Random Friday Thoughts — August 18 , 2017

We’re already past the middle of August and most kids are back in school or getting close.  Fall will be here before you know!  Yeah!

Fall

It’s been another contentious couple of week, so if you feel you want to disagree with me, do it diplomatically or don’t say anything at all. 🙂

Random Thoughts

Thank you for checking out my random thoughts.

WHEN I FIND MYSELF IN TIMES OF TROUBLE…

Sadness

“LET IT BE”

PANAMA CITY LOVE

While I have no friends outside of work here in Panama City after three months, that doesn’t mean I’m unknown.  It’s really nice to finally work at a #1 station!

Last week, I had several people stop me and ask me, “are the weather guy at Channel 13?”

The nicest was at the grocery store last weekend when a man stopped me.  I was wearing a tank top and shorts and he asked me the question.  I always reply, “yes, I’m just dressed down”.

He, like “Barbara” a few weeks ago, told me that it looked good on me.  Some people are so nice.

He proceeded to tell me that I do a great job and they enjoy watching me.  Then, he said, your mannerisms remind me of Tyler Henry, the medium that with the hit E! show, “Hollywood Medium with Tyler Henry”.

I said, “I’ve heard of it, but I’m not familiar with him”.  He then said, you could be his dad.

Okay, that translates into “You’re supergay”. 🙂  Tyler and I can handle it. 🙂

MY LOVE FOR NICOLE KIDMAN

I recently watched “Grace of Monaco” with Nicole Kidman.

The movie bombed and was panned by critics.  While entertaining and fulfilling, it won’t make my list of 20 favorites movies I’ve watched in 2017.

However, as is always the case with Nicole Kidman, I was mesmerized.

I believe that she, Meryl Streep, Helen Mirren, and Gillian Anderson are the most talented actresses of our time.  You also can’t forget Julia Roberts, Jodie Foster, Melissa Leo, and Jennifer Lawrence.

Near the end of the movie, Kidman’s Grace gave a speech at a Red Cross benefit in front of a packed house.

The speech was heavily directed to French President Charles de Gaulle (which in reality was not at the event).

It doesn’t matter whether it was Hollywood or not, what Kidman’s Grace said was superb and I wish it could be the basis of today’s world.

If only, just like “Let It Be” and “Give Peace A Chance”!

TELEVISION FUNNY OF THE WEEK

“Look, I think college is a scam anyways.  Bobby, you might as well just join the Church of Scientology.  At least they give you industry connections and a wife to cover up your homosexuality!” — Nekeisha (Tiffany Haddish) on “The Carmichael Show.

I’M READY FOR PIZZA!

It’s been four months since I’ve had pizza.  Yes, they have pizza in Panama City, but I’m ready to go to my favorite pizza place in the Quad Cities again, Wise Guys.  Of course, their dessert pizzas are my favorite and that’s what I mostly eat.

But, I’m wondering if they can make me some of these exotic pizzas that I’ve come across online?

PIZZA

Almond Citrus Seafood”  (Vietnam) The Almond Citrus Seafood pizza is a staple on Domino’s Vietnamese menu and includes shrimps, scallops, orange sauce, almonds, red pepper, mozzarella, cheddar and coriander.

Bavarian (Russia)  topped with marinated cucumbers, salami and mozzarella cheese.

Ayam Bakar (Indonesia) a creamy base of rendang sauce – a spicy coconut cream with lemongrass and garlic. It’s topped with ayam baker (charcoal-grilled chicken), onion, parsley and mozzarella.

Creamy Chicken Carbonara (New Zealand) — New Zealand’s super-creamy feast is topped with all the ingredients of a classic carbonara: chicken, bacon, red onion, mushroom and garlic crème fraiche along with spring onion and Parmesan.

Adalim (North Cyprus) — You may be used to finding dried basil sprinkled on your pizza but how about dried mint? The herb is added along with mozzarella, halloumi, black olive and tomato to this Cyprian veggie classic.

KESHA’S RAINBOW AFTER STORMY YEARS

Kesha’s last studio album, 2013’s “Warrior” was my favorite album of the year.

Last Friday, she released the follow-up, “Rainbow”, after several turbulent years of fighting an eating disorder and legal battles with her manager and producer, Dr. Luke, who was keeping her from releasing new music, and will be in court facing allegations of sexual abuse and other charges.

You can tell that Kesha has been through a lot recently and she’s putting that pain and the strength she’s found in the music.

The first line on the album is “I’ve got too many people/I got left to prove wrong/All those mother f**ckers/Been too mean for too long” on “Bastards” that kicks off the stellar album.

The first single, “Praying”, is already one of the most played songs at Top 40 radio.

The album is a fusion of pop, rock, punk, country, and some dance.

Her duet with country icon Dolly Parton,”Old Flames (Can’t Hold a Candle To You”)” is incredible.

Other standout tracks include are “Learn To Let Go”, “Hunt You Down”, “Hymn”, “Let Em Talk”, and the aforementioned “Bastards”, “Praying”, and “Old Flames”.

GRADE: A-

PRINCESS DIANA’S DEATH ANNIVERSARY

August 31st will make the 20-year anniversary of the death of Princess Diana.

diana

I was working as the weekend anchor at KLBK-13 in Lubbock, Texas.  We ran a CBS news story at the top of our show that Saturday night telling viewers that she had been in a car crash in a Paris tunnel.

After we signed off at 10:35 p.m. central time, it came across the wires that Princess Diana died.

CBS was asleep and had no one breaking in with the news.  Ny Lynn Nichols, my co-anchor, and I broke into programming with the news.

It’s pretty crazy that two local news anchors in market #147 (small market) were breaking the news to the Southern Plains watching CBS that night that Princess Diana was dead.

By the way, CBS finally got someone on the air well after the fact.

“EASTSIDERS” ON NETFLIX

I recently discovered the LGBT series “Eastsiders” on Netflix.  It’s witty, funny, and perfectly covers the ups-and-downs of relationships.

It’s created, written and directed by the star of the series Kit Williamson.

Most of the episodes are short (10-15 minutes) and season one covers Cal and Thom’s turbulent relationship and also that of Cal’s friend Kathy and her gorgeous boyfriend, Ian.

Season two is much stronger and very realistic and Cal and Thom (Van Hansis) are much sexier!

The series also stars the adorable Matthew McKelligon (from the off-kilter and funny movie “You’re Killing Me”).

In May, Williamson tweeted that season three has already been shot and there’s a Kickstarter campaign to fund getting it on the air.

Check it out!

FREDDIE MERCURY LIVES!

Emmy Award winner Rami Malek (“Mr. Robot”) will star as Queen lead singer Freddie Mercury in 2018’s motion picture, “Bohemian Rhapsody”.

Rami

In late 2010, it was announced that Sacha Baron Cohen (“Borat”) would play Mercury, but he dropped out three years later.

As 2013 drew to a close, my fantasy husband, Ben Whishaw was chosen to play the gay front man.

Ben_Whishaw

But, he had to withdraw because of production on the next James Bond movie.

There has been some controversy that the movie may try to shift attention away from the fact that Mercury died from AIDS.

HIV AIDS

While Mercury’s illness was rumored, he didn’t publicly admit that he had AIDS until the day before he died on November 24, 1991, at the age of 45.

Bryan Singer (“The X-Men” series) will direct with production getting underway this fall. “Bohemian Rhapsody” is set to hit theaters on Christmas Day 2018.

FAVORITE QUEEN SONG?

What is your favorite Queen song?  For me, it’s definitely not “”Bohemian Rhapsody”!!!!!!!

My three favorite Queen songs are:

3.  “Under Pressure” (with David Bowie) (#29, 1981-1982)

2.   “Another One Bites the Dust) (3 weeks at #1, 1980)

Another number 1

“Crazy Little Thing Called Love” (4 weeks at #1, 1980)

“HANNIBAL” RETURN?

The three-season series wrapped up on NBC in August 2015.

But, creator Bryan Fuller (now working on “American Gods”) says while it may take time, talks have started about bringing the artistic thriller back!

Fuller says, “I have conversations with (“Hannibal” executive producer) Martha De Laurentiis.”. He adds, “I have conversations with Mads and Hugh. We’re are all excited about the prospect of returning to the story. There’s some hurdles to get through… [But] I just had a great idea for season 4. There’s an interesting next chapter in the relationship between Will Graham and Hannibal Lecter that would be fascinating to unpack. I’ve shared it with the gentlemen and they’re both keen on it.”

I’m all there as long as Gillian Anderson returns as Dr. Bedelia Du Maurier!

bedelia

REAL LIFE

(*For the record, the next two segments were already written before the Charlottesville, Virginia tragedy*)

Headlines

LIFE IN AN ALTERNATE UNIVERSE

Trust me, it’s better!

As you can tell, nine months later I’m still not at peace from last November’s election!

“FROZEN” WASN’T ONE OF MY FAVORITES, BUT…

I know I’m in the minority, but “Frozen” was just okay.  It didn’t blow me away, but I didn’t dislike it either.

However, I’m excited about Walt Disney Pictures’ “Olaf’s Frozen Adventure”.

It’s an 11-minute animated short that’ll be shown at the beginning of the new Pixar’s feature, “Coco”, which his theaters November 22, 2017.

CHRISTMAS IS GETTING CLOSER

I know with the hot and humid summer we’re enduring,  winter and Christmas are probably the last things on your mind.  But, the entertainment industry is gearing up.

It’s only four months away now and Reba McEntire, Sia, Hanson, Lindsey Stirling, Cheap Trick, and Martina McBride reportedly have new Christmas albums coming out this fall.

McBride says, “I hired Patrick Williams to arrange it, who is legendary and has arranged for so many people, and he has that classic big band approach. When I made 1998’s “White Christmas”, I wanted to make a classic sounding record. I can’t do that same record again, of course, but this one is going to have several up-tempo things on it. It won’t have as many hymns on it. It will be more things like ‘Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town’ and ‘It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas.'”

Here’s a flashback to 1998’s “White Christmas”.

REBA’S “MY KIND OF CHRISTMAS”

On my birthday, October 13th, Reba will be releasing her third holiday album, “My Kind of Christmas”.

REBA

This album was released last year through a chain that has a history of homophobic and racist practices and it was the first Reba album that I didn’t buy!

But, I can finally buy it now!

Reba has recorded three new songs for the album that’ll feature Darius Rucker, Vince Gill and Amy Grant, and Lauren Daigle.

On this re-release, no portion of the money is going to (“previously”?) unnamed  homophobic and racist chain.

CB

TAKING A BREAK

I’m sure you know how much I love writing and sharing my thoughts, whether we agree or not.

At times, I’ve been accused of being intolerant.  But, in the world we live in, I guess I shouldn’t take it personally (AND I DON’T). 🙂

I’m taking a break from my “Random Friday Thoughts”.  When there’s something I want to talk about, I’ll blog about it.  Since most of my blog views come from my Facebook posts, you’ll see when I have something new to share.  I’m sure my Friday thoughts will return one day.

FOR NOW…

Before I close, I want to share an upbeat, fun song that I played all the time when I was club dee-jay at Club DV8 (deviate, get it) in Paducah, Kentucky, back in 1986-1987. (I was horrible at mixing beats, but my drunken queens didn’t care too much!)

This was one of my favorite songs.

Click on it and for those of you that remember it, I hope it made you smile and you thought of being 30 years younger.

For my friends that didn’t hit the clubs in the ’80s, enjoy it!

THAT’S IT

With all the craziness in the world, make it the best in your little part of it!

Anthony

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by XicieDixie on August 18, 2017 at 9:28 am

    Thanks for doing this every week..

    Reply

    • Dixie,

      Thank you for taking the time to read it. I’m going to take a couple of weeks off, but it’ll return.

      Have a great weekend.

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Connie Huizenga on August 18, 2017 at 11:59 am

    Anthony, I will miss your weekly “Random Thoughts”. I enjoy reading them and connecting with you. I understand if you need to take a break. I will be here waiting when you bring your weekly thoughts back. In the meantime, try to enjoy. The world has a way of making things right. Miss you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Richard Kennedy on August 19, 2017 at 1:45 pm

    Hi Anthony ! I just checked my e-mail and there was one from Reba and I didn’t realize how much of a fan she is of trump and she came down quite a bit on Liberals , really struck me kinda hard . OH Well ! Hope to hear from you in awhile my friend 🍀🍀

    Reply

    • Richard,

      I’m not sure what article you’re talking about, but does it have to do with the song, “Back to God”?

      If so, it’s very misleading. That song is a remake. It was originally released during George W. Bush’s presidency.

      AP

      Reply

  4. Posted by Teresa on August 19, 2017 at 3:08 pm

    I’m pretty sure you already know this but Reba is coming to the Iowa State Fair
    in Des Moines next year on 8/10/18. Maybe put in early for vacation, get tickets,
    and stop by the QC on your trip and visit with family and friends and Wise Guys pizza!!

    I’m not on Facebook-but enjoy your blogs. I’m sure it takes a lot of your time to keep up with both of them. Take care of yourself.

    The world will never be perfect, there will always be hatred and intolerance toward something. It really makes me sick to my stomach. “All we need is love”!!!

    Reply

    • Hi Teresa,

      I did hear that Reba is coming to Iowa next summer.

      I appreciate you taking the time to check out my thoughts, so thank you. Yes, it is time consuming. But, as you can tell, I love to write.

      I’ll take a couple of weeks off and I’ll be back. 🙂

      I wish we lived in a nicer world!

      Take care, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  5. Posted by Kimberly Taylor on August 20, 2017 at 8:09 am

    I will be watching and waiting for your Friday blogs…….and I hope you will find happiness again.

    Kimberly

    Reply

    • Thank you Kimberly. The RFT will likely return in a couple of weeks. I hope happiness does sometime soon, too. 🙂

      Have a great rest of the summer.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

