Food Demons — Eating Disorders Affect Boys, Too

Pop singer Ke$ha is known for her wild videos and stage antics.  Her songs are fun and over the top, too.  In her first hit, the #1 “Tik Tok”, she sings “before I leave, brush my teeth with a bottle of Jack”.

Kesha

So, you might think her treatment has something to do with drugs and alcohol.  However, it’s something different.

The 26-year-old pop star released a statement last weekend saying, “I’m a crusader for being yourself and loving yourself but I’ve found it hard to practice.  I’ll be unavailable for the next 30 days, seeking treatment for my eating disorder…to learn to love myself again. exactly as I am.”

EATING DISORDERS AFFECT BOYS, TOO

Ke$ha, I wish you much success in what will be a daily struggle for the rest of your life.  I know it’s something that she and the millions like her will fight each day.

When people think of eating disorders, anorexia and bulimia, most incorrectly believe it only affects females and Karen Carpenter’s name likely comes to mind.

karen carpenterpeople

However, it’s estimated that 10-15% of those affected by eating disorders are male.

I, too, am a recovering food addict.  You’ll often hear me blog about eating healthy or walking on the treadmill.  It’s not because I’m vain.  It’s because I fight the food demon of overeating every day.  A few pounds to the average person is a huge burden, a catalyst for insecurity, and a path for destruction to a food addict.

After nine years of being a practicing bulimic from 1986-1995, I’ve been on the wagon now for going on 19 years.  Like an any other addict, recovery is a daily process.

It’s because of this that I blogged a couple of years ago about Adele’s weight.

adele out

It’s been my second most viewed blog since I posted it.  I’m sharing it again to raise awareness of weight and eating disorders.  I hope you check it out.  Feel free to share it because it might save someone who needs to know they are not fighting this battle alone.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/do-we-really-need-to-tell-adele-shes-too-fat/

In memory of Karen Carpenter, one of my favorite singers ever, here’s a medley of The Carpenters’ greatest hits.

Anthony

Re-posted from  “Random Friday Thoughts — January 10, 2014

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/random-friday-thoughts-january-10-2014/

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow…the longer I’m friends with you…the more reasons I have to admire you! Kudos for sharing your struggles. I’ve always said FOOD was my drug of choice and it’s such a struggle because I NEED my addiction. Cigarettes you can give up and go without…alcohol…drugs…but food. You have to have food. It is a constant battle everyday. There is not one thing I put in my mouth that I don’t have to think about.

    Reply

    • Hi Amber,

      I’m glad we’re friends, too!

      It is a daily struggle for someone that wants to lose weight, but it’s very hard for someone that is a food addict.

      I try to be as honest as I possible can in life. 🙂

      Take care, my friend,
      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

