Lifestyle, Choice, Dynasties, & Palins

Since a member of the “Duck Dynasty” Robertson family was in the news last night as a guest star of the Republican Party at President Obama’s “State of The Union” address, I should do my part to keep the coverage going.  Recently, I started featuring some of my random thoughts that you may have missed on Fridays as stand alone entries.

*********

Last week, a can of worms about the First Amendment was opened when “Duck Dynasty” patriarch Phil Robertson made anti-gay comments to “GQ” magazine.  It caused A&E to indefinitely suspend Robertson.

phil-robertson-p11

My comments today are not about that ordeal, but I’ll re-post the link if you want to read what I wrote about “Duck Dynasty”, being gay, and God last Friday.  It was one of my most viewed blogs of the year!

In the dialogue following my blog and the fallout about the suspension, one woman started badgering me about the “gay lifestyle”.

I responded that being gay is not a “choice” or a “lifestyle”.  As for “choice”, LGBT people don’t normally go around asking straight people when they “chose” to be straight.

And, being gay is just one facet of who I am.  It’s my life and not a “lifestyle”, but she wouldn’t drop it and even posted a dictionary definition of “lifestyle” for me!

So, if you insist that being gay is a lifestyle, this pretty much sums it up.

gay-lifestyle

Sound familiar?

Last Friday’s blog about the “Duck Dynasty” uproar:

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2013/12/20/eventually-all-dynasties-fall/

BRISTOL PALIN ON ROBERTSON & THE LGBT COMMUNITY

Since I’ve blogged about Bristol Palin and her views before, here’s what she’s saying about “Duck Dynasty” and the LGBT community in her blog post, “Leave Phil Robertson Alone”.

Bristol Palin Crying

“I think it’s so hypocritical how the LGBT community expects every single flippen person to agree with their life style. This flies in the face of what makes America great – people can have their own beliefs and own opinions and their own ways of life. Everyone needs to treat others like God would, with love. It goes both ways. I hate how the LGBT community says it’s all about ‘love’ and ‘equality.’ However, if you don’t agree with their lifestyle, they spread the most hate. It is so hypocritical it makes my stomach turn.”

ONE MORE PALIN RESPONSE

Another Robertson defender was Bristol’s mother, failed Alaska Governor and Vice President wannabe Sarah Palin.

sarah palin

Last week, Palin was defending Robertson on her Facebook page, “Free speech is an endangered species. Those ‘intolerants’ hatin and taking on the ‘Duck Dynasty’ patriarch for voicing his personal opinion are taking on all of us.”  However, now she admits that she didn’t even read his comments to “GQ” magazine to even know what he said!

On Fox News Channel’s “On the Record with Greta Van Susteren”, when pressed about the graphic nature of Robertson’s comments, Palin admits, “I haven’t read the article … I don’t know exactly how he said it.”

I have one thing to say:  read first before you spout off in his (or anyone’s) defense!  But, then again, consider the source….

Anthony

Re-posted from  “Random Friday Thoughts — December 27, 2013

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2013/12/27/random-friday-thoughts-december-27/

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa Taylor on January 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    Who are the real hypocrites here? They spout off about God, well I have to say the God I know does not spew hate! My parents taught me acceptance, and I’m forever grateful!

    Reply

  2. To me what he said was more than just “I don’t support same sex marriage” or anything like that. He should an absolute disgust for gay people that went far beyond the pale, and he was similarly dismissive of the effects of white racism in the Jim Crow South, even though he grew up in a time when segregation was law of the land. You can read my full opinion on this topic here if you want:
    http://ushypocrisy.com/2013/12/21/duck-bigotry-reality-star-dishes-on-why-gay-people-disgust-him-and-why-he-believes-black-people-were-happier-under-jim-crow/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

