My 20 Favorite Dixie Chicks Songs

I’ve never met Natalie Maines of the Dixie Chicks, yet I have a connection (okay, two or three).

natalie

When I took my second television job in Lubbock, Texas, (Natalie’s hometown),  in 1997, as a reporter and Saturday anchor at the CBS affiliate, her sister, Kim, was the 10 p.m. weekday producer.  What a sweetheart!

1997 was also the year that Natalie and sisters Martie Maguire and Emily Robison exploded onto the country music scene with “I Can Love You Better”, which went on to reach #7 on the Billboard Country chart.

dc

Their debut album, “Wide Open Spaces”, has now sold over twelve million copies in the U.S. alone and generated four more Top Ten hits (three of them topped the country charts).

If you’re a fan of the Dixie Chicks, you know they paid the price for being openly honest about then President George W. Bush in 2003 as America moved closer to war with Iraq.

Today’s blog isn’t about that, but I’ll share the blog I wrote about it here:

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/04/12/a-nation-at-war-abroad-on-country-radio-as-a-statue-topples/

dc-2016-tour

As the Dixie Chicks get ready to play the Quad Cities Thursday night in Moline at the iWireless Center, I’m counting down my twenty favorite Dixie Chicks songs.  Let me tell you, narrowing it down to twenty was hard!

By the way, here’s another connection I have to Natalie. 🙂  We feel the same way about Donald Trump (GRRRRRR)!

Natalie

Now, my Top 20 Dixie Chicks songs.

#20

“THE LONG WAY AROUND”

#19

“WHITE TRASH WEDDING”

#18

“BITTER END”

17

“A HOME”

16

“TRUTH NO. 2”

15

“COWBOY TAKE ME AWAY”

#14 Movie

“WITHOUT YOU”

#13

“TOP OF THE WORLD”

12

“I CAN LOVE YOU BETTER”

#11 Movie

“READY TO RUN”

#10 MOVIE

“SIN WAGON”

9 CD

“THERE’S YOUR TROUBLE”

#8 CD

“LONG TIME GONE”

#7 CD

“TRAVELIN’ SOLDIER”

6

“I HOPE”

5

“EASY SILENCE”

4

“TONIGHT THE HEARTACHE’S ONE ME”

#3 CD

“IF I FALL YOU’RE GOING DOWN WITH ME”

#2 CD

“SOME DAYS YOU GOTTA DANCE”

#1

“NOT READY TO MAKE NICE”

So, there you have my twenty favorites.

As I wrap up here, I do think too much.

Natalie and I have yet another connection, we’re both Libras — born almost on the same day many years apart (me on October 13 and Natalie on October 14th ten years later!)

By the way, Martie was also almost born on my birthday, too, five years later on October 12th!

So, happy belated birthday Emily and happy birthday early Martie and Natalie!

Anthony

Leave a Reply

