More Random Panama City Thoughts

I guess it’s time to update my adventures after almost two weeks in Panama City, Florida.

I’m still finding beauty here and I haven’t even ventured outside of the city!  This is a reflection in a pond (swamp) in the complex!

Reflections

I’m still getting settled in and I promise once every box is emptied, put away, and extra stuff is re-packed, I’ll decorate my walls and post pictures.

STILL STUNNED WITH “NO RECYCLING”

As I empty those boxes and take all the newspaper and cardboard boxes to the trash compactor (or empty the last of the 2-liter bottles of soda I bought), much to my chagrin, I’m reminded of the lack of recycling!

Actually, the complex has two trash compactors and one has been broken since I arrived. Here’s a novel idea — start a recycling program and that’ll cut back on waste and the trash compactors won’t have to work as hard!

TOO MANY, I THINK SO!

I’ve decided that no matter how fun a shirt looks, I’m not buying another one!

What I think I’m going to do is not wash t-shirts until I wear every one of them!  Do you get into a rut of wearing your favorites?  I do.  Some of these have not even been worn.

TShirts

Also, look at the top left.  Most of my daily wear — pajama bottoms — are flannel! Houston, we have a problem for Florida heat and humidity !

I love my new pantry, but doesn’t it look a little too much like “Sleeping With The Enemy”?  Maybe I need to pull a Julia Roberts and knock something over just because I can!

Pantry

The other day, I wore flip flops on a walk and a kid laughed at me.  He said, “Old man, you don’t wear socks with flip flops”!  There’s so much for me to learn about Florida living!

Okay, for the record, I didn’t really wear socks with flip flops and no kid laughed at me! 🙂 However, I did get a blister on the top of my foot from wearing them on a walk, so I’ll be wearing tennis shoes now!

WTH?

As I was working in the kitchen, I looked down at the doors under the sink and this is what I saw.

Fire Ex

This is seriously on the outside on the door!  Couldn’t the complex tell me there’s a fire extinguisher under my sink instead of posting a sign on the door?  It doesn’t exactly match my decor!

I know every time I walk into the kitchen, I’ll stare down at it and say “WTF”!

COMCAST AND MEDIACOM

If I ever have Mediacom again, I promise not to complain because for the first week here, my Comcast cable sucked!

My cable and internet was turned on last Sunday (May 7th) around noon.  It worked some that evening and then it was off for much of the week.    Four technicians have been out now and it’s finally working now.

Comcast

I’ve spent more time on the phone with agents troubleshooting their crappy services than I have watching cable.

Absolutely horrible!  What makes it worse is that I’ve already gotten a bill for almost $200!

So far, I’ve only watched two episodes of “Madam Secretary” on it.  I hope I find something else to watch soon!

The good news is that the internet works much better than Mediacom!

 

“HIDDEN FIGURES”

As you know, I love Redbox and I finally rented a movie this past weekend.  I saw the last of nine Best Picture nominees for this year’s Oscars.

“Hidden Figures” was incredible.  It’s about the NASA’s space program and the contributions of Katherine Johnson (Taraji P. Henson), Dorothy Vaughan (Octavia Spencer), and Mary Jackson (Janelle Monae).

While Spencer was rightfully nominated for Best Supporting Actress, I think that Henson should have been nominated, too.  Her post-drenched rain scene alone was award worthy and tear jerking!

What’s heartbreaking 50 years later is the racism of the 1960s and the whole “colored this” mentality.  Mind boggling!

And, what’s even sadder is that that BS still exists today.  People, open your mind and your heart and if that’s hard, don’t speak.  Just think a little more!

Monae’s character says it best, “It’s equal rights. I have a right to see fine in every color!”

I agree!  If I ever find myself single again, I’ll be open for fine in every color!!!!!!!!!!!

FINAL NOTE

I make my Panama City television debut Friday evening at 5, 6, and 10.  The chief has the night off.  I’m also working the evening shows this weekend and, again, next Tuesday!  A 12-day work stretch!  What a way to break in the new guy!

I’ll likely start my regular morning and midday routine in early June!

THAT’S IT

With all the craziness in the world, make it the best in your little part of it!

Anthony

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cathy Wannemacher on May 18, 2017 at 6:03 am

    Thanks for the update! I’ve been thinking about you and sending you good thoughts. Good luck on your debut!

    Reply

    • Cathy,

      Thank you for sending good thoughts my way. They are always welcome. I hope all is going well for you.

      Happy Summer!

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Connie Huizenga on May 18, 2017 at 10:50 am

    So glad to hear from you. Sounds like you are getting beat up for the break in at work. We land at 1200 on Wed and leave at 6pm on Sat. We have graduation at 7:30 pm on Thurs. I hope we can get together sometime while we are there. I am sure things will settle down for you after a bit. Hang in there my friend.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      I promised I’d stay in touch 🙂 I’ll definitely hang in there and have fun at the graduation and in the area.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Donna Libby on May 18, 2017 at 11:30 am

    Mercy….it sounds like you are off to a sort of “blah” start in your new surroundings. Hang tough, Anthony. Things are bound to get better. Just the scenery alone would keep me content. Heat is okay…humidity, not so much. Keep the updates coming. You are the first person I “know” in Panama City…..another place to “visit” perhaps? Take care & stay safe.

    Reply

    • Donna,

      I’ll definitely hang in there and get into a routine soon! From what I hear, this is a nice place to visit. 🙂

      Take care,

      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by Sandie Foster on May 18, 2017 at 10:05 pm

    Please keep the posts coming. We all miss you here, but sharing your stories is awesome. Everything will settle down so you can get into a routine again.

    Reply

    • Sandie,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. I miss the Quad Cities and my family and friends, too.

      I’ll definitely share more when I can.

      Take care and have a great summer.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

