ten of my favorite movies of 2013 and noticeably missing are movies that I haven’t seen yet, but I plan on getting to in 2014:  “12 Years a Slave”, “August: Osage County” and “American Hustle”.

Now, remember, a movie is eligible if I watched it for the first time in that calendar year.

20

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $236.4 MILLION

SILV

19

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $771.5 MILLION  (STILL PLAYING)

The Hunger Games Catching Fire

18

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $20.4 MILLION

The Sapphires

17

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $180.3 MILLION

the-impossible

16

Cloudburst

15

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $21.5 MILLION

the-way-way-back-poster

14

Speechless

13

WE'RE THE MILLERS

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $269.2 MILLION

12

Prisoners

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $118.4 MILLION

11

Oz-The-Great-and-Powerful-poster

WORLDWIDE BOX OFFICE GROSS:  $493.3 MILLION

Thank you for checking out #20 to #11.  How many have you seen?

Check in tomorrow for my favorite ten movies of 2013.

Anthony

9 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve seen a few of these and I liked The Great and Powerful Oz…I did have a slight problem with it though seeing as it was the story of how the wizard came to be in Oz…and predated The Wizard of Oz…I thought the costumes should of been more dated to follow along correctly. It was a good movie though. Going to check a few more of these out you suggested. I swear I think sometimes I live under a damn rock.

    Reply

    • Amber,

      I think I liked the special effects and the color the most. And, of course, James Franco!

      Maybe tomorrow when I post the top ten, you’ll recognize a few of those. 🙂

      Happy New Year!

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by andy on December 30, 2013 at 6:10 am

    def the impossible a great great movie and thought the way ways back was really well made. were the millers how can you not laugh at any of that movie. the whole damn movie was hillarious. cant wait to see the top 10 anthony

    Reply

    • Andy,

      The special effects of the tsunami were incredible and the whole survival story was so touching in “The Impossible”. I loved the vibe of “The Way Way Back” and I’d love to see “We’re The Millers”. Thank you for checking out my blog and I’ll have Top Ten tomorrow.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Silver Linings Playbook got an A+ from both my husband and I. Loved that movie!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Deborah on December 30, 2013 at 9:05 am

    The only one that I saw on your list is The Millers. I bought it to watch over the holidays and well yes it was a crowd pleaser! Can’t wait to see the rest of your list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

