2014: New Year Thoughts & Snow

Happy New Year!  If you partied last night, I hope you had fun and got home safely.

2014

I went to bed about 9 p.m. to get up for work at 1 a.m.  I sure know how to live it up!  With that being said, I may have some champagne today.

Many people are thinking of snow today and I’ll get to that.  However, I want to reflect a bit on the past year and the upcoming year.

I started 2013 unemployed, which wasn’t fun.  Luckily, I was hired last February to be the morning meteorologist for the CBS affiliate in the Quad Cities. I’m very grateful to be starting this year doing what I love to do — forecasting weather on television.

Green Screen Weather

But, it does come with its own challenges — no sleep and I’m making about one-half of what I was making at my last job.  I’m bringing this up because of what I overheard recently, something said to me, and some Facebook comments.

Recently, while out to lunch, I overheard a conversation about the forecast of snow and one man said, “they get paid so much money”.  And, then the server said, “I noticed you changed stations.  It must have been for a big pay raise”.  I shook my head at the overheard conversation and thought “if you only knew” and I corrected the server!

And, I’ve had Facebook friends comment that I’m always traveling, which seems true.  It also implies to me that some must think I’m wealthy or that I make so much money.  I honestly think many people would be shocked to know how much money people make in local television news.  It’s not the multimillion dollar salaries you hear for the national news anchors!

money

Money isn’t everything, but it does make life easier.  I traveled last year and my savings took a big hit.  You can’t take it with you when you die and I plan on spending what I can to travel.  I’m not getting any younger and we have no guarantees in life.

Dessie AnthonyTammy

My mother died at the young age of 47.  That was almost 25 years ago and she was making $3.80 an hour!  The only time she traveled was a road trip to Indianapolis, Indiana, to visit an aunt, and to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, when I lived there.

With that being said, I want to do things with my family and my sister, Tammy, while I can and that takes money.

I know life is hard for many people.  I see the comments about the rough financial times on Facebook.  And, I feel for those people.  I really do.  It does make me feel a little guilty when I plan a small getaway, a bigger trip, or buy tickets to a concert.

However, I have to tell myself that I cannot save the world.  I cannot take away everyone’s pain, misery, and hardships.  But, that is why I donate money to charities and I donate my time for charity events to raise money and awareness.

My friends, I wish all of you the very best in 2014.  If last year wasn’t that great, I pray that this year is better for you.  If you had a nice 2013, I hope 2014 is even better.

On a lighter and fluffy note, let’s talk about snow!

Morning Radar

It’s on the way today and tonight.  That radar shot was from very early this morning and it was already snowing across central and western Iowa.

A “Winter Weather Advisory” is in effect for much of the area today and part of tonight.

Winter Weather Advisory

Several inches of snow are on the way.  Here is my latest snowfall forecast through tonight.

Wednesday Snow Totals

My friends, be safe, smile, and have a great 2014.

Anthony

23 responses to this post.

  1. You’re so amazing Anthony. Truly.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Deborah Senko on January 1, 2014 at 7:46 am

    Anthony- I truly hope you have an amazing 2014 too. & thanks for all your personal and informational blogs. Everyone of them were interesting. Thanks again for a great past year and seeing you on tv for the weather on CBS!!!!!!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

    Reply

    • Deb,

      I appreciate the kind words. Thank you very much.

      As I’ve said before, I love to write and I love to think and have others to think.

      I wish you and yours the very best in 2014.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Brenda davis on January 1, 2014 at 10:57 am

    Wow…are you in my head? Lol…I was just talking to my dad the other day about travel and weekend trips. He was complaining about spending my money going out of town, concert tickets, and buying nice things in general. But I explained to him, just like you said, there are no guarantees in life. I lost my mother when I was 16 and lost my last and closest sibling last month. All 5 are passed. But I’m not fishing for sympathy, it’s just a bad situation for any human being. But I explained to dad…if I don’t do this things now, and enjoy life…when will I do it? I plan to squeeze the bejezeeus out of life and see as much as I can while my butt is here..responsibly of course. Lol. What’s that the kids say these days? Yolo? I will never say that out loud…but it is a nice lil mantra…you only live once..

    Booka

    Reply

  4. Posted by Brenda davis on January 1, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Oh…and happy new year. 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dixie on January 1, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Happy New Year and many many more..

    Reply

  6. Posted by Laura from the midwest on January 1, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Anthony,
    I didn’t travel much the first half of my life but like you, I decided to change that and make it a priority to discover the wonders of this big planet. I wanted to make memories with my children so when I am old and gray I can reflect. It doesn’t take much when you save for something specific knowing it will make you feel better about life down the road and the lives you touch during that process. You get to anticipate and plan and that little bit you put aside each week is small compared to the joy when it comes to fruition. Since my youngest daughter was in high school, she and I have traveled to France, Italy and even Las Vegas. She has been all over the continental US and I am proud of her taking the initiative to do so. I hope her life is enriched by doing so and she sees that our planet isn’t so big but wow, can it be huge. She has seen many of the concerts locally and has stood in line at the local fair for hours to get tickets to see wonderful performers. I love being able to have experiences on a budget. I still see what everyone else sees but with money still in my pocket. I commend you for spending that time and money to broaden your life and time with your family. Please don’t take to heart what others say. They know not what they talk about.

    Love your being back on TV. I watch or record your weather every morning!

    Laura A.

    Reply

    • Laura,

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for sharing the world with your daughter.

      I don’t take it too personally when people say things, but it makes me think about what others are thinking.

      Do you have any fun trips planned in 2014?

      I appreciate you watching. Thank you.

      Happy New Year!

      AP

      Reply

      • Posted by Laura from the midwest on January 1, 2014 at 5:49 pm

        I don’t take to heart much what others think. I figure they don’t know enough to judge me accurately. It is no different when we buy the grocery store gossip mags. Most of those are full of “stories” that are made up but some people actually believe them. As far as travel: There are trips planned to North Carolina, Kentucky, and Texas. I may go to Vegas again but not sure. New York is planned for June. My friends and I went to Boca Raton,Florida last June and it was a blast. I wish I could take pictures and notes as well as you. I just love reading about your trips. Happy New Year to you Too!
        Laura

      • Laura,

        That is very true about not knowing enough to judge accurately!

        I’ve never been to NYC and I do want to do Vegas again this fall.

        I appreciate the kind words.

        Happy and safe, fun travels for us in 2014!

        AP

  7. Posted by David Hays on January 1, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    I love you Anthony! When It comes to weather I think you call it better than any other weather person in our area. I also love your taste in music. I wish you everything you need in 2014.

    Reply

  8. Posted by babiedoll454 on January 2, 2014 at 8:48 am

    Well once again anthony I really did enjoy your blog. As for the traveling you go for it my friend, you have worked hard many years to be able to afford it so enjoy. Relaxation is a must for all. People don’t realize just how much stress there is to working for the public to give them accurate weather readings. I have heard people make jokes about well I can do the same thing they do, 50% chance it will snow and 50% chance it won’t. How hard is it to say that. Always ask them and when did you go to school to become that intelligent to predict the weather like that. Not much of an answer just a quietness and then I hear well….. Well nothiing. Keep up the good work and enjoy your travels and the experiences that some people will never have and only because it takes a lot of hard work so well……

    As for the snow, I thank you for you weather up dates because my son is over the road truck driver and the road conditions are very important to him and for my peace of mind. Not always happy with your report but is much appreciated. Thank You and have a great day, and be safe.

    Reply

    • Marci,

      Happy 2014 to you and yours. Thank you so much for always checking out my blog and my thoughts.

      I appreciate your thought-process with weather forecasting. The one we always hear (and people think they are creative when they say it) is “I wish I had a job where I was wrong all the time and still get paid!” As if… 🙂

      I love what I do and it doesn’t bother me too much about the comments because you have to have a tough skin in the public eye.

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

      • Posted by babiedoll454 on January 3, 2014 at 6:10 am

        Anthony thank you for always responding, but I think there is something wrong. You have called me Barbie and other names when responding at other times. This is marci

      • Marci,

        This is too funny for me. It might not be for you. Unless you sign it, I don’t get a name — just your screen name or email address and instead of “babiedoll”, I saw “barbiedoll”. That’s why I was calling you Barbi! 🙂

        Okay, I’m goofy. I appreciate you checking out my blog and correcting me.

        AP

      • Posted by babiedoll454 on January 3, 2014 at 6:23 am

        thanks and I will continue to read no matter what you call me ha ha.

        stay safe my friend. thoughts and prayers always

      • Now that it’s been brought to my attention, you will be Marci!

  9. You know what I say “screw ’em” ! Have fun do and do what you want!
    Love you and your family !
    Happy 2014 !!!

    Reply

    • Cindy,

      You are awesome! I hope you’ve enjoyed your long stay in Cali and holidays with the family. I know Bruce and the farm will be glad to have you back. And, I’ll be happy with the weather updates.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

