Merry Xmas (Christmas) To All

I guess you can say the holiday season is here — trick-or-treating is behind us and the electoral college picked its next president of the United States since the candidate with a two million vote lead didn’t win!

Tomorrow, we’ll be sitting down and enjoying Thanksgiving feasts with our families and friends.

Our Turkey 2012

People are decorating their homes, writing out Christmas cards, and making holiday gift lists and checking them twice.

Meanwhile, radio stations are transitioning from their tired playlists to treat us with holiday standards while sprinkling in a few new offerings of Christmas musical cheer.

This year, I added “Glow” by Brett Eldredge and Kacey Musgraves’ “A Very Kacey Christmas”  — both country selections — to my Christmas musical library.

I’d recommend both of them, but avoid the new Straight No Chaser Christmas offering.  Pick up their first album, 2008’s “Holiday Spirits” or “Under The Influence:  Holiday Edition” instead.

Yet, I know I’ll resort to listening to The Carpenters’ “Christmas Portrait” (1978) , Michael Buble “Christmas” (2011), Mariah Carey “Merry Christmas” (1994), and Reba McEntire’s “Merry Christmas to You” (1987) and “The Secret of Giving:  A Christmas Collection” (1999) over and over again.

I love Christmas music so much that I could listen to it year around.

Christmas is just so magical.  I’m mesmerized by the twinkling of the lights and I love holidays parties. I can’t get enough of the appetizers and the baked goodies — the cookies, fudge and divinity, and even the fruitcake!

funny_fruitcake

Each year, my Christmas cards are mailed the day before Thanksgiving to begin the trek across the country.

Xmas.jpg

I’m smiling now because I’m sure someone has already commented on Facebook where the link to this blog was first posted because I put Xmas in the title line.

I know that many people get their tinsel all twisted (that’s a Christmas way of saying “get their panties in a wad”) when they see “Merry Xmas”!

christ-in-chrismas

They say that writing Xmas takes Christ out of “Christmas”.  After all, he’s the reason for the season!

The whole Christ, Christmas, and Xmas debate got me to thinking.

People get so up in arms about leaving “Christ” in “Christmas”, yet many of those same people claiming to be Christians and living for the Lord can be so hateful and judgmental.

All of a sudden it hit me.  Maybe these same people should take a moment to put Christ back into Christian”! At that point, I decided to write about it and I really thought I was on to something.

As Indiana’s governor, we had Vice President-elect Mike Pence doing all he could do to be discriminatory to LGBT people in his state until businesses started moving out (or threatening to) and it cost Indiana money.

Pence

He’s one of those people — “Christians”.  Note there that “Christians” is in quotation marks. They are the ones that use religion to hate or discriminate — “Christians”.

Then there are those that love and live for the Lord that also love their fellow man for who they are.  They are the true Christians!

As someone who doesn’t believe in “organized religion”, but prays to God and believes in a higher power, I’m all about loving the Lord and trying to live the best life I can.

However, when you “religious freedom” to hate, I don’t think my Lord would like that very much.

pence-gay-marriage

So, when I started putting this together, I did a quick Google image search to add a fun and colorful graphic to the story.

It was then that I found that my whole thought process of putting “Christ” back in “Christian” to off set “Christ” in “Christmas” wasn’t such an original idea!

Christ in Christian.jpg

Here’s the bottom line for me. I never write Xmas in a Christmas card, nor do I type it online (except in today’s blog to drive home a point!).

It has nothing to do with keeping “Christ” in Christmas.

In the same line of thinking, when you go to talk about “Christ” this Christmas, live up to what he was preaching.  Love your fellow man (or woman) whether they live the same way of life as you.

It’s something that I try to do every day and not just at Xmas.  (Ha, I was just seeing if you were still reading.)  I fail and then I just try harder the next time.

Christmas will always be Christmas to me and not Xmas.

Merry Christmas!  Happy Holidays!  Happy Christmas! Season’s Greetings! Happy Hanukkah!  Happy Kwanzaa! Happy Krampusnacht!  Happy Yule!  Happy Chalica!

Whatever you celebrate, have a great December and an even better 2017!

christmascocktails

Anthony

10 responses to this post.

  1. Merry Christmas to you and yours Anthony there is nothing I can add to your post and to those who love another God Happy Holidays to You. If you Truly Love Your God Love is 365 a year this hate thing you subscribe too should be a non entity 🎄⛄️🦃. 🍀💚

    Reply

  2. Posted by Connie Huizenga on November 25, 2016 at 9:49 am

    Anthony, I totally agree with what you are saying. The one thing that I have learned as I’ve grown up is that I do not understand all the cultures in the world. I don’t understand all the customs of the world. I don’t understand a lot. I do understand that is my choice to become educated or not. If not, then let it go. If I become educated, I am able to share the information accurately. My choice either way.

    I want to thank you for putting your thoughts out there for all of us to share. I am hoping your Thanksgiving was happy and belly-filling. I also hope that the rest of the Holiday season and Christmas is loving, kind, and generous to you and yours.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      Happy Holidays!

      As always, thank you for taking the time to check out my thoughts and sharing yours. Like you, there’s a lot I don’t know. But, I take the time to try and educate myself. I wish others did the same.

      I had a great Thanksgiving and I can never get enough of the feast! I hope you had a great one, too.

      Have a fun holiday season!

      AP

      Reply

  3. So right. My cousins who are from Indiana and staunch Republicans said the only plus in the Presidential Election was getting rid of Pence, they voted for Hillary and never crossed over before. They are pretty conservative and viewed him as narrow minded and hypocritical. As for the Christmas debate, I don’t care if someone wishes me a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Seasons Greetings, Joyous Kwanza or Happy New Year. The fact that someone is maybe being a little kinder, taking a minute they normally wouldn’t to exchange pleasantries and a smile, that’s keeping Christ not only in Christmas but in everyday life. That’s always a good thing. Again thanks for sharing a slice of your life, you share your light. I appreciate it. Have a great week!

    Reply

    • Andrea,

      Thank you for checking out my blog and for sharing your story.

      As much as a Donald Trump presidency scares me, a Mike Pence one does even more!

      I wish all people could be kinder. Maybe one day!

      My friend, you have a great week, too.

      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by Dixie on November 27, 2016 at 11:24 am

    Agree, thanks for your posts.Love them.. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

