Ready To Really Like Carly Rae Jepsen in NYC

The weekend is almost here and I hope it’s a fun one for you.  It’s also Easter weekend.  Happy Easter!

ABBAEaster2001

Easter gives me a chance to share this cute picture of Miss ABBA, who’s probably enjoying Easter egg hunts across the rainbow bridge.

Depending on the time of day you read this (and United Airlines), we’re likely on the way to Chicago or already in New York City for a few days. This is Gretel’s Christmas present.

We’ll do the touristy things, eat great food, and see a Broadway show, “Disaster!”.

However, the weekend kicks off tonight with my choice for a fun New York City time — Carly Rae Jepsen in concert! Cardiknox and Fairground Saints will be joining her.

carly-rae-jepsen

So, in honor of the headliner, here are my 15 favorite Carly Rae Jepsen songs and I’ll hear many of them since the “Gimme Love Tour” is promoting the “Emotion” album.

It was one of my favorites CDs of 2015.  Get it now if you don’t already have it!

carly-rae-jepsen-emotion

15

“TURN ME UP” (CD:  “KISS”)

#14 Movie

“BOY PROBLEMS” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

13

“BLACK HEART” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

12

“THIS KISS” (CD:  “KISS”)

#11 Movie

“HURT SO GOOD” (CD:  “KISS”)

10

“CURIOSITY” (CD:  “KISS”)

#9 MOVIE

“GOOD TIME” (WITH OWL CITY) (CD:  “KISS”)

8

“YOUR TYPE” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

#7 CD

“WARM BLOOD” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

#6 CD

“RUN AWAY WITH YOU” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

5

“CALL ME MAYBE” (CD:  “KISS”)

4

“GIMME LOVE” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

#3 CD

“I REALLY LIKE YOU” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

#2 MOVIE

“I DIDN’T JUST COME HERE TO DANCE” (CD:  “EMOTION”)

#1

“TONIGHT I’M GETTING OVER YOU” (CD:  “KISS”)

 

CARDIKNOX

The Los Angeles-based duo Cardiknox (Thomas Dutton and Lonnie Angle) just released their major label debut, “Portrait”.

It’s a great album full of synth and electronic vibes that take you back to the 1980s with a current day rock feel.

Right now, my favorite song on the album is still “On My Own” because it was the song that introduced me to the group and I’ve watched the incredibly choreographed video so many times.

I also like “Wild Child”, an energetic anthem that makes no apologies for being young and being yourself.

However, the more I listen to “Portrait”, I think my favorite jams will be “Bloodlust” and “Supermodel”.

Both take me back to the “new wave” and punk days of the late-1970s and early-1980s when bands like  Berlin, Missing Persons, X, Blondie and the Go-Gos were making inroads to success in popular music.

Can’t wait to see Lonnie and Thomas open for Carly Rae.

FAIRGROUND SAINTS

Carly Rae definitely picked two of Los Angeles’ finest to open for her on the tour with Cardiknox and the trio, Fairground Saints (Mason Van Valin, Megan McAllister, and Elijah Edwards).

While I like many genres of music (dance, electronic, pop, country, and soul), Fairground Saints doesn’t box themselves into one category.  On their self-titled album, which came out last August, you get a strong feel of folk, country, and gospel.

I’ll probably embarrass my soon-to-be 15-year-old daughter, Gretel, by singing along and dancing to Carly Rae, but I know she’s going to love the smooth, alternative sound of Fairground Saints.

Here’s to a fun Friday night at Terminal 5 in New York City with Carly Rae Jepsen, Cardiknox, and Fairground Saints.

Anthony

Leave a Reply

