Random Friday Thoughts — January 10, 2014

It’s Friday and we’re out of the deep freeze from earlier this week when wind chills hit -50°.  I hope you have a great weekend.  We’re taking down the Christmas tree, watching movies, and going to brunch Sunday.

If you’re thinking of a movie to rent this weekend and you want to see a love story, you have to see “Bridegroom”!

“BRIDEGROOM”

I’ve blogged about the love story of Shane Bitney Crone and Tom Bridegroom several times and, last weekend, we watched the documentary “Bridegroom” by Linda Bloodworth-Thomason, the powerhouse behind “Designing Women”.

NETFLIX POSTER

It doesn’t matter if you’re straight or LGBT, the story of Shane and Tom meeting, falling in love and traveling the world, Tom’s accidental death, and Shane not being able to attend the funeral in Indiana because of Tom’s family’s homophobia is touching and heartbreaking.

While watching this 80-minute documentary, you don’t feel that you’re watching a gay love story, you sense that you’re watching the love between two friends grow.  Simply, it’s a love story of two people.

If you’re opposed to marriage equality, this might open your eyes to see why it’s so important in this country and the world that everyone that falls in love should have the right to marry.  If you’re on the fence, I sense that you’ll want to find out how to make marriage legal for everyone.

“Bridegroom” is a must see!  As the credits rolled, I wished that I had known Tom and I hope that Shane can find that same love again.

GRADE:  A+

LILY TOMLIN GETS MARRIED

Legendary comedian Lily Tomlin, last seen on Reba McEntire’s ABC series, “Malibu Country”, is now a married woman.

Lily Tomlin

The 74-year-old actress married Jane Wagner, her partner of 42 years.

Friend and columnist Liz Smith writes, “It was an eventful New Year’s Eve … my longtime friends, Lily Tomlin and her love, the writer Jane Wagner, got married on the eve of 2014. … My wish is that their happiness will be as great as their combined talents.”

Best wishes Lily and Jane!

IS IT OKAY TO “OUT” PEOPLE?

I don’t know if Illinois Republican Congressman Aaron Schock, from Peoria, is gay or not.  I know he’s cute, has a nice body, and an interesting sense of style.

Aaron Schock aaron-schock-1

However, there’s been rumors swirling around Schock for years.  And, now his sexuality is front and center after a Facebook post from journalist Itay Hod last Friday.

Itay Hod

That’s just a portion of the lengthy post of Hod’s “hypothetical” question.  The story is now being picked up by gay and straight news outlets.

Itay Hod 2

So, there two are ways to go with this?  Is it a big deal if Schock is gay or not and should people “out” other people?

Here’s a tweet from Hod about his feelings?

Itay Tweet

Here’s my opinion and I welcome yours.  Dialogue is always good.

Having any public figure to “come out” as gay helps to demystify gay people.  It also gives kids that may be LGBT or questioning their sexuality a role model.

People have talked about Oscar-winning actress Jodie Foster’s sexuality for years, but she refused to address it.

Jodie Foster

I was happy when she finally came out as a lesbian at last year’s Golden Globe awards ceremony in an acceptance speech.  Or, did she?

There’s a big difference between someone who lives their life as their own and a person, like Schock, who has been an enemy to the LGBT community and marriage equality.  In that case, the answer is yes.

Aaron Schock 2

If there is proof, yes, PROOF, that Schock is gay, it needs to come out and so does he.  Maybe then he can live a happier life not hiding in the closet and maybe explain if his political career is that much more important than the lives of his LGBT brothers and sisters.

If he’s straight, let him be and let’s vote him out of office for his ignorant anti-gay voting record.

It’s people like Schock that stood in the way of Shane and Tom getting married in California and Shane not having “legal rights” to visit Tom as he lay dying in the hospital!

DEJA VU

This isn’t the first time I’ve brought up the subject of “outing” people.

It was the topic of my seventh blog back on January 15, 2012, called “Come Out, Come Out Wherever You Are”.  That blog was about the sexuality of professional football player Tim Tebow and others.  Here’s the link if you want to read it.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/come-out-come-out-wherever-you-are/

TimTebow-635

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

PsychoTwo To TooChannel 4 Weather Guy

KE$HA CHECKS INTO REHAB

Pop singer Ke$ha is known for her wild videos and stage antics.  Her songs are fun and over the top, too.  In her first hit, the #1 “Tik Tok”, she sings “before I leave, brush my teeth with a bottle of Jack”.

Kesha

So, you might think her treatment has something to do with drugs and alcohol.  However, it’s something different.

The 26-year-old pop star released a statement last weekend saying, “I’m a crusader for being yourself and loving yourself but I’ve found it hard to practice.  I’ll be unavailable for the next 30 days, seeking treatment for my eating disorder…to learn to love myself again. exactly as I am.”

EATING DISORDERS AFFECT BOYS, TOO

Ke$ha, I wish you much success in what will be a daily struggle for the rest of your life.  I know it’s something that she and the millions like her will fight each day.

When people think of eating disorders, anorexia and bulimia, most incorrectly believe it only affects females and Karen Carpenter’s name likely comes to mind.

karen carpenterpeople

However, it’s estimated that 10-15% of those affected by eating disorders are male.

I, too, am a recovering food addict.  You’ll often hear me blog about eating healthy or walking on the treadmill.  It’s not because I’m vain.  It’s because I fight the food demon of overeating every day.  A few pounds to the average person is a huge burden, a catalyst for insecurity, and a path for destruction to a food addict.

After nine years of being a practicing bulimic from 1986-1995, I’ve been on the wagon now for going on 19 years.  Like an any other addict, recovery is a daily process.

It’s because of this that I blogged a couple of years ago about Adele’s weight.

adele out

It’s been my second most viewed blog since I posted it.  I’m sharing it again to raise awareness of weight and eating disorders.  I hope you check it out.  Feel free to share it because it might save someone who needs to know they are not fighting this battle alone.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/do-we-really-need-to-tell-adele-shes-too-fat/

In memory of Karen Carpenter, one of my favorite singers ever, here’s a medley of The Carpenters’ greatest hits.

“COUNTRY MUSIC:  FACTS, FIGURES & FUN”

After finally finishing enough magazines to read a book, I ended up reading four last year and vowed to read many more than that in 2014.

I just finished my first book, a short little 96-page history of country music that I picked up at a yard sale or a dollar store.  It’s called “Country Music: Facts, Figures & Fun” by Mike Evans.

Country Music

It was an interesting little read.  While most know that country music was originally known as the derogatory term “hillbilly music” and was changed to “country & western music” in 1949 and shortened to country music, its roots are traced by to the British Isles hundreds of years ago!

You probably already know that I love my women of country music.  While this book did profile Patsy Cline, Dolly Parton, and Shania Twain, there were only a few brief mentions of my favorites, Reba McEntire and Patty Loveless.

The book also educated me on the history of bluegrass, singing cowboys, honky-tonk, the crossover appeal of “The Nashville Sound”, and outlaw music.

“I’M A LITTLE BIT COUNTRY” FLASHBACK

When I think of “outlaw music”, Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings come to mind.  The phrase was coined from a 1972 Jennings song called “Ladies Love Outlaws.”

Waylon Jennings

Jennings was born about a half-hour outside of Lubbock, Texas, in 1937.  While he became one of the biggest stars in country music, he never forgot his family back home.  In my year in Lubbock, in 1997, I interviewed his brother, who owned a gas station in west Texas, and he confirmed that about his famous brother.

Waylon scored his first hit in 1965 and his last Top 40 appearance on the Billboard Country charts was in 1991.

In all, he had 83 Top 40 hits on the country charts.  Of those, 53 reached the Top Ten, including 15 number one songs.

While I have many Waylon favorites (solo and with Willie and Jessi Colter, his wife), my all-time favorite, “Luckenbach, Texas (Back to the Basics of Love)” was released in April 1977 and it reached, #1.  It also reached #25 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #16 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary chart.

Did you know that Jennings was a bass player for Buddy Holly and he gave up his seat on a chartered plane in February 1959 leaving Mason City, Iowa, for the next show?  That plane crashed killing Holly, Ritchie Valens, and The Big Bopper.

Buddy Holly Plane Crash

Waylon Jennings died in 2002.  He was 64.

ONE TOO MANY CONCUSSIONS?

On a recent episode of “UK Celebrity Big Brother”, former boxer champion Evander Holyfield told fellow contestant Luisa Zissman that being gay is not normal.

Evander Holyfield

Holyfield mumbled “yes, it is a choice… that ain’t the way nobody is made” and said if a person was handicapped, you’d go to a doctor to get it fixed.

I would go into the whole debate of how being gay is not a “choice” like picking out food on a menu, but he probably couldn’t hear me!

Tyson Holyfield Ear Bite

Peace out, my friends, and have a great weekend!

Anthony

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Connie Huizenga on January 10, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    Being a nurse, I have witnessed the pain caused by not being married to a partner and thus, not being allowed at a patient’s bedside during their illness or at the time of the patient’s death. I used to sneak a patient’s “husband” to his bedside during his illness and allowed them time together during the patient’s death. I put husband in quotes because they could not even say that they were gay let alone be allowed to be married. But they were gay and they were married and they were in love and it was beautiful. That can not be legislated by any level of government. I carry both of those amazing men in my heart to this day.

    Reply

  2. Hi Anthony- I have been struggling with my views on the gay community for quite sometime. I personally don’t have a problem with a person being gay. In fact my 2 BFF’s are gay. They are my best friends as I have been married to a wonderful man for 35 years they have not been able to experience that and that makes me furious. Its so hard for me to articulate has to how I feel regarding this matter because right now I am in a furious battle with my church over this matter. My one friend would like to join my church & I never thought of her not being able to but as it comes to light my senior pastor has issues. I am struggling so I don’t know how you, my friends or anyone else that is gay can completely feel comfortable being outed or come out on your own. I think sometimes people who you know are gay sometimes feel that it is just might be easier to keep quiet. & that is sad. I truly feel that God loves everyone. & we look at Jesus who was a teacher of all men. Needless to say I am struggling as a straight person. Until everyone comes together on this issue it will be a long struggle for everyone involved. Thanks for your insight. I really do enjoy reading your blogs. sometimes I answer but most of the time I don’t. This one just really struck a cord with me on my struggles with my church. Thanks.

    Reply

    • Deb,

      Thank you very much for sharing this story. I can see why you are torn with the debacle at your church. You are not alone in this struggle, as I know others that have tolerant and open views with their Christianity and their local church leaders present obstacles.

      I was never “in” to come out. I was always me and I only surrounded myself with people who liked me for me or could like me being something that they weren’t.

      I know I’ve been called derogatory names behind my back because I’ve heard it to my face or in passing. I know there have been many television jobs that I never got considered for because, although they didn’t know me or anything about me, they might have suspected that I way gay. And, in reality, that might have been the reason that I’ve lost a job in the past.

      The bottom line is that I pray that you’ll always be there for your friend even if your pastor is close-minded about it and doesn’t see God’s full meaning of letting him be the final judge.

      Peace, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Anthony….very well written. I have always believed, even as a young child, people should be able to choose who they fall in love with. I have questioned others, however. Why should we condemn others for falling in love? Why should it always have to be a man and a woman falling in love? Why is it anyone’s business who falls in love? I fell in love with who I chose, why shouldn’t every one be able to do the same? Who gave us the authority to judge others? I know I don’t want to be judged for my decisions in life, why should I have any reason what so ever judging others?

    Weight issues are a completely different story. As far back as I can remember, I was four, I was a chubby girl and the youngest of three daughters. The middle sister was very thin and people noticed. We were getting family pictures done, the photographer pinched my cheeks and said I reminded him of a plump hamburger because I was round and my middle sister reminded him of a hotdog, tall and skinny. As I grew older, those words stuck with me. Family and friends teased me about my weight almost daily. When I hit teenage years I could no longer take it. My weight plummeted to 108 pounds on my 5’6″ frame. I was sick. I let peer pressure hit me hard. Now, I am 41 years old, a mother and a grandmother and those words still hit me once in a while. I continue to keep an eye on my weight but don’t struggle if I gain a pound or two.

    Your blogs and words are always so great and hit close to home.

    Thank you Anthony!!!

    Reply

    • Rhonda,

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts on love and weight. As you can tell, I’m passionate about both issues.

      I am so glad that you have come to terms with the weight thing and that you don’t let a few pounds bother you. I usually don’t let a few pounds bother me know because I know the alternative and I never want to go back to those dark days.

      Be strong my friend and I know from your experiences that you’ll be keeping an eye out for your grandchildren, just as I do with my 12-year-old daughter.

      Thank you for reading my blog, but moreso, for your friendship.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

