“The Bachelor” Says What?

This is a case of having the right to believe what you want, but not having the intelligence to filter your words.

Juan Pablo

Juan Carlos Galavis, the hunky star of ABC’s  “The Bachelor”, may have shown his true colors last Friday night and then used the lame of excuse of claiming English is not his first language.

When asked whether there would ever be a bisexual or gay “bachelor”, he replied that he didn’t and “honestly, I don’t think it’s a good example for kids”.  I can deal with that because, even though I disagree, that’s his opinion.

However, the media hungry reality star kept talking and this is what ticked me off.  He added, “there’s this thing about gay people… it seems to me, and I don’t know if I’m mistaken or not… but they’re more ‘pervert’ in a sense.  And to me the show would be too strong… too hard to watch.”

Excuse me, did you say “pervert”?

bachelor-juan-pablo34

Well, it didn’t take long for Galavis to be contacted by ABC, the show’s producers, or his manager, because he issued this apology, “My vocabulary is not as broad as it is in Spanish and, because of this, sometimes I use the wrong words to express myself.  What I meant to say was that gay people are more affectionate and intense and for a segment of the TV audience this would be too racy to accept…  Once again, I’m sorry for how my words were taken. I would never disrespect anyone.”

Please don’t use language as your excuse for being close-minded!

Yelena Isinbayeva

Last August, Russian pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva made anti-gay comments and apologized by saying, “English is not my first language and I think I may have been misunderstood when I spoke yesterday.”

Just as I said back then, I don’t speak foreign languages as a second language, so if I’m going to make derogatory comments, “I’ll do it in English, a language I can fluently speak” to avoid “misunderstanding”!

Anthony

Re-posted from  “Random Friday Thoughts — January 24, 2014

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/random-friday-thoughts-january-24-2014/

Leave a Reply

