Sugar Coating Life

I use my blog as therapy.

I express my thoughts and feelings through written words.  Sometimes, it’s fun stuff (food, movies, songs, and books I like, love, or didn’t care for) and, at other times, I speak out on injustices that need to be part of our dialogue.

I’ve ticked people off and I’ve been degraded for it.

But, since I started my television career decades ago, I’ve developed a tough skin.  Things that might have upset me all those years ago just tick me off now.  The use of the f-word helps, too. 🙂

taylor-swift-selena-gomez-shut-the-fuck-up-vmas-2013

By the way, T-Swizzle, please drop the follow-up to “1989” this fall!

I feel a sense of pride when my written words and thoughts enlighten others on a topic they normally wouldn’t have pursued to learn more.

With that being said, I want you to know that there’ll always be a certain amount of sugar coating served with my thoughts and blogs.

Sugar

Being a “public figure”, I can’t truly say what I’m really thinking.  I can hint at it, but it has be to watered down.

Two words:  Dixie Chicks!

dc

I’m not #45 with free reign (of terror) to offend without any retribution!  I’m no longer in the progressive “blue state” of Illinois.  I now live in the “red state” of Florida and in a county where about two-thirds of the people don’t think like me, so pass the sugar!

I’ll always cherish my 15.5 years in the Midwest (four in Chicago and more than a decade in the Quad Cities).  It was far more progressive than I could ever have imagined.

Former Iowa Justices

Think about it, three Iowa judges lost their seats in the 2010 November elections, but they brought “marriage equality” to the “Hawkeye State” in 2009, six years before the Supreme Court of the United States made it the law of the land in the summer of 2015!

But, what’s the point of today’s blog about sugar coating things?

Mary Ann

I’m going through another “Mary Ann Singleton” phase again in my life.

For the uninitiated, she’s a naive character in Armistead Maupin’s “Tales of the City” book series, who visited San Francisco from Cleveland, Ohio, in 1976 and decided to stay.

My best friend, Steve, introduced me to the PBS mini-series based on the book in the spring of 1994 before I made my big move from small town Mayfield, Kentucky, in July of that year.

I felt like Mary Ann experiencing a whole new world.  San Francisco wasn’t Cleveland for her and Chicago wasn’t Mayfield for me.  I turned 30 a few months after moving there and it was fantastic.  But, I’m now two decades older as I begin my new life in Panama City, Florida.

While I might be older, the climate (and I’m not talking weather) of the country and my living here alone, a thousand miles from those I love, makes me feel like the “fish out of water” — like Mary Ann all over again.

I’ve been in Panama City for two months now and while still adorable, I’ve tired of my only friendships being with the two web-footed fowl!

I’m not depressed or despondent, but I’m sad and lonely.  I miss human correspondence and friendship.

However, in life, we never know what’s right around the corner.  Tomorrow, I could meet my new best friend — someone to make me change the way I feel about life, love, and the future.

“Everybody Knows” by the Dixie Chicks perfectly sums up the way I’m feeling now.

I’m not writing this for sympathy.  I’m just processing my life at this time.

As Belle exclaims in “Beauty and the Beast”:

“Little town/It’s a quiet village/Every day/Like the one before/Little town/Full of little people”… “Every morning just the same/Since the morning that we came/To this poor provincial town”… “There must be more than this provincial life!”

One more note about the Maupin series.

I smiled the other day when I saw “Mary Ann in Autumn”, the eighth book in the nine-book “Tales” series on a shelf here in heavily Republican Panama City!

If only they knew it’s part of a series about 1970s and 1980s San Francisco complete with casual sex (L,G,B, and T), bathhouses, drugs, AIDS, transgender characters, and so much more. 🙂

In that book, (spoiler alert), Mary Ann did become a famous newscaster, but decided that New York City wasn’t for her anymore and she moved back to San Francisco.

No, this doesn’t mean that I’ll be moving back to the Quad Cities, but Las Vegas and a new start might be on the table!

Anthony

14 responses to this post.

  1. Nancy and I were talking last night, as we watched the weather on one of your old stations, about how much we missed you. We will be happy to degrade you if you would only move back. 🙂 Moving to a new town is tough, especially when you move by yourself. Hopefully, you’ll make new friends soon!!

    Reply

    • Ken & Nancy,

      Nice to hear from you. I appreciate the kind words. It’s definitely a different world and like I said, tomorrow could be that day.

      Take care of each other and stay in touch!

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Cathy on July 12, 2017 at 9:43 am

    My heart skipped a beat when I thought you might come home. 😥❤️

    Reply

    • Hi Cathy,

      Nice to hear from you. I’m going to have to go back and read that again. You’re not the first person to say that. 🙂

      Have a great rest of the week and summer.

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by Connie Huizenga on July 12, 2017 at 10:57 am

    Anthony, You are a fabulous person and the people in Panama City should be the recipient of that awesomeness. Hopefully the opportunities will come soon to get you out and about to make those new friends.

    When those opportunities do present themselves, use that time to gently instruct those Red State people of the truth. The whole map needs to turn purple, a combination of red and blue. That will be the best life for all of us.

    Miss you and will get a hold of you when we are in town next.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      I know things will get better soon. I just have to be more patient.

      I would love a purple country with respect and willingness to learn and be friends! 🙂

      Take care,
      AP

      Reply

  4. It’s always difficult to start over in a new place, especially the older we get. I’ve been in the QC for over 20 years but most of my friendships go way back to when I was younger and lived in NC . The only consolation is that with cell phones, Face-time and social media it’s easier to stay connected with the loved ones left behind. But, as you said, maybe the next cool new friend is right around the corner.

    Reply

    • Brigitte,

      Modern technology does make things easier, but it doesn’t replace the real human contact.

      I know it’ll get better. 🙂

      Take care,
      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Sharon on July 12, 2017 at 12:56 pm

    Anthony, when we bought a place on Marco Island, 6 yrs ago, I knew 1 person, my realtor.
    So I started a book club. Flash forward, I now have 69 women and 69 gal pals that I am great friends with!! The book club meets 1/month but we also now have a biking club, cooking club and tons of pals to walk/run/exercise with! Oh yes and golf with. Use that beautiful personality!!!
    Good luck!
    Sharon McL.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Janet Robinson on July 13, 2017 at 8:32 pm

    So sorry you are feeling lonely but with your personality you should be finding a good friend or friends soon. I wish you were back on the lonely news. Take care. be happy

    Reply

    • Janet,

      Thank you very much for your friendship and concern. I know I’ll be fine. I write for therapy. It helps.

      Have a great rest of the summer.

      AP

      Reply

  7. Posted by Esther on July 15, 2017 at 9:56 am

    What makesyour heart sing –do that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

