Random Friday Thoughts — August 12, 2016

The weekend is here!  While I love what I do, I love my weekends even more.  Okay, I love vacations, desserts, and buffets even more than just weekends. 🙂

Whatever you have planned this weekend, enjoy it.

Thank you for checking out my “Random Friday Thoughts”.  As always, we don’t have to agree on everything, we just have to disagree diplomatically.

2016 SUMMER OLYMPICS WOES

When it was announced that Rio de Janeiro won the bid to host the 2016 Summer Olympics, I thought it was a bad idea.  My first thought was crime.

But, now that the games are underway, many stories coming out of Brazil are about the dirty, unhealthy waters polluted with trash, dead animals, and God only knows what else!

Rio Water.jpg

This is Guanabara Bay on the coastal Atlantic.  It’s also where the Olympic sailing events take place.  It’s not only polluted with trash, but also with raw sewage.

Eeew, no thanks!

SOME OLYMPICS FANS CAN BE DISGUSTING, TOO!

While I wish the American athletes the very best in bringing home plenty of gold, silver, and bronze, I’m dismayed and disgusted with the abuse being directed toward LGBT athletes.

Megan Rapinoe, the midfielder for the U.S. Women’s National Soccer team, is one of 44 openly LGBT athletes at the games.

Megan

Last week, many people heard the word “bicha” (roughly translates to the derogatory f-word used to describe a gay man) chanted at both the U.S vs. New Zealand and the Australia vs. Canada  women’s soccer games.

Rapinoe says it was “personally hurtful”.  She adds, “They need to understand if all of you are willing to do that, what does that say to a gay player? Especially in the men’s game. What does that say to players who are struggling to come out?”

She goes on to say, “I don’t think that all Brazilians fans or everyone that was there last night is homophobic.  But I think that they are complicit in it as long as they’re doing it.”

AND, LET’S NOT FORGET NBC SPORTS!

When Brazilian beach volleyball player Larissa Franca and her sports partner beat Team USA in a match, Larissa went into the crowd and hugged her wife.

NBC Sports

However, NBC Sports commentator Chris Marlowe stated, “That is her husband.  She married Lili in 2013.”

“Husband?”  How offensive!

When two women are married, the other partner is referred to as a “wife”.  When you talk of Ray, you would refer to him as my “husband”.  Is that so difficult?

Marlowe did issue a half-assed apology, “I’m sorry for the mistake today.  Clearly, Liliane is Larissa’s wife.”

RACISM AND LACK OF HARMONY

After comedian and “Ghostbusters” star Leslie Jones suspended her Twitter account last month because of ignorant, racist comments and rants, Normani Kordei of the all-female group Fifth Harmony is following suit.

Normani

This past weekend, she posted on her account, “Over the course of this last week and especially over the last 48 hours I’ve not just been cyber bullied, I’ve been racially cyber bullied with tweets and pictures so horrific and racially charged that I can’t subject myself any longer to hate.”

She went on to say, “I’m not the first black female celebrity to deal with this and I’m sure I won’t be the last.”

Haters, wake the hell up!  This is not the 1800s or, even, the 1960s.  People need to expand their minds and not just open their mouths!

Normani, I’m with you and all of your sisters in harmony!  I can’t wait for your return.

Meanwhile, I’m loving “7/27”, the latest Fifth Harmony album and their current Top Ten hit, “All In My Head (Flex)”.

LESS POLITICAL — FOR NOW

Now that Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump are the two major party candidates for this year’s presidential election, I’m going to TRY to refrain from political talk — for now.

Anthony NOH8

The reason is that I don’t have one good thing to say about Trump and his vile attitude toward <insert group here>.

I know it’s going to be really hard especially when crazy stuff just comes out of Trump’s mouth daily — the second amendment/assassination off-the-cuff comment earlier this week comes to mind!

I live in the real world and I know there are many that don’t like Hillary.

HIllary Flag

With that being said, elections shouldn’t be about the lesser of two evils.  However, we don’t have a political system where there are three or four parties that have a real chance of winning.

Yes, I know that Gary Johnson and Jill Stein are running, but they really only serve as vote stealers from Clinton and Trump.

“FIGHT SONG 2.0”

So, with those comments, I’m sharing this video.  Originally, it was just an inspiring song by Rachel Platten that hit the Top Ten at radio last summer.

Now, in the hands of Platten and Hillary supporter and “Pitch Perfect” director/actress Elizabeth Banks, it has a much different sound and meaning.

Even if you’re not a Hillary supporter, it’s still a very cool Hollywood production if you like a cappella.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

Psycho

READY FOR FALL?

While I’ve enjoyed the pool time and having a nice tan, I’m ready for fall and winter.  I’m so ready to catch up on movies and to binge watch several television series.

Also, speaking of fall, are you ready for this year’s seasonal M&M’s?

Boo Scotch

 

“White BOO-terscotch” will be a combination of “the scary good flavors of butterscotch and white chocolate for the perfect seasonal treat”.  It’ll be found exclusively at Target.

Pecan Pie M&amp;M

Pecan Pie and Candy Corn flavors will also return along with a harvest blend version of Crispy S’mores!

AND, HERE’S SOMETHING A LITTLE FISHY!

The new Oreo flavor this fall at Kroger:  Swedish Fish!

SF Oreos

I’ve never been a big fan of the candies, but Ray loves them.  So, if we buy them, he can have the whole bag, minus one or two, of course.  I’ll have to try them!

PICK HIT

It’s hard to believe that Usher exploded onto the music scene almost twenty years ago with his #1 hit, “You Make Me Wanna…” in 1997.

He’s now topped the charts 22 times!

I love Usher’s “Yeah”, “Love in This Club”,  “OMG”, “DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love”, and “Without You”, but I didn’t like “I Don’t Mind”, his song with Juicy J in 2014, at all.

His latest, “Crash”, is already one of my favorite songs of 2016.

This is the second release from his upcoming album, “Flawed”, which has no solid release date yet.

REBA FLASHBACK #1

Reba is currently performing with Brooks & Dunn is Las Vegas in a very successful residency at Caesars Palace.

20160731_145128.jpg

That’s where you’ll have to catch her since country radio pretty much ignored her last studio album, 2015’s “Love Somebody”.

Reba Love Somebody

Twelve years ago this week, Reba scored her 23rd #1 song on the Billboard Country charts with “Somebody”, one of my favorite Reba videos.  I’m such a romantic!

Since then, she’s topped the Country charts two more times:  “Consider Me Gone” (four weeks, 2010) and “Turn on the Radio” (one week, 2011).

REBA FLASHBACK #2

And, it was 29 years ago this week that Reba topped the country chart with my absolute favorite of all of her hits,  “One Promise Too Late”.

Country radio, play the new country that Reba releases and I’ll gladly start listening to the genre again!

THAT’S IT

With all the craziness in the world, make it the best in your little part of it!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

