50th Birthday Plans Revealed!

A milestone birthday is coming up for me in less than two months.  I’ve been living my life planning on this for almost 50 years now.

Dessie-Hollie-Anthony -- Fall 1964

My mother didn’t get that opportunity and my father barely made it.  She died at 47 (in 1990) and he passed away at 55 (in 1987).

So, what’s a few wrinkles and a head full of gray hair?  I never had a six-pack stomach, so as I get old/older, I don’t have to worry about losing that.  And, I can’t be all that disappointed that I have to work a little harder to keep the slowing metabolism in check.

AP 1st Birthday

While I definitely love cake, even that boring white cake for my first birthday in 1965 (Happy Birthday Crystal!), there’s a chance that I won’t have a cake this year — unless I have it early or late.

Since you only turn 50 once, Ray and I decided to make both of  our “nifty fifty” birthdays memorable.  Last year, he celebrated with a Danube River cruise that allowed us to spend a day in Zurich, Switzerland, and to visit Hungary, Slovakia, Austria, and Germany.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since then, we’ve been saving our pennies (okay, mostly dollars) to make another international trip to celebrate my 50th.

However, the second part of that trip may now be in jeopardy due to missiles, bombs, bullets and bloodshed.  While we’re not changing the itinerary just yet, a back-up plan is being considered.   More on that shortly.

When we started planning the trip, it was going to be an overnight flight from the United States to the Mediterranean destination of my dreams with a plane transfer and four hours of sit-time in Paris, France.

Dreams of wine, cheese, and pastries began filling my head.

Pastries

At that point, we decided instead of spending seven nights on the Mediterranean Sea, we could spend three nights in Paris and hit two continents!

Picnic

So, now I plan on spending my birthday sitting in a park having a picnic of wine, cheese, fruit, bread, and pastries in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower — rain or shine!

eiffel-tower-at-night-with-moon

While Ray and I each paid for the trip, I already know what my birthday present is from him — a Sunday evening that includes a three-course dinner cruise on the Seine River, a one-hour visit to second floor of the Eiffel Tower to look out over Paris, and an evening at the world-renowned Moulin Rouge!!!

Now, about my original 50th birthday destination spot before Paris crashed the party!  I’ve always wanted to visit Tel Aviv, Israel, the fifth most visited city in the Middle East on the beautiful Mediterranean Sea.

Tel Aviv Mediterranean Sea

Tel Aviv is known for its dynamic atmosphere and famous 24-hour culture earning it the nickname, “party capital”.

It’s also known as “The City That Never Sleeps”, “The Bubble”, and “The White City” (for the more than 4,000 buildings built-in a unique style from 1930s German-Jewish architects and, yes, the buildings are white!).

Tel Aviv

Since Tel Aviv is Israel’s financial capital and is compared to New York City, it’s also nicknamed “The Big Orange”, because of the famous Jaffe (now a part of Tel Aviv) orange — a very sweet, almost seedless fruit similar to the Valencia orange.

We booked this trip back in January, but once the Israel-Gaza conflict started back in early July, which has led to bombings and missile strikes that have claimed more than 2,000 lives, mostly in Gaza, we thought about choosing another destination.

However, Tel Aviv is still the safest city in Israel and we’re still going.

So, that is how I plan on spending the last days of my 40s and the first few days of my 50s.

In the words of French poet, novelist, and dramatist of the Romantic movement, Victor Hugo, “forty is the old age of youth; fifty is the youth of old age”.

Anthony

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Delores Horrell on August 22, 2014 at 6:32 am

    Go for it, Anthony. I can recommend Paris highly. I am also going on a river cruise to Russia this fall as a 50th b-day present to myself and things are iffy there, too, but unless travel is restricted I am going!

    Reply

    • Delores,

      Happy 50th! When is the special day?

      Have a great time on the River Cruise to Russia? Is it Gate 1? The Gate 1 cruise we took last year for Ray’s 50th was great.

      Like you, we’re going unless travel is restricted.

      I can’t wait to see pictures this fall.

      AP

      Reply

  2. Anthony- you look amazing for 50! May all of your dreams come true – here’s to another 50 years!!! cheers!!!! 🙂 cyndi

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cathy Henderson on August 22, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Sounds absolutely amazing! I hope you have a 50th birthday as terrific as you are and you get all your heart desires! Oh and may I say you are very attractive for turning 50! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Connie Huizenga on August 22, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    Love, love, love the way you are celebrating your birthdays and especially the milestone birthdays. Each birthday we are able to celebrate is the ultimate gift. Enjoy. Live it up. Make memories.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sandy Tooley on August 22, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    I am so jealous of your travel plans. A 50th birthday is a big deal and should be celebrated! Truly enjoy and take in the beauty and joy of the time together with Ray.

    Reply

  6. Posted by susan c meador on August 23, 2014 at 6:34 am

    A Very happy Birthday!!What an awesome birthday u all have planned..soo cool!1have a great one!!Loved reading this too!!

    Reply

  7. […] « 50th Birthday Plans Revealed! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

