Random Friday Thoughts — April 25, 2014

The weekend is here and that means, at least, two things:  my random Friday thoughts and two days off work.

Over the past two weekends, I had to work an extra day on one of them and I had two events to attend on behalf of work the other weekend.  However, it’s all about relaxing this weekend for me.  Enjoy yours and thank you for checking out my random thoughts today.

The Following S 2

Warning:  If you’re a fan of “The Following” and you haven’t watched this last episode, stop reading my blog when you get to the country music segment remembering a music star that recently died.

Translation:

spoiler-alert

I’m venting at the bottom of this blog about last Monday night’s episode and why I may not be following “The Following” next season!

PAT SAJAK, MAY I BUY A CLUE?

I’ve known who Pat Sajak is since I was a teenager and he started hosting the mega-popular game show, “Wheel of Fortune”.

sajak

Until last Friday, I didn’t know much more about him and didn’t really feel I needed to until he sent out this tweet.

PatSajak

At first glance, I thought it was interesting.  Then, I thought about it a little more and starting thinking that either he had had a few drinks or that he was being funny.

On closer examination of why he may have sent it, I thought that it was a way to express his conservatism.  It’s well-known that he’s right-wing, that he blogs for conservative websites, and he’s made many contributions to Republican political candidates.

I’ve concluded that it’s his way to offset all of the recent “coming out” stories by gay celebrities.

I was never a fan of Sajak’s, nor did I dislike him.  And, I still don’t dislike him.  Whatever his reason, this correspondence soothed my feathers a little.

Pat Follow

Tweet away, Pat.  You do your thing and I’ll do mine.

DO PEOPLE NEED TO “COME OUT”?

That last tweet I shared between Maliheh and Pat Sajak brings up a topic that I’ve talked about many times.  My headline on this random thought is ‘”Do People Need To “Come Out?”‘ and I’ll keep my answer short.  Yes!

daniel-franzese

Just this week, “Mean Girls” star Daniel Franzese came out as “gay”.

In February, “Juno” actress Ellen Page and college football player Michael Sam announced that they were gay, as did Olympic bronze medalist Tom Daley, this past December.

ellen-page-

Michael SamTom Daley

Yes, I think people need to come out as gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender, whether they’re celebrities or not.  While some may argue that it’s nobody’s business if someone is LGBT and that’s it personal.  That’s true.

But, coming from someone (me) that’s known he was gay since childhood, I know firsthand that everyone needs role models and someone who “feels” like they do or who are like them.

It’s a scary, lonely world when you think you’re alone.

Anthony April 1969

It’s a lot different today than in the late-1960s and early-1970s when I was looking for someone like me and someone to say, “Just be yourself” or “You’re not alone”.

SIR CLIFF RICHARD’S PERFECT RESPONSE

73-year-old English singer Cliff Richard has scored nine Top 40 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 here in the United States.

However, in the U.K., he’s charted an incredible 126 Top 40 hits since he first first appearance in 1958.  Of those hits, 69 reached the Top 10 and fourteen topped the chart.  And, just last fall, he released his 100th album.  That’s one reason that in England, he’s Sir Cliff Richard.

I’ve always been a fan of his music and, as a teenager, I didn’t know if he was married, gay or straight, or whatever.  All I know is that I loved his voice, he was cute, and he sang with Olivia Newton-John!

olivia_newtonjohn_cliff_richard-suddenly

Recently, he was on Australia’s “A Current Affair” and addressed why he never married and the rumors about his sexuality.

While having people to look up to is important, I loved his perfect response, “If I was gay, would it make any difference?  Would you not come to my concert if I was gay?”

Cliff_Richard

Here in the U.S., his highest charting hit was “Devil Woman”.  It reached #6 in 1976.

However, “We Don’t Talk Anymore”, which was released in late 1979, became his biggest selling song of all time with five million copies sold.   When the song spent two weeks at #7 in January 1980, Richard became the first artist to reach the Top 40 on the Hot 100 with songs in the 1950s, the 1960s, the 1970s, and the 1980s.

From that video, you can see why this 15-year-old (back in 1980) had the biggest crush on him.  That crush only intensified when he sang a duet, “Suddenly”, with Olivia Newton-John later that year!

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Boy ToyUdder

Earth Day

DID LINCOLN MAKE THE RIGHT DECISION WITH THE SOUTH?

Mrs. Betty Bowers, America’s Best Christian, takes a look at how the south differs from its counterparts across the rest of the country.

This is a hilarious look at a sad situation — and I grew up in the South!  (And, yes, this right ticked a couple of people off, but it’s humor!)

Mrs. Betty Bowers is played by Canadian comedian Deven Green, who now lives in Los Angeles.

CONGRATULATIONS JODIE FOSTER!

One of my favorites actresses is now a married woman and I wish the couple the very best of luck!

Jodie Foster Alexandra Hedison Marry

Last weekend, Oscar winner Jodie Foster married her girlfriend, Alexandra Hedison, in a private ceremony.

And, for those that thought Jodie’s acceptance speech at the Golden Globes in January 2013 was a little cryptic and wondered if she was “coming out”, I think she’s gay. 🙂

You can read about that night here and why I thought that speech was so powerful and why is was and wasn’t important.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2013/01/15/jodie-foster-coming-out-why-it-is-and-isnt-important/

“FROZEN” — NEWS WORTHY

Coming from this Quad Cities’ morning meteorologist, Bob Herzog is one of the funniest local news men on television.

He’s the traffic reporter and one of the morning anchors for Local 12, WKRC, Cincinnati’s CBS affiliate.  Bob also does a segment called “Dance Party Friday”.

Bob Herzog

Recently, he took advantage of the wicked winter weather and did this incredible parody to “Let It Go” from “Frozen”.

Bob is not only funny, but has an incredible voice.  Kudos!

“I’M A LITTLE BIT COUNTRY”

The country music world lost one its 1990s hit makers last weekend when 43-year-old Kevin Sharp died.

His mother stated the cause was “complications due to cancer” and his website added “ongoing complications from past stomach surgeries and digestive issues” as a cause.

Kevin Sharp

Sharp was diagnosed with a rare bone cancer when he was a teenager and was given little chance of survival.  He beat the odds, but continued to have problems with the radiation and chemotherapy treatments.

In 1996, he exploded on the country music scene and topped the chart with his first release, “Nobody Knows”.

The two follow-up, “She’s Sure Taking It Well” and “If You Love Somebody” peaked at #3 and #4 respectively in 1996 and 1997.  His last three singles failed to reach the Top 40 on the Billboard Country charts.

R.I.P. Kevin!

“THE FOLLOWING” SHOCKER BEFORE THE FINALE!

This your last chance to look away.

If you stop here, I appreciate you checking out my blog this week.  Enjoy the season finale of “The Following” Monday night.  I’m sure I will, too, with one exception!

spoiler_alert_300_w2

In season one of “The Following”, my favorite characters were Agent Mike Weston (Shawn Ashmore), Emma (Valorie Curry), Jacob (Nico Tortorella), and Paul (Adan Canto)!

Shawn AshmorePaul, Emma, & Jacob

Two of them didn’t make it to season two!

This season, my favorite characters are the two survivors from season one, Mike and Emma, along with Lily Gray (Connie Nielsen) and her two psychotic sons, Luke and Mark, played with amazing creepiness by English actor Sam Underwood (Zach Hamilton on the last season of “Dexter”).

The Following - Sam Underwood

So, I had this season all figured out going into the last three episodes of the season.  I knew it was going to come down to a confrontation between Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon) and Mike Weston and the villains: Joe Carroll (James Purefoy), Emma, Luke, Mark, and Lily.

Lily Gray

And, then Lily was murdered in the final minutes of the second episode from the finale!

I had to re-think my plan.  I knew that the twins would have to avenge their mother’s death, so they’d play a big role in the final two episodes.

Joe-Emma

In the first season, Emma was strong-willed and cold-hearted.  However, she was still vulnerable around Joe.  For much of this season, she was under-utilized and weak until the last couple of episodes when her iciness re-surfaced and I loved it.

Emma was beginning to doubt whether Joe had lost focus (he has) with this whole boring cult-loving, Bible-quoting, God-like vision he has of himself.

Joe  Emma Cult The Following

Since “The Following” was renewed for a third season, I saw Emma taking all she could take of Joe and his carelessness and killing him!  At that point, she and the twins would go on to terrorize Ryan, Mike, the FBI, and America next season.

However, that theory was shot to hell when Emma was brutally murdered in the final minutes of Monday’s episode by Joe Carroll’s ex-wife, Claire (Natalie Zea).  While I was shocked beyond belief with the killing, it was incredible drama!

The Following Silence

I know that Emma is dead, but if you’re holding out for the magic of television and drama to reveal that she’s alive, stop hoping!

Valorie Curry, who plays Emma, tells tvguide.com, “They really wanted to drive the point home.  It’s so funny, because people are on Twitter like, ‘She’s just in a coma! Maybe she’s alive.’ I’m like, she was stabbed, she was thrown out a window, and then staked like a vampire. There’s no coming back from impaling.”

R.I.P. Emma Hill!

Valorie Curry   The Following

Valorie Curry, you are amazing and thank you for the past two years!  Best wishes!

Now, what do I think will happen on the season two finale?

Joe will escape the church and be killed for real this time by Claire, who will be murdered by Tilda (Mackenzie Marsh), the Korben member and Joe Carroll follower.

Tilda

 

Carrie Cooke, the author and television reporter and Ryan’s love interest, will die.

Carrie Cooke

And, I think that Luke will also meet his death at the hands of Agent Weston as he tries to get revenge for Lily’s death.  And, since Lily told Mark, the sensitive twin, to “man up” right before she died, I think he’ll survive and wreak havoc in season three.

following Mark

Stay tuned.  The season finale is Monday night, 10 Eastern/9 Central, on Fox!

Have a great weekend and thank you for checking out my random thoughts.

Anthony

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love reading your blogs, and this one is no exception but when I saw the McDonalds thing about the boy toy I laughed so hard. That was funny! Have a great weekend my friend!

    Reply

    • Cathy,

      Thank you very much for the kind words and for checking out my thoughts. I got a kick out of that one, too, and wanted to share it.

      You guys have a great weekend, too!

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

