Adele “25” is Almost Perfect

It should come as a no shock that Adele is the hottest thing on the planet right now and that will not be changing through Christmas.

“25”, the much-anticipated follow-up to her January 2011 album “21” came out last Friday and in just the first three days, it’s already the biggest selling album of 2015, surpassing Taylor Swift’s “1989”, last year’s top-selling album.

adele

Now we don’t even have to wait for the final numbers for the first week of sales to break records here in America.

As of Monday, “25” has sold 2.433 million copies in just four days — the most since Nielsen SoundScan started electronically monitoring sales data back in 1991!

This beats “No Strings Attached” by *NSYNC, which had held the record since March 2000.  That album sold 2.416 million in its first week.

Adele had already beat the previous leader in the female department, which was “Oops!… I Did It Again” by Britney Spears.  It sold 1.319 million copies in the first week in May 2000.

Also, Adele is likely to have the fastest selling album ever in the U.K., too.  In three days there, the album is already at 500,000 copies sold.  The leader, since 1997, is Oasis’ “Be Here Now”.  It sold  696,000 in the first week.

“Hello”, the lead single from “25”, has already been downloaded 2.55 million times here in the U.S., is the most played song in America, and has topped the Billboard Hot 100 for four weeks now and counting.

That song is so elegant and haunting.

I bought the standard edition with 11 songs.  After hearing it, I wish I had bought the “deluxe” version with three more songs!

My favorite song after the first few listens is “Remedy”.

And, my other favorites that are perfect, in addition to “Hello” and “Remedy”, are “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)”, “When We Were Young”, “Water Under The Bridge” “I Miss You”, and “All I Ask”.

As you see, I titled my blog, “Adele ’25’ is Almost Perfect”.

The reason I say that is because growing up, I’d say “that’s my favorite song”.  My grandmother would reply, “They’re all your favorite songs”.

So, I have to admit that the first six songs on the album are pure bliss.  You’re transported to another world if you close your eyes and all of your troubles are gone while listening to “25”.

At that point, “River Lea”, comes on.  Don’t get me wrong.  It’s a great song, but if I had to choose my least favorite from the album after the first few listens, it’d be this one.

But, it may catch on with me.

adele

“25” will shatter records through the holidays and beyond.

If you don’t buy this album for yourself, chances are someone will be getting it for you for Christmas!

GRADE:

A

By the way, Adele’s last effort, “21”, was the best-selling album of both 2011 (5.82 million copies) and 2012 (4.42 million more) here in the U.S.

I have no doubt that “25” will follow in its footprints and surpass it.

Anthony

One response to this post.

  1. […] Here’s what I wrote about the album in November:  https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2015/11/24/adele-25-is-almost-perfect/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

