Random Friday Thoughts — June 2, 2017

I can’t believe that it’s June already.

With Memorial Day behind us, it’s “unofficially” summer and it’s definitely feeling like it across the Florida Panhandle and it’s only going to get warmer and more humid!

Thank you for checking out my Random Friday Thoughts and have a great weekend.

SAD DAY WITH MANY MORE TO COME…

Climate Change

CLOSER TO STABILITY…

My apartment is still not all set up, but all of the boxes are unpacked now.  I’m really thinking I’ll have the walls decorated soon and I can share where I’m living with you.

Well, you’ve already seen my surroundings outside from my walks. 🙂

Lizard

Speaking of that, I had to move another killed duck — the dead duck count is now up to seven in my four weeks here! 😦

As for work, I train on the morning and midday show next week and my official on-air start date is Monday, June 12th.  This has been a long process with too many meteorologists on board, so I’m ready!

MISSING THE SEASONS….

I mentioned the heat and humidity earlier and I already miss the Midwest seasons. When it gets warm there during the day, you know there’s usually a nice 20° temperature drop off at night.

We don’t get that here!

With the warm Gulf of Mexico so close to Panama City, it’s stays muggy and warm all night.

After being here three weeks, I finally broke down the other night and turned on the AC! While I know it’ll likely stay on until October, when it only dropped off to 83° in my apartment the other night, I knew it was time. 🙂

Lightning

In almost a month that I’ve been here, it’s only rained three times in Panama City — two were stronger thunderstorms and one was a pop-up shower event.

This cool lightning show produced storms to the east, but no rain here.

PRAYERS FOR OLIVIA

It saddened me earlier this week when I learned that Olivia Newton-John is fighting cancer again after being in remission for 25 years. 😦

I know that she’s a fighter and that she’ll win again!

This photo is from May 30, 2014, when I saw her at The Flamingo in Las Vegas, Nevada!

Olivia

Best of luck, Olivia,  You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

“MAMMA MIA: HERE WE GO AGAIN”

I can’t believe that “Mamma Mia!” hit movie theaters nine years ago this summer.

The $52 million musical based on the music of ABBA is now of the biggest movies of all time.  It grossed $610 million worldwide.

I was over the moon recently when I learned that the sequel is scheduled to be released on July 20, 2018!  I know where I’ll be on that hot and muggy Florida afternoon.

In the original, the beautiful Greek setting of the wedding sold me on visiting the country.  Ironically, even before “Mamma Mia:  Here We Go Again” was announced, I was already considering a spring 2018 visit there.  It must be fate!

To the writers, producers, and the director, if Pierce Brosnan is back, please, please, please, don’t let him have too many musical numbers.  His songs in the original were painful!!!!!!!!

“HOUSE OF CARDS”

The fifth season of the critically acclaimed Netflix series dropped this week.

After being down and out over the real 2016 presidential election, I can’t wait to see how the Underwood campaign progresses with Frank and Claire fighting for his reelection with Claire as the VP candidate!

Ironically, it sounds like Frank is lip-syncing my words and sentiments! 🙂

P.S.  Seven months later, I don’t really feel any better than I did on the night of November 8, 2016.  It doesn’t help much to hear about all of the travesties of the real life world we’re enduring with #45 and with me living in a true “red state”.

SPEAKING OF “RED STATE”

I’m planning on watching the Kevin Smith-directed movie again this weekend.  It was my 8th favorite movie of 2012.

It stars one of my favorite actresses, Academy Award winner Melissa Leo. Golden Globe winner John Goodman is also in the movie.

Warning:  This trailer contains violent scenes and very, very, adult language.

Here’s my original movie review.  By the way, I gave it an “A” in early 2012.

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/this-red-state-is-violent-deadly/

DREAMING OF….

Nicole Kidman!

thepaperboy_nicolekidman_web

I remember some of my dreams and some I don’t.  The other night I dreamt that Nicole and I were hanging out as friends.

It’s been weeks now since I watched “Lion”, her amazing Oscar-nominated movie, and “Big Little Lies”, her HBO miniseries, so I don’t know what prompted the dream.

Maybe it’s time to have a Kidman movie weekend this summer:  “Moulin Rouge!”, “The Golden Compass”, “The Hours”, and “Australia” (I have the last two, but have never watched them.)

“SPLIT”

The psychological thriller is creepy and there’s more coming.

The movie deals with “Dissociative Identity Disorder” or multiple personality and stars the incredible James McAvoy, whose character suffers from 23 “split” personalities.

The $9 million film has already grossed an astounding $278 million (I hope McAvoy is getting a nice chunk of change on the backside).

It was great seeing Daytime Emmy and Grammy Award nominee and Tony Award winner (“Cats”, 1983) Betty Buckley (“Carrie”) again in a movie.

There’s a surprise appearance at the end of “Split” that lets you know that this is a sequel to another movie and that both movies’ stars are back for the January 18, 2019 sequel called “Glass”.

GRADE:  A-

“FEAR THE WALKING DEAD”

While I’m still on the fence about whether I’ll be back for the eighth season of “The Walking Dead” in October, the series’ sequel, “Fear The Walking Dead” returns this weekend for its third season.

I can’t wait!

P.S.  I know I’ll probably cave in and watch Rick and company’s return this fall.  I just didn’t care for season 7 of “The Walking Dead”, which saddens me because it used to be one of my favorite series.

THAT’S IT

With all the craziness in the world, make it the best in your little part of it!

Anthony

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Richard Kennedy on June 2, 2017 at 7:31 am

    When I logged on I was immediately sent to a sweepstakes for a free I-phone 7 that I supposedly won and tried to drop it no matter what I did so I had to shut down and reboot. Anyway thanks for your Random Thoughts always enjoy them sorry to hear about the ducks I’m sure many are from the turtles they come up and grab them by the leg and pull them under till they drown, just nature I guess ugly as it is sometimes 🍀

    Reply

    • I’m always getting notifications now that I’ve won x amount of money and that my amazon order has been successfully cancelled!

      Sadly, after posting this, I had to move another duck today — eight now — and this was a grown one. People irritate me! The three that I’ve moved are from being struck by cars.

      Have a great weekend, Richard!

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Teresa on June 5, 2017 at 2:43 pm

    Enjoyed your post – Can’t wait to see pix of your apartment once you are more settled in.
    Florida would be to hot and humid for me. Do you have ceiling fans? Is the news/weather channel where you are working live streamed or video taped? Would like to be able to check in and see you. Many of us in the QC miss you.

    One last thing – I think the Gov’t symbol for climate change should have shown the head buried in (up) a different location. My thoughts – please delete if I have offended you or anyone.

    Reply

    • Teresa,

      I hope to have my apartment finished this weekend, which will coincide with my debut Monday, June 12th.

      There’s a ceiling fan in each bedroom. I really wish there was one in the living room, too.

      Unfortunately, we don’t live stream. I’ll have video up from time to time.

      I always value my friend’s opinions, if they agree or disagree, as long as it’s diplomatically.

      I know most believe in climate change, but some don’t.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

