“The Bitch Is Back” — Wait, the Bitch Never Left!

UPDATE:  Monday, August 6, 2012

Celebrities have a right to their thoughts and opinions just like the rest of us.  Elton John in a very polarizing figure and, as much as I like him, he’s really starting to piss me off.

I love his music and his advocacy for the “Elton John AIDS Foundation”, which is one of the world’s leading nonprofit organizations for education programs and the prevention, direct care, and support services to people living with HIV/AIDS since 1992.  His new book, “Love Is the Cure: On Life, Loss, and the End of AIDS”, that came out last month is definitely one that I want to read.

And, while I’ll probably never get a chance to meet him, he’s going to be playing at the Colosseum at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas while we’re there to see Madonna in October.  Since I didn’t get a chance to buy tickets when they first went on sale, I’ve been checking ebay to try to find reasonably priced tickets.

However, now I’m even reconsidering that because he’s crossed the line into tastelessness and I don’t feel much love toward him at the moment.

Back in May, I blogged about Elton and his senseless feud and catty remarks about Madonna.  (That blog is below). Now, he’s sounding more like a tacky, bitter, and jaded queen after these obscene comments he made about Madonna on an Australian television news program:

“Why is she such a nightmare? Sorry, her career is over. Her tour has been a disaster and it couldn’t happen to a bigger c***.”

“If Madonna had any common sense she would have made a record like “Ray Of Light” and stayed away from the dance stuff and just been a great pop singer and make great pop records, which she does brilliantly. But no, she had to go and prove… she looks like a f****** fairground stripper.  She’s been horrible to Gaga.”

Elton, your last Billboard Hot 100 hit was in 1999 and it was only a modest hit at radio.

Please stop being bitter to Madonna.  We know you don’t like her, but seriously, using the “c-word” and calling her a “f****** fairground stripper”.

There is enough hate in the world and the world is a large enough stage for two musical icons like you and Madonna to coexist at the same time. I have enough love for both of you.

Have dinner together, scream profanities at each other, but bury the hatchet.

Sincerely,

A Madonna, Elton John, & Lady Gaga fan

Anthony

ORIGINAL BLOG:  Monday, May 21, 2012

There are three ways that I handle saying something negative about someone:  “If you don’t have anything nice to say about anybody, come sit by me!” (Clairee Belcher, Olympia Dukakis’ character in “Steel Magnolias”), sugarcoat it, or start by saying something nice.  I will go with the latter approach.

I love Elton John and his music.  I have all of his greatest hits compilations and several other compact discs.  His song writing and his performances are incredible.

However, when he sings, “I’m a bitch, I’m a bitch, oh the bitch is back, stone cold sober as a matter of fact, I can bitch, I can bitch, `cause I’m better than you”, in his Top 5 hit from 1974, “The Bitch is Back”, he’s totally talking about himself and guess what?  The bitch never left!

I’m becoming more and more dismayed and turned off by the bitter queen’s antics.  Wait, he was knighted Sir, not queen.  My bad.

In paying tribute to Donna Summer, who died last Thursday, Sir Elton told E! News, “Her records sound as good today as they ever did. That she has never been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is a total disgrace, especially when I see the second-rate talent that has been inducted. She is a great friend to me and to the Elton John AIDS Foundation and I will miss her greatly.”

That’s sweet of him to say about the incredible Donna Summer.

However, why couldn’t he just have stopped short of talking about “the second-rate talent that has been inducted”?   He could have been talking about anybody and while I can’t prove it, we all know he was probably talking about Madonna, who was inducted to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2008.

His public battles with the Material Girl are very public and I’ve blogged about some of them.

Back in January, walking into the 69th Annual Golden Globe Awards, Elton commented that there was “no f**kin’ chance” that Madonna would beat him for Best Original Song.  When the winner was announced, it was “Masterpiece” by Madonna from her movie, “W.E.” and not “Hello Hello” by Elton from “Gnomeo & Juliet”.

After the awards, Elton’s husband, David Furnish, threw fuel on the fire, “Madonna winning Best Original Song truly shows how these awards have nothing to do with merit. Her acceptance speech was embarrassing in it’s narcissism. And her criticism of Gaga shows how desperate she really is.”

And, while I wasn’t too happy with Madonna calling Lady’s Gaga’s megahit, “Born This Way”, “reductive”, because of its similarities to “Express Yourself”, the Queen of Pop took the high road with Mr. & Mr. Elton John by saying, “I hope he speaks to me for the next couple of years. He’s known to get mad at me…He’s brilliant and I adore him, so, he’ll win another award. I don’t feel bad”.

But, Elton John still had venom to spew.  Right before Madonna’s halftime performance at this year’s Super Bowl, he squawked, “lip-sync good”.

The bottom line is that celebrities can be catty and it makes for good gossip.

However, Elton John, please be more dignified when speaking very kind words about Donna Summer.  Yes, she should have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.  She was incredible and more than just the “Queen of Disco”.

But, leave your pretty jealousies about Madonna out of it.  She’ll always be younger, thinner, and prettier than you.

Anthony

Leave a comment