My 20 Favorites From the Brilliant Pet Shop Boys

UPDATE:  TONIGHT!

I’m just days away from seeing my first Pet Shop Boys concert and I’m so excited.  I’ve only waited thirty years for this.

Pet Shop Boys, Electric

Saturday night, I’ll be seeing Neil and Chris from the second row in Chicago, Illinois.  I’ve never had concert tickets this close!

super-tour

The “Super Tour” kicked off on my birthday (October 13) in Chile and the North American leg started in Las Vegas about a week later.  It’ll continue through the end of November before moving to Europe.

Sadly, American radio audiences only got a sample of the brilliance of the Pet Shop Boys.  The duo only charted six Top 40 songs on the Billboard Hot 100, but five hit the Top Ten.

Their chart run started with the #1 hit “West End Girls” in May 1986 and ended with the #18 smash “Domino Dancing” in December 1988.

That’s really sad because the Pet Shop Boys have consistently released incredible music in the past twenty-five years.

Pet-Shop-Boys-Electric-CD

“Electric, which came out in 2013 was one of my favorite albums of the year.

Here’s what I wrote at the time:  “Unless you’re a die-hard fan, many people think that when an act releases their twelfth studio album of original songs that the music may be stale.  It’s also true that many artists play things safe and produce the same music they did when they released their first album.  That is definitely not the case with “Electric”, the latest Pet Shop Boys album.”

And, this year’s “Super” is that and more.

In honor of Neil and Chris, here are my twenty favorites Pet Shop Boys songs (not just hits) so far.  I say “so far” because I know there’s more incredible music to come.

20

“IT’S ALRIGHT”

19

“YOU ONLY TELL ME YOU LOVE ME WHEN YOU’RE DRUNK”

#18

“RENT”

17

“HAPPINESS”

16

“I WANT A LOVER”

#15 Movie

“WAS IT WORTH IT?”

#14 Movie

“PAZZO!”

13

“NEW YORK CITY BOY”

12

“I WOULDN’T NORMALLY DO THIS KIND OF THING”

11

“AXIS”

10

“LOVE COMES QUICKLY”

9 CD

“WHERE THE STREETS HAVE NO NAMES”

#8 CD

“THE POP KIDS”

#7 CD

“VOCAL”

#6 CD

“THURSDAY”

#5 MOVIE

“HEART”

4

“IT’S A SIN”

green 3

“WHAT HAVE I DONE TO DESERVE THIS?”

#2 MOVIE

“ALWAYS ON MY MIND”

#1

“WEST END GIRLS”

I’m ready to party with the Pet Shop Boys this weekend and “burn this disco down before the morning comes”!

Anthony

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] « My 20 Favorites From the Brilliant Pet Shop Boys […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

