Why We Should Fear Marco Rubio

Florida Republican U.S. Senator Marco Rubio saw a surge in his political profile after last Monday’s Iowa Caucus.

Marco Rubio

He finished third, but it was a major boost to the candidate that had taken a back seat to blowhards Donald Trump and Ted Cruz in the campaign.

However, now that the spotlight is on the rising young star, he might be cracking a bit under the pressure.  In a debate Saturday night before the upcoming New Hampshire Primary, Rubio got frustrated over badgering from New Jersey Governor Chris Christie.

It prompted Christie to comment, “he gets very unruly when he gets off his talking points.”

Christie is on to something here and Rubio will be the first to tell you that he gets agitated easily and when confronted, he loses it.  He confessed that, as much, in his book, “An American Son”.

I just read it and I enjoyed it.  I’ll have more on that book and the introduction to his family, but first I want to focus on why I think Rubio is not right for America.  Actually, why he scares me and should scare you.

WHY RUBIO SCARES ME…

There are reasons more than being anti-gay.

Overall, I enjoyed getting to know Rubio over 307 pages.  However, I have a couple of issues with his own trustworthiness.

In a recent Republican debate, in his commercials, and in his speech last week after the Iowa Caucus, Rubio bashed Hillary Clinton over honesty.

president-hillary

Yet, nowhere in the book did he mention that he was arrested in a Florida park after hours in 1990 on a misdemeanor charge, yet he shared getting sick on vodka shots on a plane and vomiting on a high-ranking person in the Republican party, talked about going to “foam party” in clubs, and other things he did when he was younger.  Yet, no mention of the arrest?

And, then there’s the issue that his parents were Cuban exiles that immigrated to the United States in 1956 instead of 1959, when the guerrilla war reached its peak and Fidel Castro took office as prime minister.

He only “learned” of this when newspapers reported the inaccuracies???  As detailed as the book was, I find it hard to believe this only surfaced once it went public!

So, who has trust issues, Mr. Rubio?

Marco Rubio

In a recent blog, in an effort be more diversified, I crossed the aisle and read Mike Huckabee’s “Do The Right Thing”.  After the Prologue, his close-mindedness bored me.

I also said “Move on Mike.  Your 2016 presidential run is DOA and Iowa doesn’t love you like it did in 2008.  Go home to your family and retire.”  While I can’t take credit for it, his abysmal showing in the Iowa Caucus earlier this week prompted him to suspend his run for president that never really a “run”.  It was more like a limp.

Now about Rubio’s “An American Son”.

It was a much better book and story than Huckabee’s.  In an alternate universe (where Rubio liked gay families and didn’t use the word “conservative” like it was dirty), I could see liking the man.

Just based on the book, I would love to sit down and have dinner with him and his wife Jeanette to show them that I pray to God every night and I’m a kind and loving person that just happens not to fit into the “conservative values” circle.

I enjoyed hearing about his wonderful parents and their struggles leaving Cuba and working all their lives to give their kids a life they didn’t have.

Rubio told a very touching story about a struggling woman looking into the eyes of her newborn child, just your parents did to you.  His “people” (inner political handlers) didn’t want him to tell the story even though it was very heartfelt.  The reason?  It’d make sound like a Democrat!  If human = Democrat, I have two things going for me.

By the way, his wife, Jeanette was touched by it and wanted him to tell that story.  That’s another reason I think I’d like her.

Rubio also spoke about the 2008 election when Barack Obama won.  He became teary-eyed because of the significance of an African American being elected to the highest office in the most powerful country in the world.  That night he “was so proud to be an American”.  He knew he’d have plenty of time to fight the president to turn the country around because it was heading in the “wrong direction”.

CarterPres

I disagree with Rubio on his anti-Jimmy Carter sentiments he learned his grandfather.  Jimmy Carter is still my favorite president that was dealt a bad hand while in office.

Also, we’re at odds when he stated that the way Bill Clinton’s administration handled the Elian Gonzales case “arguably, it cost Al Gore the election” in 2000.

Arguably is right.  We know how that election was lost — Republican shadiness in Florida — “arguably”!

So, the bottom line is, I really want to like Rubio.  But, I’m not willing to give back the rights and happiness I’ve been given over the past few years as an American.

Anthony

 

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

