It All Makes Sense Now!

You know I love to share with you and I use my blog and my writing as therapy.

Whether it’s humorous, about the entertainment world, politics, or equality, the topics are usually random.  You never know what I’ll write about next.

I started the blog in January 2012 and, before that, I joined Facebook in the spring of 2009.  It was right after Ray and I started seeing each other.

So, over the past eight years, our lives were played out in the public arena.  It’s given us the chance to meet some of you and to “friend” many others that we never met in person.  However, you’re still a part of our lives and we were a part of yours.

You saw everything from the fun meals and drinks we made, our holiday celebrations, our vacations, and our beautiful wedding reception (six years ago)!

Wedding4

As you know, I moved to Florida in early May and I haven’t been shy about it not being an enjoyable experience.  Part of that is the area, but the larger problem lies with me.

In a couple of blogs this spring (which I’m sharing again below), I said, “I lost faith in myself and in my fellow man and now, it’s up to me to find it again” after the 2016 presidential election.

changes

In another blog, I wrote, “Change is stressful.  Change is exciting.  Change is different. Change is simply change!” and “In life, we go through it many times.  Whether it’s losing loved ones through death, break-ups or divorce, or just by spreading our wings to fly, change proves we’re alive.”

The reasons for the change and the move I expressed in the blogs were honest, but I didn’t share everything.  Some of you sensed there was more to the story and there is.

Curtain Call

In early February, Ray and I decided to go our separate ways after eight years together. We called it “a break”.  But, we knew then that we had drifted apart and the circumstances weren’t going to change.

When I said, Florida “hasn’t been an enjoyable experience”, now you know the real, larger issue.

Moving here was a quick fix solution to our problem, a “band-aid” to cover something that needed more attention, but was neglected.

In retrospective, Florida is/was a mistake.  If I had it to do over again, I probably would have stayed in the Quad Cities, even as we moved forward with our separation and divorce.

R & A

After we started posting pictures of our trip to Scandinavia, we knew it was time to make it public based on comments of how happy we looked and it was good to see us together again.

That trip was already scheduled and paid for long before we made this life-altering decision.  The trip turned out to be our “swan song”!

Ray is moving on with his life and is experiencing things he was missing out on in the last years of our relationship.  Now, it’s up to me to do the same.

I wish him the very best in life and I hope he finds what we had for much of our time together and lost toward the end.

On Kygo’s 2016 CD, “Cloud Nine”, there’s a song, “Stole the Show” that sadly and perfectly sums things up.  Our relationship was on display thanks to social media and we didn’t mind.  But, now that the outcome is what it is, things playing out publicly is different.

If and when another relationship comes our way, we both might be more reserved to make it public and I hope, my friends, that you don’t take that the wrong way.

The End

Here are those blogs I referenced above:

“It All Starts With Me”

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2017/04/07/it-all-starts-with-me/

“Change”

https://anthonypeoples.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/change/

All of this has me thinking of the most charming public couple, Neil Patrick Harris and his husband, David Burtka.

In a 2014 “Rolling Stone” feature on Harris, Burtka said, “There is a lot of ‘Oh, you guys are role models’, I’m superhappy that people look to us.  If anything happened, God forbid, I wouldn’t want to let anyone down.  But nothing will!  After you get to, like, seven, eight years, it’s like, ‘No one’s going anywhere’.”

For Harris, Burtka, and their twins, I’m happy that it’s true for them!

Anthony

 

34 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Richard Kennedy on September 22, 2017 at 5:21 am

    I wish you both all of the Love and Luck that you can find to fill your life with , but most of all Friendship it truly is the most important thing you can have in your life. Try to Never turn a Smile upside down or burn a bridge and you will make it thru life 💚🍀

    Reply

    • Richard,

      Thank you very much for the kind words. Yes, maintaining a friendship across the miles is most important to me now.

      The eight years mattered. 🙂

      AP

      Reply

  2. Posted by Sandy Tooley on September 22, 2017 at 5:39 am

    I’ve been watching this move of your’s play out with fear it was heading this way. I have enjoyed seeing you when first appeared on channel 8. Watching your life blossom in the QC and feeling proud that you were finding a home in our community. I’m sad for both of you, and hope that each of you find a spark for yourselves. Knowing that you are spiritual, know that HE doesn’t put just anyone together without reason. But HIS season’s will change for another reason. Sit back and know that HE will guide you to it…
    Proudly your fan, and sending you a hug, Sandy

    Reply

    • Sandy,

      I appreciate you taking to time to correspond. Boy, starting at 8 seemed so long ago. It’s definitely been an interesting ride. As for us and our relationship, it was mostly enjoyable and for that, I’m grateful.

      Yes, I pray and I know this is only a bump in the road.

      Thank you for your friendship. Have a great autumn!

      AP

      Reply

  3. Posted by jody ross on September 22, 2017 at 6:06 am

    hugs! Thinking of you! Jody

    Reply

  4. Anthony – I’m so sorry for you and Ray and Gretel. My heart aches for you all, but I know you will continue to live your life with gusto and move forward. Love to you all, and remember, I have a guest suite if you ever want to see Salisbury/Delmar/OC/Rehoboth again!

    Reply

    • Pat,

      I appreciate the kind words and the invite. It’d be funny to visit and see that bundle of energy we call Gracie! 🙂

      Have a great weekend, my friend.

      AP

      Reply

  5. Life is full of changes and curves. Sometimes, it’s not fair. I am sadden to hear this, but, how can you not continue to be amazing with all the love, friendships and support of so many of us ? You both are so blessed!!

    Reply

    • Cindy,

      Thank you for the kind words and for the years of friendship (not to mention, the fresh asparagus!)

      With friends like you, I’ll strive to be amazing (or continue to be… lol).

      AP

      Reply

  6. Sorry that things have ended this way, I wish you both the best of luck. I am lucky to know you here on line and to meet you several times. Your faith will guide you.

    Reply

  7. Oh, I had so hoped that relocating to FL was only because it was a good career move for you! Damn and darn, I am so sorry it didn’t work out for you and Ray. Still, if you do find another person to share your life with your fans hope that you would share the joy (but I understand you have to be more reserved since you are in the public eye).
    Wishing you more joyous times ahead!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Teresa on September 22, 2017 at 3:25 pm

    I’m sure it wasn’t easy for you to write this post. Everyone goes thru good and bad/sad times in their lives. Sometimes it takes a long time to get over the bad/sad ones.
    You moved to Florida, but you are not happy there. You need to be closer to family and close friends. You’re still young and there has to be other places closer to them looking for a great meteorologist!! We miss you here in the QC!!

    Reply

    • Teresa,

      Thank you for taking the time to respond. I appreciate it.

      I miss you guys in the Quad Cities more than you know. I think you have an idea. 🙂

      Take care,
      AP

      Reply

  9. Posted by esther wright on September 22, 2017 at 6:54 pm

    Maybe California is a good place to consider. I pray that this change in your life will ultimately be for your and Ray’s highest good. Life is a series of rainbows and thunder storms…stay open to the sunshine and blessings that await you, Anthony.

    Reply

  10. Being a casual onlooker, it has seemed to me like you are learning to love yourself. You do the things that are you. Your photography is an example. I see you finally taking time to stop and smell the roses. Believe this, there was a lesson learned and there is something better for you. You’ll get it figured out.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Kathy Werderman on September 22, 2017 at 8:09 pm

    Anthony, so sorry that things have happened they way they have for you, but it will get better in time and you will find someone to make you happy again. You helped me with a fundraiser and I wish we could have done it more than once. Just keep the faith and live one day at a time and make the most of each day. We still love you back in Kewanee.

    Reply

    • Kathy,

      Thank you for the kind words and well wishes.

      I had a great time at that fundraiser. I appreciate you asking me to do it.

      Take care, my friend, and stay in touch!

      AP

      Reply

  12. So sorry to hear it!! 😢 But I understand how things happen & unfortunately how couples grow apart. I wish you the best in this new chapter of your life. Praying for your healing & peace. God has a plan for you and everything will work out in his time. Good Luck with everything! I hope you continue to write your blogs because I do enjoy reading them.Take Care & God Bless!!

    Reply

    • Karri,

      Thank you for the kind and inspiring words. Yes, there is a plan. We just don’t know what it is and how we’ll get that.

      Take care.

      AP

      Reply

  13. Posted by Clayton Peterson on September 23, 2017 at 7:22 am

    So sorry for all the turmoil in your life. I hope that you realize the lasting effects you have had on the many people who feared going public. High profile jobs, and a daughter all possible entangle the web. Hope your friendship can heal and that you both find a new path down this extraordinary journey we call life. Hope you both heal and surprise us someday with your new path and agenda. Love simply an old friend who’s 40 year relationship is by far not perfect, but we somehow make it work….clayton

    Reply

    • Clayton,

      You’re such a dear and sweet friend. Thank you for the very kind words about the changes and, most importantly, a salvaged friendship and future.

      Also, your comment, “I hope that you realize the lasting effects you have had on the many people who feared going public” touched me equally as well.

      You know I’m just being me and if that helps just one person, it’s a huge success in life from just open and being me. 🙂

      You’re such a legend and inspiration and that coming from you is touching.

      I wish you and S so many more years together. Let’s celebrate that 50!!!

      Love,
      AP

      Reply

  14. Posted by Conne Huizenga on September 23, 2017 at 11:48 am

    Anthony, I am so very sorry for your, and Ray’s, loss. I’ve been there and a divorce is a time of mourning as you would a death. I wish you and Ray nothing but the best in the future and in your future relationships. In the mean time, I remain a true friend. Love ya.

    Reply

    • Connie,

      Thank you dearly, my friend. Yes, it’s tough and we all move forward in life. Hopefully, in a quest for happiness.

      Stay strong later this fall and winter. 🙂

      Love,
      AP

      Reply

  15. Posted by marci on September 27, 2017 at 12:57 pm

    anthony after readin a couple of your blogs, i must say the one with cloud nine “stole the show” brought tears to my eyes. my heart is broken for you and rays break up. as it said a final curtain call says it all. it made everything so final. i can see you and ray standing face to face looking into each others eyes and holding each others hands in one anothers saying this is our final curtain call are we really sure? and the sadness in each one of your hearts is being felt by all that knew you in person and social media as you take your final walk for the last time as a couple. may god bless your hearts for ever more. i would love to hear about your new relationship if there ever is and when you find what you are looking for. KUDOS to you for bringing new light into many peoples eyes as to what it means to be free to live the life that was meant to be. what an inspiration you have been to so many that may have never had the courage to be themselves. for that i’m sure that many are so very thankful.

    Reply

    • Marci,

      Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words and thoughtfulness.

      We both will survive this and I know more happiness will come. We don’t know when, but I know it will.

      I appreciate the sweet words about being an “inspiration” and “courage”.

      Have a great weekend and enjoy your autumn!

      AP

      Reply

  16. Posted by Brittany R Bean on September 29, 2017 at 12:19 pm

    Awww!! Made me wanna cry after reading this. I wish you both the very best in both of your lives. I hope you will still come back and visit in the QC and stay connected aswell. You both are such wounderful people.

    Hugs and take care.

    Your neighborhood neighbor – Brittany

    Reply

    • Brittany,

      Thank you very much for the kind words and all of the years of friendship.

      I appreciate it and I wish you and your beautiful family the very best.

      Stay in touch.

      AP

      Reply

  17. The end of a marriage is like a death in many ways. You know you need to grieve, but that pain is not easy to bear. I am truly sorry for what you have lost. Your Scandinavian trip must have been an emotional roller coaster, and I suspect that at times it picked at wounds trying to heal. Thoughts to make you feel better are bound to greet you sometime in the future. Right now you’re dealing with loss. And that sucks. God bless, Anthony. Live for happier days. They are somewhere ahead.

    Reply

    • Rick,

      Thank you for your well wishes and kind response. Yes, it is like death, but even more frustrating because you allowed it to happen!

      Luckily, for us, we talked about what needed to be talked about on the second night and made the most of the vacation. We always traveled well together.

      Take care and I hope life is treating you well.

      AP

      Reply

Leave a Reply

