Random Friday Thoughts — January 24, 2014

Friday is here and that means the weekend gets underway soon!  This evening, I’ll be saying a few words in front of a crowd of thousands for the rodeo that’s in town.  This will be interesting because I’ve never even been to a rodeo!  Have a great weekend and thank you for checking out my random thoughts.

“THE BACHELOR” SAYS WHAT?

This is a case of having the right to believe what you want, but not having the intelligence to filter your words.

Juan Pablo

Juan Carlos Galavis, the hunky star of ABC’s  “The Bachelor”, may have shown his true colors last Friday night and then used the lame of excuse of claiming English is not his first language.

When asked whether there would ever be a bisexual or gay “bachelor”, he replied that he didn’t and “honestly, I don’t think it’s a good example for kids”.  I can deal with that because, even though I disagree, that’s his opinion.

However, the media hungry reality star kept talking and this is what ticked me off.  He added, “there’s this thing about gay people… it seems to me, and I don’t know if I’m mistaken or not… but they’re more ‘pervert’ in a sense.  And to me the show would be too strong… too hard to watch.”

Excuse me, did you say “pervert”?

bachelor-juan-pablo34

Well, it didn’t take long for Galavis to be contacted by ABC, the show’s producers, or his manager, because he issued this apology, “My vocabulary is not as broad as it is in Spanish and, because of this, sometimes I use the wrong words to express myself.  What I meant to say was that gay people are more affectionate and intense and for a segment of the TV audience this would be too racy to accept…  Once again, I’m sorry for how my words were taken. I would never disrespect anyone.”

Please don’t use language as your excuse for being close-minded!

Yelena Isinbayeva

Last August, Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva made anti-gay comments and apologized by saying, “English is not my first language and I think I may have been misunderstood when I spoke yesterday.”

Just as I said back then, I don’t speak foreign languages as a second language, so if I’m going to make derogatory comments, “I’ll do it in English, a language I can fluently speak” to avoid “misunderstanding”!

SALLY KERN IS THE “HUMAN WRONG”

And, why I’m talking about people who tick me off, I can’t leave out habitual anti-gay Oklahoma Republican state representative Sally Kern.

Sally Kern

Recently, when a Oklahoma judge ruled the state’s ban on same-sex marriage is unconstitutional, Kern replied, “Homosexuality is not a civil right. “It’s a human wrong. Homosexuals are saying this is who we are. This is how we’re born. You tell a lie long enough, people begin to believe it.”

Obviously, you’ve believed the lie that you’re not a bigot long enough that you believe it!

BAD FEELING ABOUT SOCHI GAMES

Months ago, I blogged my support for a boycott of the 2014 Winter Games in Sochi (Russia).

boycott-sochi-2014

Now, with more and more talk about the threat of terrorism and the recent bombings in Russia, I feel more uneasy.

Of course, the reason for my initial call for a boycott was over Russian President Vladimir Putin and his government’s anti-gay laws and his empty assurances that gay people will not be mistreated during the Games.

I guess this teenager, Pavel Lebedev, getting tackled and detained for holding up a rainbow flag doesn’t count because the Olympics haven’t started yet!

Seriously, it’s a flag, not a weapon!

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Winter

SpringSmile

SNAP, SNAP, MISS LABELLE

“All these little heifers who can’t sing are called divas.”

patti-labelle

Whatever you do, don’t call R&B and pop legend Patti LaBelle a “diva”!

“That word is used so loosely that I don’t even consider myself a diva.  I always considered myself a woman who sings her heart out and who gives 120 percent. ‘Diva’ is a word that I wouldn’t wanna call myself because it’s so loosely used. It’s not cute anymore.”

Ms. LaBelle went on to call today’s pop stars “a hot mess”.

hotmess

LaBelle:  “Well, for opera singers, and for ladies who earned it, but that was way, way back when. Now you can look up to them, but you might not see what you wanna see. A hot mess! People who are doing it and doing it with about 40 people on stage with them to hide their pitifulness—that’s not a word, but you know what I mean.”

For the record, Patti LaBelle has scored 24 Billboard R&B hits as a solo artist and 10 more with Labelle.  However, on the Billboard Hot 100, she only had 3 solo Top 40 hits:  “New Attitude” (#17, 1985), “On My Own” (#1, 1986, with Michael McDonald), and “Oh People” (#29, 1986).

“THE FOLLOWING” SEASON 2 PREMIERE

Fox’s “The Following” kicked off its second season last Sunday night and it was incredible.  It also scored the highest ratings ever coming after the NFC Championship football game.

The-Following-Season-2-Poster-2

Creepy, murderous “followers” of serial killer Joe Carroll are still out to honor him and kill for him.  However, now his loyal group has to contend with copycat groups hellbent on violence and they even have Carroll masks.

Carroll Masks

Emma, one of the Carroll’s followers and lovers from season one, is back and was rather subdued in the season two premiere.  And, while I love the character, her punk look has to go!

The Following - Sam Underwood

My favorite new character in season two is Luke played by English actor Sam Underwood.  You might remember him as the protegé of “Dexter” in the Showtime series’ final season.

Sam Underwood -- Dexter

Without giving away any real spoilers, Underwood was amazing and made creepy, sadistic, and sick look sexy.  I’m sure we’ll be seeing a lot of Underwood in “The Following”.  However, because no one is safe on this show, except maybe Kevin Bacon’s “Ryan Hardy”, I can’t say how long Underwood will be on the show.  But, Emma survived all of last season!

And, what makes Underwood, the actor, even cooler is that he “favorited” one of my tweets earlier this week!

Sam Underwood Tweet

If you missed the season two premiere, Fox is airing it again Monday night (January 27, 8 p.m. ET) before an all new episode.

KE$HA HEALTH UPDATE

As I blogged two weeks ago, pop star Ke$ha checked herself into rehab for 30 days for an eating disorder.  She’s being treated at a facility outside of Chicago.

Kesha and Mom

Ke$ha’s mom, songwriter Pebe Sebert, tells “People” magazine, “I’ve watched my beautiful, self-confident, brilliant daughter be berated and ridiculed for her looks and weight to the point that she almost died.”

Sebert goes on to add, “The doctors told me her blood pressure and sodium levels were so low, they’d never seen it that low except with someone who’d had a heart attack or stroke. They said it was a miracle she hadn’t already dropped dead on stage.”

If you or someone you know is fighting anorexia and/or bulimia, please contact the National Eating Disorders Association at 1-800-931-2237 or check out their website, http://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/

OBESITY MORE OF A PROBLEM THAN MALNUTRITION

As I was reading an old issue of “Eating Well” magazine (June 2013), I learned that in 1990, malnutrition ranked as the top health risk around the world and being overweight was down at #11.

Obesity

A report by the Global Burden of Disease, made up of 500 scientists in 50 countries, now states that for the first time, being overweight is now up to 6th place and malnutrition has dropped to 8th place!

HEALTHY EATING UPDATE

We’re still doing well on our healthy eating choices and walking.  I’ve now lost 5.6 pounds , so far, in January and Ray is down 4 pounds.  We’re still treating ourselves one cheat meal (i.e. buffet) each week and we’ve cut back on the potent potables.

By spending more time on the treadmill, I’m keeping up on my magazines and I just completed my third book of 2014!

ARMISTEAD MAUPIN’S “TALES OF THE CITY”

Although I read “Tales of the City” twenty years ago, I’m re-reading it again, along with the following eight books in Armistead Maupin’s series.

Tales of the City Book

Maupin started the series in the “San Francisco Chronicle” in 1976, after moving to the city in 1971 for a job at the Associated Press.

Armistead

“Tales of the City” is about a group of young people living at 28 Barbary Lane, a complex of apartments owned by Anna Madrigal, an older, eccentric landlady, who loves her marijuana and is harboring her own secrets.

The series focuses on the funky culture and “alternative lifestyles” of San Francisco, starting out in the 1970s.  The tenants are straight (Mary Ann and Brian), gay (Michael), bisexual (Mona), and asexual (Mrs. Madrigal).

This month marks the 20th anniversary of the miniseries that debuted on PBS in the United States giving them their highest ratings ever (at the time) for a dramatic series.  It stars Olympia Dukakis as Mrs. Madrigal and introduces us to future star Laura Linney.

Tales Miniseries

It’s still one of my favorite miniseries of all time.  I watched it for the first time as, in early 1994, as I was getting ready to make my big move to Chicago from small town Kentucky, just like Mary Ann Singleton did in the series from Cleveland to San Francisco!  And, I was just as naive as Mary Ann, too, twenty years ago!

If you lived through or if you love the groovy 1970s, you’ll love this series.

The final book in the series, “The Days of Anna Madrigal” was just released.

“THE X-FILES”

I’m getting all melancholy again as I near the end of “The X-Files”.  What?  Yes, I know that the series ended its nine-year run in 2002, but I’m watching it again.

The X-Files Season 9

While I’ve seen the entire series, Ray never saw it.  So, we’re binge-watching all 202 episodes and the two feature films.

We’re down to the last 13 episodes.  SPOILER ALERT, Ray!  I hope that I find the series finale more exciting this time than I did the first time!

“I’M A LITTLE BIT COUNTRY”

Dave & Sugar, a country trio, racked up 16 hits on the Billboard Country charts from 1975-1981.  Eleven of those songs made the top ten and three topped the chart.

I don’t know if I moved on from them after their first hit because I don’t remember the other 15 songs.  However, I loved “Queen of the Silver Dollar”, their debut song that only reached #25.

THAT’S ALL

While I have many more random thoughts, I don’t want to exhaust you.  Have a fantastic weekend and thank you for checking our my blog.

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. I lived in Oklahoma for almost a decade (my in-laws still live in Broken Arrow) & I am thrilled that, as a whole, they are making progress toward equality. But their selection of political representatives never ceases to disappoint me, and often leaves me feeling rather ill.

    and… I can’t believe it’s been almost 12 years since the X-Files ended! I’d love to go back and re-watch the entire series, but I was so sad when it was over. I was in my first weeks of college at OSU when the first episode aired & it’s like being in a timewarp when I see even one show. Someday I’ll do it though!

    Reply

    • Joyce,

      I always appreciate hearing from you. You comments are always well thought out and to the point.

      I know all of the people of Oklahoma don’t think like Kern, but how she keeps getting elected raises concerns! 🙂

      We are now down to the last seven or eight episodes now and we’ll watch the second movie when we’re done with the series.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

