“The Following” Shocks Before The Finale

The season two finale of “The Following” is tonight on Fox.

The Following S 2

I’m very excited to see how it all goes down, but I’d definitely not happy with something that transpired in the last episode.  In today’s blog, I’m venting about that and why I may not be following “The Following” next season!  (Okay, I’ll be watching the third season.  I’m just venting!)

Warning:  If you’re a fan of “The Following” and you haven’t watched this last episode, this blog does contain spoilers!

spoiler-alert

This your last chance to look away.

If you stop here, enjoy the season finale of “The Following” tonight.  I’m sure I will, too, with one exception!

spoiler_alert_300_w2

In season one of “The Following”, my favorite characters were Agent Mike Weston (Shawn Ashmore), Emma (Valorie Curry), Jacob (Nico Tortorella), and Paul (Adan Canto)!

Shawn Ashmore

Paul, Emma, & Jacob

Two of them didn’t make it to season two!

This season, my favorite characters are the two survivors from season one, Mike and Emma, along with Lily Gray (Connie Nielsen) and her two psychotic sons, Luke and Mark, played with amazing creepiness by English actor Sam Underwood (Zach Hamilton on the last season of “Dexter”).

The Following - Sam Underwood

So, I had this season all figured out going into the last three episodes of the season.  I knew it was going to come down to a confrontation between Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon) and Mike Weston and the villains: Joe Carroll (James Purefoy), Emma, Luke, Mark, and Lily.

Lily Gray

And, then Lily was murdered in the final minutes of the second episode from the finale!

I had to re-think my plan.  I knew that the twins would have to avenge their mother’s death, so they’d play a big role in the final two episodes.

Joe-Emma

In the first season, Emma was strong-willed and cold-hearted.  However, she was still vulnerable around Joe.  For much of this season, she was under-utilized and weak until the last couple of episodes when her iciness re-surfaced and I loved it.

Emma was beginning to doubt whether Joe had lost focus (he has) with this whole boring cult-loving, Bible-quoting, God-like vision he has of himself.

Joe  Emma Cult The Following

Since “The Following” was renewed for a third season, I saw Emma taking all she could take of Joe and his carelessness and killing him!  At that point, she and the twins would go on to terrorize Ryan, Mike, the FBI, and America next season.

However, that theory was shot to hell when Emma was brutally murdered in the final minutes of Monday’s episode by Joe Carroll’s ex-wife, Claire (Natalie Zea).  While I was shocked beyond belief with the killing, it was incredible drama!

The Following Silence

I know that Emma is dead, but if you’re holding out for the magic of television and drama to reveal that she’s alive, stop hoping!

Valorie Curry, who plays Emma, tells tvguide.com, “They really wanted to drive the point home.  It’s so funny, because people are on Twitter like, ‘She’s just in a coma! Maybe she’s alive.’ I’m like, she was stabbed, she was thrown out a window, and then staked like a vampire. There’s no coming back from impaling.”

R.I.P. Emma Hill!

Valorie Curry   The Following

Valorie Curry, you are amazing and thank you for the past two years!  Best wishes!

Now, what do I think will happen on the season two finale?

Joe will escape the church and be killed for real this time by Claire, who will be murdered by Tilda (Mackenzie Marsh), the Korben member and Joe Carroll follower.

Tilda

Carrie Cooke, the author and television reporter and Ryan’s love interest, will die.

Carrie Cooke

And, I think that Luke will also meet his death at the hands of Agent Weston as he tries to get revenge for Lily’s death.  And, since Lily told Mark, the sensitive twin, to “man up” right before she died, I think he’ll survive and wreak havoc in season three.

following Mark

Stay tuned.  The season finale is Monday night, 10 Eastern/9 Central, on Fox!

I’ve heard from several of the actors that three different endings were shot and that they don’t even know how the second season will end.

Anthony

P.S.  If you’re still in shock over Emma’s death and are big fans of Mike and the twins, here are a couple of fun pictures to get us over the grief of Emma and that will help melt away the cold and snow that the actors are dealing with in the last few episodes of “The Following”.

Shawn Ashmore in Cosmo

double-the-fun

 

Leave a Reply

