Change

I consider myself a forthright, honest person — sometimes to a fault.

If you’re reading this, it’s likely we’ve crossed paths in life.  It might have been in person, through television, or over discussions of winter storms, severe thunderstorms, heat waves, cold snaps, floods, droughts, or sunny skies.

Or, most likely, it’s through the wonderful world of social media!

facebook_new_logo_2015-svg

Since joining Facebook in 2009 and starting a personal blog in 2012, I’ve never shied away from sharing my life with you or telling it like it is — or, at least, how I see things.

Let’s pretend for a moment that this is a press briefing.  I’m here to deliver some news. It’s not a press conference, so I won’t be taking any questions!!!

Press.jpg

Change is stressful.  Change is exciting.  Change is different.  Change is simply change!

In life, we go through it many times.  Whether it’s losing loved ones through death, break-ups or divorce, or just by spreading our wings to fly, change proves we’re alive.

changes

Expose harmonized that “Seasons Change”, Kathy Troccoli crossed over from gospel to pop with “Everything Changes”, David Bowie sang about Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-“Changes”, and Cyndi Lauper knew all about changes — with “Money Changes Everything” and “Change of Heart”.

My favorite lyrics from that late-1980s hit are:  “Days go by/Leaving me with a hunger/I could fly/Back to when we were younger/When adventures like cars we would ride/And the years lied ahead still untried”.

In life, I’d had many adventures.

I kicked off my television career as a teenager at MSU TV-11 on the campus of Murray State University in Murray, Kentucky in the 1980s!

MSUspring1985B

Before my official broadcast television career took me to Indiana (Merrillville), Wisconsin (Rhinelander), Texas (Lubbock), Ohio (Youngstown, Mansfield, and Columbus), Maryland (Salisbury), and Illinois (Moline and Rock Island), I lived a summer in Milwaukee and four years in Chicago.

I’ve been blessed to call the Quad Cities home for more than eleven years.  I’ve met some wonderful people here and I’ve worked with some of the most incredible people, too. (On the other hand, there’s also been some pompous asses!)

In late February, I shared a Facebook post that it was my four-year anniversary at “Local 4 News” and I included this comment at the end of the post.

AP Final Quote.jpg

That raised a couple of eyebrows with my friends.  Since then, I’ve posted a few more cryptic comments.  Isn’t social media fun? 🙂

With that being said, I’m sharing something with you.  I decided not to renew my contract at “Local 4 News” and I’ll be leaving the Quad Cities very soon.  

My last day on-air is Wednesday, April 26th, and I head out next week!

It seems like the perfect time to prepare for retirement that’s much closer now than it was two decades ago at the beginning of my career.

Midwest Winter.jpg

So, as much as I love Midwestern snows, I’m trading it all in for the occasional hurricane and tropical storm!

rain storm weather wind miami

In all reality, I definitely don’t want to come face to face with an Allen, Andrew, Camille, Dennis, Earl, Frances, Gilbert, Hugo, Ivan, Katrina, Opal, or Wilma!

However, I’ll finally get to use a city name in my weather broadcasts that I’ve always loved saying — Apalachicola!

I’m heading to Panama City, Florida and taking a morning and midday meteorologist position at the ABC affiliate!

PC.jpg

Within the past few years, Ray and I talked extensively about retiring to Las Vegas and that could still happen.  We’re still relatively “young” when it relates to how many work years we have left and now we can see if the Gulf Coast fits into that long-term plan.

Family Photo.jpg

Ray has been with the City of Moline for almost twelve years and he feels he want to end his career here.  That means he’ll be staying in the Quad Cities for several more years.

Gretel turns 16 this summer and has her driver’s permit.  While she’s finishing her sophomore year of high school, she’s already planning her future as a movie director.  Hopefully, she’ll be the next Kathryn Bigelow, Ava DuVernay, or Sofia Coppola!

She’s a typical teenager that likes to sit in her room with her eyes glued to her phone or her laptop.  She’s a well-grounded young lady who would ask for help or advice in a heartbeat if she needed it.

So, she’ll be fine navigating life with Ray and her mother.  Besides, one helicopter parent is enough.  While I enjoyed being a “like a dad” for eight years, I truly believe I was a better parent to a golden retriever than to a teenager!

04012011 ABBA Anthony

ABBAAnthonyBD2011

Who knows, maybe it’s time to get a pug now that Miss ABBA’s been gone over five years? 🙂

AP T.jpg

As for my sister, Tammy, she’ll be perfectly fine here until she decides where she wants to go next.  Her two sons, her daughter-in-law, and two granddaughters are here.  And, she just learned that she’ll be a grandmother again — twins are on the way!

She’ll definitely need to escape to Panama City on vacation once or twice a year!

So, my friends, that is the news I’ve been keeping under wraps for the past couple of months.

I’ll be the first to admit that it’s a little scary to be making this move at this point in my life.

But, as the late, great, and incredibly amazing Karen Carpenter sang, “We’ve only just begun to live/ white lace and promises/a kiss for luck and we’re on our way”!

Anthony

60 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shirley Phillips on April 15, 2017 at 6:57 am

    Oh Anthony !! how exciting !!!! Like i tell my girls who live in Fort Myers and Reno , great vacationing for your family !!! You will be missed !

    Reply

    • Shirley,

      That’s a perfect way to look at it. I know that Tammy will be the first to visit. 😃

      Thank you for your friendship over the years. Keep in touch!

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Pat Rebman on April 15, 2017 at 7:12 am

    I’m sure the Quad cities will miss your smiling face. But you are moving closure to me in Fl. Don’t know if I’ll be able to get your broadcast in Stuart.

    Reply

    • Pat,

      Thank you for traveling across the country with me from Salisbury to the Quad Cities to Florida via Facebook. I’m glad we kept in touch.

      Unfortunately, the signal in Panama City won’t make it there, but I’ll enjoy the Florida warmth with you now.

      Take care and Happy Easter!

      AP

      Reply

  3. Oh, no….That’s good news for you and Panama City, but bad news for us. Nevertheless, best wishes!

    Reply

    • Phil,

      Thank you very much. I appreciated getting to know you over the years and I wish you continued success and happiness.

      Happy Easter!

      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by Angela Norris on April 15, 2017 at 7:28 am

    I am so excited for you. You and Ray can rock this transition. Praying for a peaceful and easy move. I will actually get to see you as we go to that part of Florida once a year. You have had an amazing life. I hope the next phase is just as exciting

    Reply

    • Angie,

      Thank you very much. I’ll make the most of the changes. I try to make everything an adventure, even when it isn’t. 🙂

      We’ve traveled a long life together and I hope we have many more roads and years to do so.

      Take care, my friend, and best of luck to you and much happiness.

      Happy Easter!

      AP

      Reply

  5. WOW!!! That’s an exciting move!! But, to be completely honest…and a little selfish, I’m REALLY going to miss you!! I’ll continue to creep on your FB to see how your doing and wishing you the BEST life can bring. Also, stay in touch!! You never know…I might get a chance to see the Gulf and I’ll be looking you up! –Dani Lynn Howe

    Reply

    • Dani Lynn,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. It’s going to be strange after more than 11 years here. Except for where I grew up, I’ve been in the Quad Cities longer than any place in my life. It’s like a second home.

      I’ve so enjoyed our years of knowing each other, personally and professionally. I wish you continued success and happiness.

      And, it doesn’t count as creeping since we’re friends. Please continue to keep in touch. Keep Pat in check. 🙂

      AP

      P.S. If you’re there, you have a place to stay!

      Reply

  6. Posted by Esther on April 15, 2017 at 7:40 am

    Change is good for the soul. May life in FL be filled with joyous adventures and unexpected miracles.
    Blessings sent your way!!
    Esther and Jan who made our big change in January by selling our beautiful home and moving to the sunshine in sunny CA

    Reply

    • Esther and Jan,

      Congratulations on selling the house and relocating to California. That’s awesome. I want to live in Cali one day!

      Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure spending two weeks with you in China. We’ll always have China and the “lazy Susan”.

      Take care and keep in touch.

      AP

      Reply

  7. Posted by Vicki on April 15, 2017 at 8:05 am

    Wishing you well in your new adventures! We’ll miss seeing you in the neighborhood & on 📺

    Reply

    • Vicki,

      Thank you very much. I appreciate it.

      While you’ll miss me in the neighborhood, I’ll miss your beautiful seasonal displays!

      We’ll still have Facebook. Take care of each other and best wishes.

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  8. Posted by Audrey on April 15, 2017 at 8:06 am

    I am truely sorry to see that your leaving us but no matter what BEST OF LUCK in where ever and what ever you do .Do keep us up on yourself like as you have been doing.I will miss our many trips together thru face book so don’t quit on us now. Lol.Missing you already and do take care.

    Reply

    • Audrey,

      That’s too sweet. Thank you very much.

      I appreciate that you’ve followed my ventures and I’ll definitely continue to share them.

      Take care of yourself and Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  9. Posted by Heather P on April 15, 2017 at 8:07 am

    I’m really going to miss watching your weather reports. The great news is, we can all keep up with you on Facebook. Best of luck to you in Florida!

    Reply

    • Heather,

      Thank you very much. I appreciate the kind words and well wishes. Yes, we have Facebook and will stay in touch.

      Take care and Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  10. Posted by Millie crawford on April 15, 2017 at 8:10 am

    Congratulations! You only live once and tomorrow is not promised coming from one who knows

    Reply

    • Millie,

      That is so, so true. We both know that first hand.

      Thank you very much. I’ve always enjoyed being with you and I know we’ll see each other again.

      Take care and enjoy Easter tomorrow.

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  11. Oh, man. Sounds like a great opportunity and also a major change. We’re going to miss you so much, but you have a nice vision that you are seeking.

    Reply

    • Ken and Nancy,

      Thank you so much. I’ve so enjoyed our friendship and I love the conversations in person and online.

      I know we’ll keep in touch.

      Be strong and keep being you.

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  12. Posted by Christine Morrish on April 15, 2017 at 8:43 am

    Best wishes in your future endeavor, glad to have been able to watch you on the local news here, and thanks for giving us the good and bad weather forecasts you have. I, personally can say, I’ll miss seeing your awesome smile on t.v., but I’ll still see it here on Facebook. Be, blessed and keep smiling!

    Reply

    • Christine,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. I’ve enjoyed my decade-plus in the Quad Cities in good weather and bad. Yes, as along as you put up with me, you’ll have me on Facebook. Take care!

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  13. Posted by Jennifer Marin on April 15, 2017 at 9:59 am

    I’m so happy and so sad at the same time!! Congratulations! Glad to know where you are headed, I’m certain we will see you again soon Anthony.😎☀️
    In the interim we will continue to follow your blog and get the latest greatest!

    Reply

    • Jennifer,

      Thank you very much. We will see each other again.

      I wish the two of your the very best and the best with your new home. Keep Ray out of trouble. 🙂

      Keep in touch. Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  14. Posted by Nanci Green Gordon on April 15, 2017 at 10:01 am

    A- I have had to miss NOT seeing you for 4 years now, since moving away to Mission. Mexico just kidding Mission, Texas 3 miles from Mexico. Anyway, you landed a great opportunity, and a prime spot, and I am so happy for you. But, with that being said, I understood you saying Ray would stay in Moline, then are you two splitting up, or are you going to be a commuting couple? I was just sick because I imagined the worse. I am not going to belabor the point, about what a great couple you were, so on and so on and so on, but,( here goes the infamous but, )You did photograph well.LOL Seriously, everyone has a perception of you two, and with this split, it kinda mars it a lot.
    Anyway, did I understand you correctly?, and if I did, I wish you so very much happiness and EVERYTHING your heart desires. You are a gentle soul, with a very special gift. God Bless you on all your endeavors and may peace and happiness and above all, good health guide you through your amazing life.

    Reply

    • Nanci,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. It’s been a pleasure getting to know you over the years and we’ll definitely keep in touch via Facebook.

      The long distance thing is always tough, so we’ll see how it plays out. The worse case scenario is we’ll have a friend for life. And, the photographed well together comment is too funny. Thank you. 🙂

      Please keep in touch. Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  15. Posted by William P McAvoy on April 15, 2017 at 11:42 am

    Well… where to start. I guess with social media you will never be too far away. I have followed you to try and guide my own path which has been full changes… none of which were wanted and have not been very fun. Through the last year I’ve cried more times than I have in my previous 43 years. You kind words have been a blessing to me, and have helped in a small way. I would defiantly say I am better off that our paths have crossed… even if it was only via social media.

    One thing I’ve found that we will survive through change, partially because of your comments.

    When I make it to Panama City, I owe you a drink.

    Safe travels…. P.S. No one bought the line about liking snow!!!! 😂😂😂

    Reply

    • My friend, you’re words are so touching and kind.

      I’m sorry to hear about the unwanted and not fun changes. I hope things turn around.

      I never realized my words helped you, but I’m so glad we crossed paths. I consider people I correspond with friends, even if we don’t meet.

      We will definitely survive!

      I’m sticking to the love of snow — if only it didn’t come with bitter cold.

      Please keep in touch.

      AP

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      Reply

  16. Posted by Sharon McLaughlin on April 15, 2017 at 12:40 pm

    Oh my!! The hood will miss you! As will Pre!! But… welcome to my beautiful world in Florida! I am now a FL resident teturning home 6 months/yr. Another thing we will have in common is our part time hubbys!! (Absence DOES make the heart grow fonder!!
    Congrats and good luck Anthony! Come visit Marco/Naples, you’ll love it!!

    Reply

    • Sharon,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. You guys are very strong to do the six months here and there and I wish you continued success and happiness.

      I’ll miss Mr. Pre, too.

      Thanks for the invitation.

      AP

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      Reply

  17. Posted by Tracie Mcferren on April 15, 2017 at 12:44 pm

    Anthony you will do great and I wish you all the best! I’m a little jealous about you moving to Florida though. Best of luck my friend!

    Reply

  18. Posted by Janet Robinson on April 15, 2017 at 2:23 pm

    I’m so happy for you but I won’t see your smile when we get home from AZ. this year. I know you will do well but hate to see you go. I will always wait to see your blogs on FB. Have a great Easter and I hope you are ok.

    Reply

    • Janet,

      Thank you very much. I appreciate our friendship and we’ll definitely stay connected. I hope I get to write more when I’m there.

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  19. Posted by Connie Huizenga on April 15, 2017 at 3:38 pm

    I don’t know whether to clap with excitement for you or cry in selfishness for me. I think I will clap in excitement for you. Just know that you will be missed here. Our daughter in law and grandkids live in Panama City Beach and we are planning on going down in May for our granddaughter’s graduation. Maybe we can see you then and even have lunch or dinner.

    I am happy you are moving in a positive direction for you. You deserve only the best life has to offer. We will stay in touch via Facebook, I’m sure. Love ya.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      Thank you very much! What a small world. That’s very exciting that you have family there. I have a connection to you already. We’ll definitely stay in touch.

      AP

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      Reply

  20. Posted by Justin Schmittler on April 15, 2017 at 4:14 pm

    I am very happy for you, yet I’m gonna miss your insight. I will be keeping you and Ray in my thoughts. Who knows maybe there will be an opportunity for him in Florida eventually too. I am thinking of heading to the Tampa area later this year. The older I get the more I don’t care for cold/snow. Gosh I’m gonna miss you!!! Hugs buddy!!!

    Reply

    • Justin,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. We’ll definitely keep in touch.

      I’m definitely going to miss the snow. I won’t miss the bitter cold.

      Best of luck in Tampa if you head down there.

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      Reply

  21. wow!! I am excited for you but sad you are leaving us I wish you the very best thanks for the memories and keep us posted on your new phase will truly miss you !!

    Reply

  22. Posted by Jeannie Ryner on April 15, 2017 at 9:10 pm

    The nest of luck to you and your family in the changes ahead….love is strong and love will get you through anything together……god bless and keep in touch with all your friends and fan’s back here…..

    Reply

    • Jeannie,

      Thank you very much for the very kind and encouraging words.

      I’ll definitely keep in touch with my friends back in the Midwest!

      AP

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      Reply

  23. How exciting for you to be starting a new adventure! How sad for us that we won’t get to see you on our TVs locally anymore. I don’t think we ever outgrow the “scariness” of new chapters, but the excitement and prospects sure outweigh any of that! Wishing you the best of luck from our whole household. I’m looking forward to following your journey on fb through all of your wonderful pictures and posts. We will miss you, Anthony!

    Reply

    • Vicky,

      Thank you so much for the very kind words. It will be a little scary and so different, but hopefully, fun.

      I’ll definitely keep in touch with you. You know I love to write and take pictures.

      Have a great spring and summer.

      AP

      Reply

  24. Posted by jeannie howard on April 16, 2017 at 9:51 am

    Anthony 3 years ago I pulled up stakes and moved here to Pensacola, FL. It was a scary move but I felt I needed a huge change in my life and I’ve never regretted doing it. I miss my family and friends but social media has been a huge help with keeping in touch. You are going to love living on the Gulf Coast, this is a beautiful area with tons of fun things to do and let me say the weather will keep you on your toes for sure. I’m sad to hear that Ray and Gretel will not be making the move with you but that being said I am tickled pink that you will be living so close to where I live. You were always my favorite weather person when I lived up north and I know how lucky this station is to get you on board! Best wishes in your new adventure, have fun and one word of warning…Beware the fire ants!! it’s a full time job keeping up with those pests. Can’t wait to see updates when you finally get down here!

    Reply

    • Jeannie,

      This sounds very encouraging. Thank you so much for sharing it with me. I’m glad that you are happy and that the move was what you needed.

      I think it will be what I need at this point in my life, too.

      Your kind words are greatly appreciated. I love what I do and I hope Panama City and Floridians love me, too.

      I need to Google “fire ants” now. 🙂

      Happy Easter! 🐰

      AP

      Reply

  25. You will be greatly missed!! 😢 I wish you the best on your new and journey to Florida. Keep everyone posted on your adventures & fun in the sun!🔆 Take care of yourself ! May God Bless You!! Prayers for you Always​! ❤

    Reply

  26. Posted by Maria on April 16, 2017 at 4:29 pm

    Good luck and great decision as far as location goes! I miss your pup Abba and her tennis ball in her mouth. Good luck on your new adventure and happiness. You said it well change does not mean ending because it’s only the beginning!

    Reply

    • Maria,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. You’re right, it’s only the beginning.

      Yes, Miss ABBA loved her tennis balls. And, the biggest sticks you could imagine.

      Take care and keep in touch.

      AP

      Reply

  27. Posted by Brigitte Helms on April 17, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    I only heard the tail end of your announcement this morning-something about not having been to the Maquoketa caves. Wow, what sad news for all your fans here! First Emily and now you! I imagine you and Ray will be racking up a lot of frequent flyer miles. I think it will be a little scary living several airports apart, don’t you think? In any case, best of luck!!!!! You will not miss the winters here, I think.
    Brigitte (i’m the one who accosted you at Walmart last week).

    Reply

    • Brigitte,

      It was such a pleasure talking with at Walmart last week. I’d hardly call that accosting. 🙂

      It’s definitely going to be a big transition for me, my family, and my friends. I’ve met so many great people here — in person and online.

      The move will be challenging, but I hope very rewarding, as well.

      Take care, my friend, and keep in touch.

      AP

      Reply

  28. Posted by Beth Hall Patton on April 26, 2017 at 9:01 am

    I wish you nothing but the very best, always, Anthony!

    Reply

  29. All news things should be considered an adventure. Maybe a Golden Retriever in need of a loving kind man will find you down in Florida and you will get sucked into being a Golden dad once again. Keep smiling Anthony, stay positive, stay kind and good. All the best.

    Reply

    • Jean,

      My dear friend, thank you very much for the kind words and the years of friendship.

      I can’t wait to have another furry friend again. A golden would be awesome, but I’m leaning toward a pug. 🙂

      I’m going to wait until next year — I want to get through my first hurricane season and travel a little more!

      With what we’re dealing with, some days it takes more to smile, but I’ll do just that to say, “there, take that!”

      Take care and keep in touch!

      AP

      Reply

  30. Posted by Cinchy on April 27, 2017 at 4:01 pm

    I’m so excited for you.
    Bruce and I have been looking for a place to come visit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

