Random Friday Thoughts — June 9, 2017

I hope you have a great late spring or summer weekend.  That all depends on whether you call seasons by the calendar or like us meteorologists, where “meteorological summer” starts June 1st.

Have a fun one and thank you for checking out my random thoughts.

PULSE SHOOTING ANNIVERSARY

Sadly, it’s been almost a year since the worst mass shooting in American history.

It took place in the early morning hours of Sunday, June 12, 2016, in the Orlando, Florida, gay nightclub, “Pulse”.

Pulse

49 people were murdered (plus the shooter) and another 58 were hurt.

Here’s what I wrote about this tragedy afterwards, “We’re human just like you — we love and we want to find love, we work and pay taxes, we’re someone’s son, daughter, brother, sister, niece, nephew, friend, or co-worker.

And, when some coward charges into a nightclub armed with “an assault-type weapon, a handgun” and “some type of (other) device”, we bleed and die just like the rest of America and the world.

All we want is peace, love, and understanding.

peace_love_understanding

If you want to read the rest of my original blog, this link will open in a new window:  https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2016/06/12/deadly-gay-nightclub-attack-were-all-one/

REMEMBERING A COUPLE AT CHRISTMAS

It’s easy to remember tragedies as the anniversaries approach.

32-year-old Christopher “Drew” Leinonen and his 22-year-old boyfriend Juan Guerrero were two of the victims of the Pulse shooting.  They planned on getting married, but the couple were buried together.

As you can see here, they loved Christmas.

Christmas Was Perfect

This is what I wrote in my June 24th blog last year:

“Look at the caption taken from this Instagram photo of the men with their families, “Christmas was perfect”.  This Christmas won’t be perfect for the grieving families.

As much as I love the holidays, I’m going to make sure that Christopher and Juan are not forgotten this Christmas.”

I did think of them and their love during the holidays last year and I’ll remember them again this Christmas!

LGBT PRIDE MONTH

Happy Pride month to my LGBT brothers and sisters and to all my “straight but not narrow” friends!

PrideFlag

Most recently, I’ve celebrated Pride in Chicago and the Quad Cities.  Actually, my golden retriever, ABBA, and I had a great time in Davenport, Iowa, meeting some wonderful new friends in 2010.

ABBAPride2010

BE PROUD, BE LOUD!

Chicago Pride is so much fun and very festive.

It’d be easy to say this is what pride means to me.

Pride4

Hot boys and drag queens are amazing and I’d be the first to look — okay, gawk!

But, this is what Pride means to me — it’s one of my favorite Pride memory and photos.

This is loud, this is proud, and this is being who you are!!!!!!!!!

Pride3

Cheers!

pride-martini-collection

“FEAR THE WALKING DEAD”

What a compelling two-hour season three premiere of “Fear The Walking Dead”!

spoiler-alert

When you see the stop sign “spoiler alert” below, scroll past it if you don’t want to know the spoiler!!!!!

 

CLIMATE CHANGE

 

If you follow the news, then you know that “45” last week made a huge public statement regarding the environment by withdrawing from the Paris Climate Agreement.

In late July, the sequel to 2006’s Oscar winning Best Documentary Feature, “An Inconvenient Truth”, hits theaters.

It’s called “An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth To Power”.

Promoting the documentary, here’s what former Vice President Al Gore told “Entertainment Weekly”: “Every night on the television news now is like a nature hike through the Book of Revelation.  And some of these carbon polluters say, “Oh, there’s no problem.” Ridiculous!”

pb

Melissa Etheridge’s “I Need To Wake Up” won the Academy Award for Best Original Song in 2006.

FLORIDA WINE RIP-OFF!

I’m really getting ripped off with my favorite boxed wines here in the Sunshine State.

I’ve heard that it’s some law in Florida that they can only sell 3-liter boxed wines.

Wine Ripe off

I really miss the 5-liter boxes I enjoyed in the Quad Cities.

I guess since there’s only one drinking it here now, it’s not such a bad thing.  However, I’m paying the same price for 3-liters here that I paid for 5-liters there!

I can’t say “cheers” to that!

“FEAR THE WALKING DEAD” SPOILER!

Just minutes into second hour, a major character — one of the original stars — died!!!

Fear

It was very shocking, dramatic, and well acted.  Sadly, I liked the character.

It’ll be interesting to see where the story goes from here.

But, it also makes me wonder if season three will be the last season of the AMC series?

PICTURES ARE WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS….

It’s no secret that I’m now living deep in the “Bible Belt” in a conservative part of Florida.

I know there are open-minded people here, just as there people with closed minds.

However, it did give me great joy when I came upon this street sign in Panama City.

Fairy

Then, moments later, at the Piggly Wiggly, I smiled when I saw this advertisement! 🙂

Fruity Day

You just can’t make this stuff up!

Have a great weekend everyone!

THAT’S IT

With all the craziness in the world, make it the best in your little part of it!

Anthony

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kimberly Taylor on June 9, 2017 at 5:58 am

    Loved the blog as usual…sometimes I forget to comment. Have a great day. Also love your pictures I may never get to Florida or see the ocean so I really enjoy your pictures.

    Kimberly

    Reply

    • Kimberly,

      Thank you very much! I appreciate you checking it out and commenting. As you can tell, I love to write and share pictures. I’ll continue to do both.

      Take care and have a great summer.

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Connie Huizenga on June 10, 2017 at 6:05 pm

    Hi Anthony, Do you need us to mail you a “care package” from the QC? We can include pecan sandies, and 5 liter boxes of wine and anything else that you are missing from home. Miss ya.

    Reply

    • Hi Connie,

      Hope all is well and you’re settling in for the Illinois heat and humidity. I appreciate the offer of a care package.

      Pecan sandies sound great. Is that something you make or the ones at the store? 🙂

      I do miss that 5L box of wine though.

      I’ll have to have both when I visit again.

      Have a great summer!

      AP

      Reply

      • Posted by Connie Huizenga on June 11, 2017 at 12:55 pm

        Anthony, I don’t buy much of anything at the store. I know what we are eating at our house. I can make sure you get some of the good ole fashion pecan sandies if I know when you are coming back for a visit, or you send me you address. I used to send cookies overseas to the servicemen in our family so I have some experience. LOL. Miss you and enjoy living vicariously through your pictures.

Leave a Reply

