What the Duck???

Today’s read may not be for the faint of heart.

Trust me, I’m talking about myself.  As I said many times, sharing my thoughts and writing is therapeutic for me.  I sure hope it works!

I’ve been away from my loved ones and my friends in the Quad Cities for over two weeks now. Except for people at work, I don’t know a soul here.

Luckily, getting unpacked, decorating my apartment, and working and training on a newer, more advanced weather system is keeping me busy and saving me from true loneliness.

PC Bay

The Panama City Marina is short walk from work and offers amazing sunset views over the Bay.  I still haven’t seen the Gulf of Mexico or the beaches yet.

My apartment complex is nice and gives me many amazing photo opportunities.

As I always say, be careful for what you wish for in life.

When I found my place, I was over the moon at having a “duck pond” off my balcony.

Resting Ducks

It’s been fun watching the ducks and the ducklings.  I’ve seen them mate or fight (not sure which), follow the ice cream truck, and just do duck things.

Since I’m a meteorologist and not an ornithologist, I could be wrong here, but I think these ducks are pretty simple-minded.

They have no sense of the dangers that await them here at the complex and the sister property next door.

I’m now seeing the seedy underside of the convergence of wildlife and human life and the beauty of having the nature at my disposal is becoming depressing as hell!

In just my first twelve days here, I’ve saw six dead ducks!

The other evening, I was on a walk during my break and I came upon a duck (not a baby, but not fully grown) that had been hit and killed by a car.  Having nothing to move it with, I picked it up with my bare fingers and moved it off the pavement!

And, then last Wednesday, I saw two grown ones dead.  Of the six ducks, one duckling likely drown, but four of them were definitely hit by a car.

It saddens me that people living here are so into their own little world, distracted by their phones or whatever, to have no regard for the ducks walking around the complex — including the parking lots.

When I was a kid, before I became a “tree hugger” and a softie, I watched “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom” and didn’t think anything about the circle of life — eat or be eaten.  We do it every day with meat on our plates!

As sad as it is seeing the dead ducks, this photo woke me up.

Dead

When I spotted the sixth dead duck, it was out in the duck pond.  As I looked closer, I noticed it was now a buffet for a group of turtles!  (Yes, that’s a turtle’s head at the left.)

As disheartening as it was witnessing that, at least that poor duck was serving a purpose in life.  It wasn’t just picked up by the maintenance men and thrown in the trash!

Deer 3

I’m ready to trade in the ducks for the deer back home that roamed through the ravine and munched on our hosta, plants, and trees!

Anthony

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kimberly Taylor on May 23, 2017 at 7:10 am

    Awwwww I feel for you …I live in the country and it breaks my heart everytime I see an animal that has been hit by a car . We always slow down or stop and let them pass ….some people could care less and it seems so cruel to me…..Thinking of you and I know you must miss your family so much….I hope they will join you

    Kimberly

    Reply

    • Kimberly,

      You’re right about some people not caring. I know accidents happen, but some of these are just carelessness.

      Have a great rest of the week.

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Richard Kennedy on May 23, 2017 at 7:11 am

    I’ve never quite understood the relationship between ducks and turtles,when I lived on a boat for ten years I watched turtles swim under the water and come up under a duck grab the ducks leg and pull it under the water and drown the duck and have diner and the ducks it seems never learn to keep an eye out for the ducks , I understood the circle of life and totally agree with it but it seems there is a learning that isn’t learned ? And I was always happy to see the Turtles as long as they weren’t on the hunt for ducks , I came to believe that ducks are just DUMB unfortunately ! Maybe compared to the human animal not so dumb as far as I’ve seen we are the only Animal that Kills for Fun now that’s Sad !🍀🍀

    Reply

    • Richard,

      Wow…. interesting story about the turtles drowning the ducks. I hope I don’t see that here! Who knows, that may be how that duck was in there???

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Cyndi Emler-Hintz on May 23, 2017 at 7:41 am

    It always makes me sad to see a dead animal in the road or anywhere else. Ducks are especially cute….hang in there Anthony! hugs from Iowa!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Connie Huizenga on May 23, 2017 at 8:38 am

    I have a picture somewhere of a gaggle of geese crossing River Drive. I was first in line so I got great pics. I was happy to see that the other line of traffic stopped also. I have to say that the geese decided to jack with us by stopping for a photo op in the middle of the road and they were strung across the whole road. It is too bad that people can not relax and enjoy the scenery. Mother Nature is a great entertainer. Miss you.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      That’s an awesome story. As you can tell, I make sure I take the time to enjoy nature. 🙂

      Miss you, too, and sad I’ll miss you in PCB.

      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Donna Libby on May 23, 2017 at 1:12 pm

    Oh my dear Anthony….I’m detecting a bit of “homesickness” today. You’ve been through so much with the move, saying goodbye to your loved ones & fans, getting your new apartment put together, learning, basically, a new vocabulary with new equipment…..all that would get the best of us down. You’ll adapt because you are a man of faith & you’ve got a great support system around you. Have you seen any gators wandering around your complex yet? The turtles AND the ducks should be on alert all the time!! Take care & “keep on keepin’ on”. Please send some sunshine our way! I’m growing webs between my toes!

    Reply

    • Donna,

      I know once I get settled in and meet people, it’ll be better. Yes, I miss Ray, Tammy, Gretel, the fish, and the cats.

      It’s been a little overwhelming. You’re right.

      I haven’t seen a gator or a snake. I’d rather see a gator before a snake. 🙂

      I hope you get your sunshine soon.

      AP

      Reply

  6. Posted by Teresa on May 24, 2017 at 5:57 pm

    Your love and respect for humans and animals is what makes you such a special person. There are to many people who don’t care. Shame on them!!

    Reply

    • Teresa,

      You’re too kind. I definitely don’t want to see animals hurt and in pain or killed!

      Take care and have a great rest of the week.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

