My 20 Favorite Janet Jackson Songs

Janet Jackson’s first headlining concert tour was 1990’s “Rhythm Nation World Tour”.  Since then, she’s embarked on six more world tours.

JanetJackson

The North American first leg of her latest, the “Unbreakable World Tour”, is down to eight shows following some recent postponed shows to rest her vocal cords.

Lucky for me, her first show back is tonight in Omaha, Nebraska, and I’ll experience my first Janet Jackson show.  So, to entertain myself (and hopefully, you), I’m sharing my 20 favorite Janet hits from all of her Billboard Hot 100, R&B, or Dance Club Song chart entries.

“I hope you enjoy this as much as I do/Are we ready?/I am ’cause it`s all about control/And I’ve got lots of it”.

Okay, those are lyrics from Janet’s 1987 Top 5 Hot 100 hit “Control, which also topped Billboard’s R&B/Hip Hop and the Billboard Dance Club Songs chart.  While a fantastic song, it didn’t crack my Top 20!

Let the countdown begin.

20

“AGAIN” (1993)

19

“RUNAWAY” (1995)

#18

“JUST A LITTLE WHILE” (2004)

#17

“I GET SO LONELY” (1998) 

16

“BECAUSE OF LOVE” (1994)

15

“GO DEEP” (1998)

#14 Movie

“THE PLEASURE PRINCIPLE” (1987)

13

“LET’S WAIT AWHILE” (1987)

12

“ALL FOR YOU” (2001)

11

“BURNITUP!” (2015)

10

“THAT’S THE WAY LOVE GOES” (1993)

9 CD

“THROB” (1994)

8

“TOGETHER AGAIN” (1997)

7

“IF” (1993)

6'eren_RGB_FINAL

“MISS YOU MUCH” (1989)

#5 MOVIE

“NASTY” (1986)

#4 CD

“ESCAPADE” (1990)

green 3

“LOVE WILL NEVER DO (WITHOUT YOU) (1990)

2

“WHEN I THINK OF YOU” (1986)

#1 MOVIE

“WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR ME LATELY”

MY LOVE FOR “WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR ME LATELY”

That song was so popular back in 1986 when I started going out to the clubs in Kentucky and we’d be jamming to it as we got ready to go out on the town.  It’s still my favorite Janet Jackson song.

This past summer when Janet announced the “Unbreakable World Tour”, it was featured in our entertainment report on “Local 4 News This Morning” in the Quad Cities of Iowa and Illinois.  (By the way, Janet is coming here to Moline in June 2016!)

So, spontaneously, I started doing the Janet and Paula Abdul video introduction to “What Have You Done For Me Lately” from the diner.

You’ll have to forgive me because we were running out of time and I hadn’t seen the video introduction in decades, so I left out one line and changed a word.

But, it showed my love for Miss Jackson and it’s the thought that counts. 🙂

So, what are your favorite Janet songs?  Let me know.

Anthony

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

